The Legend of Korra vs Avatar: The Last Airbender

The Legend of Korra, which wrapped up this past Saturday, was good. Rather, it was solid. However, after experiencing the first Avatar series in all it’s splendor, I can’t help but feel that The Legend of Korra left a lot to be desired. Ah, I should point out that I’ll be comparing Korra to Avatar: The Last Airbender, which is arguably the best series ever made in America ever. So it might seem like I’m being harsh, but keep in mind that I did like The Legend of Korra overall.

Avatar: The Last Airbender was a brilliant series, one of the best shows I’ve seen ever. It had everything from suspense to humor to love, and it mixed it all beautifully. The Legend of Korra brought some of this back, but there were a lot of reasons why I think it fell short when it came to being even close to the original.

1. Where’s the Humor?

During the series, I felt like a lot of the humor from the first series had vanished. Bolin gave us a few things to laugh at, but I felt like the comedic relief was spread out very sparsely, and that did a big job in making this series not quite as fun as the first one.

Am I saying that this series was too serious? No. The dramatic effects were done decent enough where the series was enjoyable to watch, but without  a character like Sokka constantly being a goof, the mood was just too somber to be fun.

Where was the cabbage dude? I feel like it would have been awesome to keep that joke running from the first series. Cabbage man aside, I feel like the characters were a bit too series, and this leads me into my next point.

2. The Characters Lacked Personality

Look at Toph. She was fucking awesome. Sokka, Awesome. Even Aang threw in plenty of spice to the show. Each character was zany, fun, and still had the ability to get serious when they needed to. Compared to the characters in The Legend of Korra, I just felt like they had more to offer.

Korra, Mako, Bolin, Asami…they were all……boring. They talked. They never cracked jokes. They didn’t really have anything special going on. They weren’t engaging.  I never once thought to myself, “Mako is the man.” or “Korra yes!” The only time I did do something like this was with Chief Bei Fong, who was hands down without question the best character in this entire series, as well as the most badass.

When General Iroh entered the fray I got excited because he had a huge fleet of Fire Benders and was voiced by the same person who voiced Zuko, but unfortunately, they all proved to be useless.

3. Too Generic, Too Short

The first Avatar series had the good fortune to be long as fuck, which allowed for characters to be developed further (like Zuko for example). Not only that, but the plot had so many intricate parts that made it interesting. Avatar centered around, Aang, who had been frozen for 100 years and was also the last Airbender in existence. This already set up for a show filled with discovery and adventure, as Aang had to rediscover the world, which his friends discovered it for the first time. It dealt with war and a setting of what happened after the Avatar had been missing for so long, and restoring peace to all areas of the world in many different ways, while at the same time training Aang’s skills by finding masters. There was a lot of different shit going on.

By comparison, The Legend of Korra took place in one location and followed the basic plot of, “Bad man comes and must be stopped.” The fact that it was only 12 or so episodes long didn’t help. everything from personalities to the whole love triangle was breezed through at unrealistic speeds that made it tough to actually insert myself into the show.

There’s a couple more things that could have been improved upon, but at the end, the only conclusion I can come to is that I must now rewatch the first Avatar series. If you ask me, they should have just made a sequel to the first series where Aang, Sokka, Toph, and Katara are all grown up and fighting battles and shit. That would be much more interesting.

The Asterisk *

I guess it depends what next season will be like. Don’t forget, this is just Book 1. So far though, this just seems too rushed though.