I Never Wanted to Read Midori no Hibi…

But wouldn’t you know it? I fucking started reading it anyway. Aww shucks.

Midori no Hibi has what is arguably the stupidest premise in the history of storytelling.

Seiji Sawamura is the toughest seventeen-year-old in town, feared by all for his fighting prowess and his deadly “devil’s right hand.” But at heart, Seiji is a softy, and all he wants is an end to his seventeen-year history of being a lonely single guy. Unfortunately his tough-guy reputation only serves to decrease his popularity with the ladies. However, what happens when Midori, the only girl who actually has a crush on him, replaces his “devil’s right hand?”

When I first read that, I thought that “Midori replacing Seiji’s hand” was some sort of metaphor or something. At the strangest, maybe she uses magic or something to hex his hand so that he can’t use it to fight. I did not think that it meant Midori would literally be taking the place of Seiji’s right hand, but that’s what happened. In case you still don’t get it:

What.

The.

Fuck.

I shouldn’t have to explain why this premise is fucking retarded. It’s right there in front of you. For no reason whatsoever, his hand is now a girl. Great. Now for the “however,” because there’s almost always a “however.”

HOWEVER… the manga is relatively popular, and manga that are popular are popular for a reason, and that reason usually isn’t “the premise sucks,” so I assumed it would get better, and of course it did.

Turns out, this bitch is in some kind of coma. Okay, shit just got interesting. Suddenly, I can see unlimited possibilities of how this could end and make me happy. Maybe she dies at the end after teaching Seiji a lesson. Maybe she supposedly dies, leaving Seiji in a depression, but then comes back last second and reunites with him. Maybe she’s fine and they just have a happy ending. I don’t know, but I like either of those scenarios (especially the depression one), and so I will read. Who knows, there may even be crazy, funny misconceptions about touching the breasts of a high schooler while she’s in a comatose state by a character who now has said comatose girl in miniature form replacing what used to be his right hand.

Wow! What a great guess! And lest we not forget all of the awesomely terrible “hand” puns that are you to come out of this. Can I lend you a hand? Helping hand? Hand me that? There’s no reason to no like this manga with a shit premise.

NOTE: There was only one hand pun :(

Anyway, as I post this, I’m about halfway finished with the manga, and it’s legit good. In terms of goodness, it reminds me of Ai Kora, which I loved. It has very similar animation and the characters are similar. Who created Ai Kora? Holy shit. Same person. I guess that explains that. I also guess I’m now a fan of Kazurou Inoue. Nice!

EDIT: I have actually seen this movie:

12 thoughts on “I Never Wanted to Read Midori no Hibi…

  1. Pingback: Congrats to LordMarcus « Eye Sedso

  2. CAN YOU “HAND”LE THE TRUTH? I THOUGHT THIS MANGA WOULD BE MORE THAN YOU CAN “HAND”LE! BUT I HAVE TO “HAND” IT TO YOU, YOU “HAND”LED YOURSELF WELL! EVERYONE, GIVE HIM A HAND!!!

    I hate my life

Leave a Reply

