Mouretsu Pirates Looks Good (I Just Started It)

I never really planned to watch this show, but it’s always been stuck in the back of my mind as something I kind of wanted to see. Stuck. In the back of my mind.

Where it stayed.

And it grew.

And it GREW.

Until I couldn’t stand it, and I watched the first episode.

I like big casts, so this makes me happy.

So what do I think based on the first episode?

I love the world that they live in. It’s filled with holograms and cool things to click, but at the same time it’s not entirely all that unbelievable. I could totally see all of the technological advancements that are in place as realistic maybe not more than 30 years away in real life. If you’ve ever seen Ironman (you have unless you’re a fucking moron), then the world of Mouretsu Pirates is almost like something created by Tony Stark.

That’s probably what will keep me with this anime throughout it’s running. The whole setting is just awesome. Well, that, and pirates. I like pirates, they’re awesome……not much else to say on pirates.

Of course, in order for an anime to be awesome, it needs to have awesome characters. It’s my opinion that as long as characters are awesome, a show will always be good. Heck, you can make a 26 episode anime with all of the characters of InuYasha, and I’d love it, even if it were all fillers, and that’s because I love the characters.

In Mouretsu Pirates, we’ve got a Girl with Glasses who kicks ass but still shows off her girly side (that chocolate parfait scene). Girl with glasses who kicks ass? Count me in! Mother with a secret past of being a pirate? Count me in twice! A whole SHITLOAD of characters? YES AND YES!

The mom’s a the hottest girl in the show as usual.

This anime looks like it’s right up my ally so far!

That’s it?

What?

That’s the whole post?

Well…yeah I mean……what else should I say here?

Well let’s see, maybe an explanation as to why you haven’t posted JACK SHIT in the past several weeks?

What do you me-

You haven’t posted anything since…let me check here……May 28th. 

Yeah? So?

Yeah so that was over a week ago, and that’s besides the fact that you haven’t watched a single bit of anime during that span.

I watched Mouretsu Pira-

You watched that TODAY. BIG FUCKING DEAL. Now  you come back as if nothing changed. Do you think anyone even knows you still exist?

Dude chill out it’s only been a wee-

NINE DAYS! NINE DAYS YOU MADE PEOPLE WAIT! WHY!

Listen, I don’t need to explain myself to you or any other person out there! If I want to take a week off from watching anime then that’s what I’ll do!

Yeah, but-

Yeah but nothing. God forbid a kid decides to take advantage of a  sale at FYE and buy a shit ton of movies not to mention the entire Firefly collection, and watch all of it.

But you still coul-

I’ve never fucking seen Firefly, and you know what? It was awesome as FUCK! And don’t you know what’s coming out in two days?

…what?

PROMETHEUS. OBVIOUSLY I HAD TO BUY ALL OF THE ALIEN MOVIES AND WATCH THEM SINCE YOU CAN’T RENT THEM FUCKING ANYWHERE ON EARTH.

Did you try Netflicks?

Netflicks, ondemand, redbox, even the fucking Library. WASN’T AVAILABLE ANYWHERE. I had to spend 10 bucks just to watch that movie, and the thing is, Alien isn’t even THAT great. It’s good, but it’s not like it’s a super explosion.

Then why do you want to see Prometheus so badly?

BITCH HAVE YOU SEEN THE TRAILERS!?

FUCKING AWESOME AS FUCK. AESOGOSRGIORSJIOGJIORSGJIORSJGIOSJGOJAKJF IF YOU’VE SEEN ALIEN THEN YOU KNOW THE FULL AWESOMENESS OF THIS MOVIE. AND NOOMI RAPACE (The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo: Swedish Trilogy)? OUTSTANDING.

But I thought you just said that Alien wasn’t that great.

No I said it was GOOD, just not super awesome spectacular. I’ve seen it more than once. Besides, I still LOVE the world of Alien in the same way I like the world of Mouretsu Pirates.

Wow you really brought this post around full circle with that last comment didn’t you?

I sure did.

You’re an amazing writer.

Thank you.

17 thoughts on “Mouretsu Pirates Looks Good (I Just Started It)

  1. It’ll be interesting to hear how your opinion shifts as the series does. Hopefully you’ll be one of the “it rocks” crowd, because I’d like to hear a good reason why “boring lesbian schoolgirls in the future of space” rocks, and no one’s been able to give me one.. I’m in it for the lolrandom stuff, though it ranges from Last Exile quality weirdness to Scooby Doo plots.

  2. perhaps you like Umineko no naku koro ni too? it statrs with 18 characters, we have some bad asses and above all, the character number keeps increasing again and again and again…

  3. Yeah, Umineko did have a lot of people…some people really hated it after Higurashi though :p fortunately I saw Umineko first, so I didn’t have any criticisms. Anyways, if you like Mouretsu Pirates, then I guess I’ll have to watch it later on.

  4. Hahahahahaa. That’s what I thought first, but nope. See, being a prominent Mouretsu Pirates historian and having written 21 posts on the matter at hand, I see it wise to educate you on the four main phases of Mouretsu Pirates:

    – Phase 1 (Episodes 1 – 9): Genuinely intriguing world-building with a genuinely intriguing premise made by genuine producers genuinely wanting to produce a genuine space opera;
    – Phase 2 (Episodes 10 – 146): Horribly stupid world-destroying with horribly stupid lesbians made by dead producers having horribly shot themselves in their horrible heads, frightened by this horrible production;
    – Phase 3 (Episodes 17 – 21): Ironically interesting world-reconstructing with an ironic twist made by ironic animators ironically trying to save a horrible show by ironically making it intentionally bad;
    – Phase 4 (Episodes 22 – 26): ???

    P.S. Might wanna edit your quote marks in that post, several of them are missing… or are they? *dramatic music*

    • I’ve finished 1-9 and so far I found them all genuinely intriguing. If the next episodes have lesbians I can’t possibly see how it could ever be bad.

      The quotes have been noted and quoted.

  5. I love this show with every fiber of my being. If you don’t, I’m not going to disagree with you. It just catered to everything I like about anime. That is all.

Leave a Reply

