Anime Genres – Slice of Life

I will review them all. This one will be slice of life….all I have to say about slice of life anime is:

Why? What? Of all the different genres of anime that are out there, I always say that slice of life is the shittiest type. It’s not exciting. There’s never really a true plot. I mean, basically, anime from the slice of life genre are just…..BORING. So why? WHY DO I KEEP WATCHING THEM????

The generic layout of a typical slice of life anime.

The generic layout of a typical slice of life anime.

Let’s name off a list of anime from the genre that I’ve complete or are currently watching. Let’s do this with bullets (like a gun has). Let’s include my ratings too:

  • Lucky Star – 5^^ (wtf? Seriously?)
  • Azumanga Daioh – 5 (This was actually decent)
  • Candy Boy – watching (does this really count? Yes, because eye sedso. It’s ok.)
  • High School Girls – 4 (I remember nothing at all about this show. I can’t remember characters. I’m not even sure if it’s slice of life)
  • Hyakko – 5* (…)
  • Kyou no Go no Ni – 4 (the OVA was better)
  • Pani Poni Dash – 5^^ (yea it’s not technically slice of life but this show rules, so fuck you)
  • Potemayo – 4 (I included this too…..it was so-so…kinda dumb but had it’s funny parts)
  • Tsuyokiss – 5 (I had almost forgotten this show. It was good)
  • Welcome to the N.H.K. – 5^^ (wikipedia says it is, so, yea awesome fucking show)
  • Magipoka – 5 (same basic plot of slice of life, despite involving a vampire, a robot, a magical girl and a werewolf)
  • Minami-ke – watching (it’s ok)
  • K-ON! – watching (thumbs up)

Basically, this sums up probably all the slice of life anime I’ve watched (some may be wrong, and I may have forgotten some, but it’s close enough). My average rating for a slice of life anime is:

5* !!?? <this is probably lower since I removed N.H.K., but I’m not taking the time to figure it out.

Seriously? Why? I knock them all the time. Maybe not on my ISSS, but in real life, I always say they suck. I guess I don’t know myself enough. So way are slice of life anime apparently good? Let’s do it with bullets again:

  • The characters

Wait time out. The characters? Let me sum up every slice of life anime:

Step One: Take 4 girls, who fall in the ages where puberty is happening (so jokes can be made about breast size).

Step Two: Make one eccentric (the main character usually), make one shy, make one smart, make one bitchy one.

Step Three: Have them go through the following scenarios: Eating, breast size, fan service episode at the beach/in the gym pool, gym episode where they play volleyball, other random stupidness.

Wow I just gave you the plot for pretty much every slice of life anime ever made, except Candy Boy, which has two lesbian sisters, and their horny lesbian friend. Congrats to me.

  • The plot

Is always the same?

  • The comedy

The comedy can be good. Azumanga Daioh had some good comedy. So did Pani Poni Dash!. Welcome to the N.H.K. had one great awesome moment, and was all around not a real slice of life anime in my opinion. It’s more like a drama. But wikipedia said it was slice of life, so it must be true.

  • Uhh…….the…….characters?

Already did that. In fact, there is nothing else in a slice of life anime except characters and a plot-less plot. Yet somehow we anime bloggers (in my case, ISSSer) still watch them. At least I do. And we’ll never know why (at least I won’t). Until I find this reason:

EDIT: Welcome to the N.H.K. is off the list. It doesn’t fit my definition of slice of life, which you could find in the comments.

16 thoughts on “Anime Genres – Slice of Life

  1. i fucking hate slice of life shows… and your giving K-On a thumbs up?? that show was so brutal i actually dropped it after 2 eps… i usually wait till 5

    they are sooooo boring and when im watching them all im doing is thinking of the 1000 things i could be doing for 20 minutes that is more exciting than an episode

  2. * Lucky Star – 5^^ NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Azumanga Daioh – 5 NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Candy Boy – watching NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * High School Girls – 4 NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Hyakko – 5* NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Kyou no Go no Ni – 4 NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Pani Poni Dash – 5^^NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Potemayo – 4 (NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Tsuyokiss – 5 (NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Welcome to the N.H.K. – 5^^ NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Magipoka – 5 NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * Minami-ke – NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE
    * K-ON! – NOT A FUCKING SLICE OF LIFE

    MOST EPIC FAIL POST OF ALL TIME

    List of Slice of life anime:
    Aria
    Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou
    Sketchbook full colors
    Someday’s Dreamers
    Bartender
    Figure 17 (kind of)
    Planetes
    ToHeart

  3. In terms of the characters and there interactions, I think the point is to get to know them and see how they change, or how we learn more about them, as the series goes along. If you’re not interested in the characters in the first place, it’s hard to get interested in what they do and how those things affect them. Even less so when you look at characters in terms of “x character fills this archetype, and I wonder what they’ll do to show that they’re not all that”.

    Whenever I hear people say that slice of life is boring, I always wonder what they’d want to actually see happen to make it not so. Or rather, what were they looking to get out of the show in the first place.

  4. @oballer – you like K-ON and you know it.
    @21stcenturydigitalboy – Hey I’m just going by what Wikipedia said, and then I just included whatever shows seemed kind of similar. Pretty much, if there were any slice of life tones at all, I put it in. I’ve been meaning to watch Aria for a while….
    @Kairu Ishimaru – Wikipedia says it too, then again, Wikipedia also says Welcome to the N.H.K. is slice of life, when I belive it most clearly isn’t. Maybe I should stop trusting Wikipedia?
    @TheBigN – That was better than my post, stop making me look bad.

  5. @21stcenturydigitalboy – I will no longer trust said site. Dick + door = rather not. However, I must say that at least some of the titles are slice of life, or close enough for me.

  6. @21stcentury faggot: what is your problem dude??? Are you one of those people who sits in his moms basement while they are still 40 and a virgin? is that why your so pissed off?

    slice of life animes are just about characters in their lives.. nothing like too important or anything… just about people in their lives… most of them i consider boring cuz usually they have no action etc…. and if they categorize themselves as a slice of life WHY ARE YOU BEING SUCH A HOMO???

  7. @ 21stcenturydigitalboy – Truth be told I was thinking that exact same thing when I was writing this post…but I was pretty much done at that point so ignored it, since I didn’t want to scrap all the writing I just did. That is why I categorize slice of life as such:

    Slice of Life = A show revolving around the lives of a group of characters, with little to no continuous plot. Instead, just a bunch or random shit. Typically, the characters are all girls fitting the description of moe. Schools are basic settings for this genre. Because that’s just how it works.

  8. @ Oballer – you must have put that up right before me, hence I did not see it…..I really don’t have anything else to add…just felt like saying that……yeaaaa…..

  9. Aria is definitely recommended (big Aria fan here hehe). Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (YKK) is also a very good example of slice-of-life, although it’s probably better to read the manga since the small number of OVA episodes don’t cover much of the story. Haven’t seen/read the others in 21stcenturydigitalboy’s list.

  10. @ Baka-Raptor – I’m downloading Touch, because this is the second time I’ve heard of it’s nastyness in as many days.

    @ TJ – I’ve been wanting to watch Aria for about a really long time. Eventually I’ll get around to it.

Leave a Reply

