The Anime of 09! 2009 Anime Preview!

I am amped for a lot of different shows in 2009……that I know of anyway. I’ll tell you which ones I know of, and which ones I hope will somehow happen even if there’s no chance. I’m not going to put them in any order though. First and formost, let’s get the obvious out of the way.

1. Full Metal Alchemist


Back to voice their characters of Ed and Al are Romi Paku and Rie Kugimiya respectivly. I honestly can’t wait. Without doubt this is the most looked forward to anime of 2009, but I’m still unsure of whether they are going to do a re-telling, pick up where they left off, new story, try and follow the manga (which might not be possible considering how different they got) or what. Honestly, I don’t care. If they do a re-telling, thats fine. If they continue, that’s even better. I don’t think many people were satisfied with the ending to the last series/movie. I wasn’t anyway.

2. Hayate no Gotoku 2

I’m excited very much so in a large way for this anime to come out. I hope they make it as long as the last time it ran, which was 52 episodes, but it will probably end up being something like 14 episodes or some gay shit. That would really grind my gears. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I like 14 episode anime, but there’s also times I don’t like them, like Zero no Tsukaima. Make it longer, 14 is too short! Anyway, yea, at least there’s something.

3. Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei

The only bad news here is that it’s not a full series, only a 5 episode OVA. I don’t care though, give me more Higurashi.

4. Haruhi Suzumiya

Ok they said that there’s supposed to be a new season this year. I heard for spring. But I, for one, am pessimistic that it will ever happen. But if they were right (“they” talk a lot), then I strongly look forward to a new season.

EDIT: Apparently it’s just a re-run in Japan, which I’m fine with. Also, this proves once again that I am right.

5. Shakugan no Shana III

This is nothing more than wishful thinking….maybe they’ll make a new season for winter or something….I mean….the manga is still going.

Ok now I’m just gonna list some that I know are coming out.

  • Akikan – Empty soda cans turn into girls. (I might start watching this)
  • Hetalia Axis Powers – Every nation is depicted in the form of a high school student, lots of stereotypes. (I wanna watch)
  • Kurokami – Magic and fighting (Looks cool)
  • Maria + Holic – Lesbians and cross dressers (Already started)
  • Ride Back – A girls and a motorcycle in the future. (Looks interesting)
  • Shikabane Hime Kuro – Sequel, girl comes back to life after murdered. (I still have to see the first season, but I really want to watch this)
  • Shangri-La – Tokyo is turning into a forest? (Looks nifty)
  • Basquash – Robots and basketball?
  • Pandora Hearts – Something about….I have no idea what this is about
  • Asura Crying – Guy haunted by a ghost of childhood friend
  • Maria-sama ga Mitero 4 – Girls at a Catholic school
  • Queen’s Blade – Fight to be queen. (This looks really cool, it’s out I think already, like a few others on this small list)
  • Guin Saga – Something about a warrior? (Not gonna watch)
  • Gunslinger Girl – (3rd season) Middle school assassins. (looks like I need to finish season 2)
  • Spice and Wolf – Sequel. A girl is a 600 year old God with wolf ears and tail, and she wants to go home?
  • Slayers Evolution R – I still have to watch the rest, I’ve been meaning to for a while.
  • Evangelion 2.0: You Can [Not] Advance – I haven’t seen 1.0 yet….I think.
  • Black Lagoon – Sequel, still have to see the nasty 1st season. Pirates.

There’s a shit load more, but I don’t care. You can find much better lists than this on other websites if you aren’t satisfied, and of course I didn’t include ongoing anime like Bleach and One Piece.

One thought on “The Anime of 09! 2009 Anime Preview!

  1. Oh, so this is what came out in 09, eh?

    It seems so long ago. And yet not. Time is forever. Buy me a car.

Leave a Reply

