Nabeshin, The man, the myth, the legend

I was watching a certain episode of a certain anime, like literally a minute ago (it’s paused now), and a certain character made a cameo appearance…..well…I should say that a whole episode is being done about him…..so it seems so far. Anyway, this reminded me that this character is awesome, as well as the show he originally came from. Who is this person?

Nabeshin

Nabeshin (excerpt taken exceptionally from Excel Saga)

Nabeshin (excerpt taken exceptionally from Excel Saga)

Yes Nabeshin. Originally, he made his debut in Excel Saga, an anime filled with complete randomness and parodies. However, after I looked into it, it seems that he’s made cameos or appearances in six shows (not counting Excel Saga or Puni Puni Poemy, the OVA spin off). He was created by director Shinchi Watanabe, seen somewhere else on this page. In truth, Nabeshin is Watanabe in anime form. In other words, Watanabe put himself in the anime.

-Jeff, what does Shinchi Watanabe look like?

-I’m glad you asked Mr. Personwhoisntrealandamyormaynotbeavoiceinmyhead. Here you go:

Err…let’s try a different one:

Pretty much, Watanabe is a skitso, and confuses himself in real life, and himself in anime. That makes it better though! Nabeshin = Awesome character. If I saw more of him, he might have made my list, but I didn’t, so I didn’t. Let’s continue this post after a

BRIEF INTERMISSION

Part II: Excel Saga Review:

Excel, Hyatt.

From left to right: Excel, Hyatt.

Excel Saga…how should I put it….Here’s the official description:

Excel, an eccentric girl, begins work for Lord Illpalazzo, who wants to take over the world one sity at a time, starting with F. City. However, the city Dept. of Security stands in the way, and tries to stop them. Eventually, Excel is joined by Hyatt, who always dies and throws up blood. However, if she dies, she will revive as if dying were simply the common cold. It makes fun of and parodies Japanese culture, anime, and media.

Here’s my description (in picture form):

It contains all of these things.

Let’s do some of the norm:

Pros:

  • Although I didn’t get some of the humor, I got most of it, and this show was pretty funny/entertaining.
  • Nabeshin!
  • All of the characters had some kind of subplot, from Excel, to the dog, the the guy that dies in one of the early episodes.
  • One of the character’s names is literally, “The Man”. Like, he introduces himself as such.
  • Randomness, it’s not bad by any means.
  • The plot actually does turn kind of serious at the end, and it rounds off nicely.

Cons:

  • I didn’t get some jokes, this is not a big deal though.
  • Animation could have been better, again, not that big of a deal.
  • Sometimes, Excel would talk so fast, and this made reading subs difficult, I got used to it though. (if she talked slower the anime would have been bad though, so she kind of had to talk fast).

Excel Saga? Let’s see….what did I give it? 4??? No way! It DEFINITELY deserves a

FINAL GRADE = 5

