Tsukuyomi MOON PHASE: Great Example of SHAFT

So I just finished said anime a little while ago, and toward the end, I realized:

“Hey, this is filled with examples of awesome Shaft/Akiyuki Shinbo awesomeness.”

Therefore,  decided, that I will combine my review of said series with a review of Shaft/Akiyuki Shinbo awesomeness. First, the latter:

What is it about Shaft/Akiyuki Shinbo productions that revs my engine? Well, let me first say that I love all of the randomness that come with each episode. Example?

random microphone

Here we have a perfectly normal scene, except there is a boom left in the camera even though it obviously isn’t needed, since it’s a fucking animation. Basically, what I am trying to say, is that the randomness is off the charts awesome. As far as Tsukuyomi: MOON PHASE goes, I LOVED the pans, which would strike people’s heads ten times per episode:

Take this serious moment in the anime. Kouheii is falling from a FUCKING CLIFF. He could die, and then a pan randomly hits him in the head. Awesome.

Oh shit, he's falling off a cliff

Oh shit, he's falling off a cliff and now he got hit with a pan too

To reiterate: Awesome. Basically, the whole random falling of pans and kettles (sometimes it wasn’t random, but for the most part, it was) was just a great addition to this anime. Even in serious moments, a pan could fall and create immense humor (for me). Honestly, the Pans were great. That’s all I’m going to talk about regarding SHAFT, although I’m sure I’m missing more. Feel free to chime in with anything else. Or don’t. I don’t really care either way (he said bitterly).

So what about the show in general? I liked it. At first, I thought that it would be a cutesy wootsy anime that would suck, but it turned out to not be that at all as much as I originally anticipated. I mean, sure, there was the neko mimi mode and all of that bullshit. But I thought it was funny most of the time (because honestly it was pretty stupid, in a right way though). Also, look at this OP:

NOTE: This OP is the crazy one where people wrote all over it. I thought it was pretty funny:

And wait, there’s more:

Fucking weird OPs kick ass. What about the ED? Something about it was just freakin awesome as all freakin freaks:

So yea, the music sequences were pretty good. What about the characters?

They were good.

………..

Okay well that wraps that up. Let’s grade:

FINAL GRADE = 5*

Random Comment: Welcome to the N.H.K. is still really fucking good.