Anime Genres – Slice of Life

I will review them all. This one will be slice of life….all I have to say about slice of life anime is:

Why? What? Of all the different genres of anime that are out there, I always say that slice of life is the shittiest type. It’s not exciting. There’s never really a true plot. I mean, basically, anime from the slice of life genre are just…..BORING. So why? WHY DO I KEEP WATCHING THEM????

The generic layout of a typical slice of life anime.

The generic layout of a typical slice of life anime.

Let’s name off a list of anime from the genre that I’ve complete or are currently watching. Let’s do this with bullets (like a gun has). Let’s include my ratings too:

  • Lucky Star – 5^^ (wtf? Seriously?)
  • Azumanga Daioh – 5 (This was actually decent)
  • Candy Boy – watching (does this really count? Yes, because eye sedso. It’s ok.)
  • High School Girls – 4 (I remember nothing at all about this show. I can’t remember characters. I’m not even sure if it’s slice of life)
  • Hyakko – 5* (…)
  • Kyou no Go no Ni – 4 (the OVA was better)
  • Pani Poni Dash – 5^^ (yea it’s not technically slice of life but this show rules, so fuck you)
  • Potemayo – 4 (I included this too…..it was so-so…kinda dumb but had it’s funny parts)
  • Tsuyokiss – 5 (I had almost forgotten this show. It was good)
  • Welcome to the N.H.K. – 5^^ (wikipedia says it is, so, yea awesome fucking show)
  • Magipoka – 5 (same basic plot of slice of life, despite involving a vampire, a robot, a magical girl and a werewolf)
  • Minami-ke – watching (it’s ok)
  • K-ON! – watching (thumbs up)

Basically, this sums up probably all the slice of life anime I’ve watched (some may be wrong, and I may have forgotten some, but it’s close enough). My average rating for a slice of life anime is:

5* !!?? <this is probably lower since I removed N.H.K., but I’m not taking the time to figure it out.

Seriously? Why? I knock them all the time. Maybe not on my ISSS, but in real life, I always say they suck. I guess I don’t know myself enough. So way are slice of life anime apparently good? Let’s do it with bullets again:

  • The characters

Wait time out. The characters? Let me sum up every slice of life anime:

Step One: Take 4 girls, who fall in the ages where puberty is happening (so jokes can be made about breast size).

Step Two: Make one eccentric (the main character usually), make one shy, make one smart, make one bitchy one.

Step Three: Have them go through the following scenarios: Eating, breast size, fan service episode at the beach/in the gym pool, gym episode where they play volleyball, other random stupidness.

Wow I just gave you the plot for pretty much every slice of life anime ever made, except Candy Boy, which has two lesbian sisters, and their horny lesbian friend. Congrats to me.

  • The plot

Is always the same?

  • The comedy

The comedy can be good. Azumanga Daioh had some good comedy. So did Pani Poni Dash!. Welcome to the N.H.K. had one great awesome moment, and was all around not a real slice of life anime in my opinion. It’s more like a drama. But wikipedia said it was slice of life, so it must be true.

  • Uhh…….the…….characters?

Already did that. In fact, there is nothing else in a slice of life anime except characters and a plot-less plot. Yet somehow we anime bloggers (in my case, ISSSer) still watch them. At least I do. And we’ll never know why (at least I won’t). Until I find this reason:

EDIT: Welcome to the N.H.K. is off the list. It doesn’t fit my definition of slice of life, which you could find in the comments.

Sengoku Basara – Episode 2

Thank God, I was waiting for this episode. This show, in case you didn’t know, is great. But it’s missing something……

Kasuga = Fan Service ^12

Yup. Standard fan service. I’m not complaining, although her nipples would be showing given that her breast are barely covered. All good fighting show, I must admit, have some fan service, and it’s good to see that Sengoku Basara didn’t go overboard with it-

Kenshin touched her hand. She had an orgasm. My goal in life is now to become like Kenshin.

Kenshin touched her hand. She had an orgasm. My goal in life is now to become like Kenshin.

Well that was interesting and unexpected. I thought it was funny, and rather enjoyable. This show gets better and better. I love the fact that they’re making Kasuga into a fan service joke. She is the entire shows source of fan service (thus far) and they’re milking it for all it’s worth. Back to the episode plot.

Just as Masamune Date catches up to Imagawa, Yukimura shows up, resulting in a duel:

This show rules.

As they duke it out for Imagawa’s head, the scene cuts back to Shingen, who is now raping the walls of Odawara Castle with his trusty steeds:

Shingen kicks so much ass.

He meets up with Ujimasa Hojo, and rapes him too….or he was about to, until Fuma Kotarou, the legendary ninja, shows up and beheads his horses. I should point out that Fuma looks way cooler here than he does in Samurai Warriors.

Good luck finding this exact image in the episode. I fuckin did this shit. Two screen prints combined.....bitch!

My mastery in MS Paint knows no limits with that double screen print. Anyway, he may look pretty cool, and the way he fights is right up my ally (he’s fast). But he gets hit with one punch from Shingen, which sends him flying into the wall of the side of the castle…..on the top of the tower (Shingen sent him flying). Shingen then kills Hojo, no problem. The scene cuts back to the duel between Yukimura and Masamune, where Imagawa has gotten his body doubles out, so there are now three Imagawas. Masamune takes one, Yukimura follows the other, and Kojuro pursues the third one.

Kojuro almost gets raped by arrows, but out of the 7 million arrows that were fired, none hit him, because he’s nasty. Then a kid shows up, and kills the double. I can only assume that this child is Ranmaru Mori, because in real life, he was only 17 (when he eventually committed sepukko after Oda Nobunaga was betrayed by his retainer, Mitsuhide Akechi). Either way, one impostor down.

Next up is Yukimura’s impostor. He is following the cart when suddenly it blows up, and the imposter is shot (with a gun) by who I assume is Noh, Nobunaga’s wife. Either way, two impostors down.

Last one. The real one, who Masamune is following. However, on top of the cart is someone who I can only assume is Mitsuhide, since I am out of people, and I doubt it’s Hideyoshi. He sprays smoke at Masamune, who’s horse stumbles (his horse has mufflers by the way…awesome) and falls. Eventually, Masamune, Kojuro, Yukimura and Sasuke (the Naruto looking ninja character who previously met up with Yukimura) end up in a quarry, where, who I can only assume are Ranmaru, No, and Mitsuhide (they never actually say) are gathered with Oda Nobunaga. Nobunaga shoots Imagawa, and the episode ends.

I would like to point out, that this show kicks ass. I love how they change some of history to make it interesting, but keep a lot of it the same. Like in real life, when Nobunaga killed Imagawa, it was a surprise attack in the rain. The Oda were heavily outnumbered, so they just surprised Imagawa and cut off his head. In this episode, it was a bit different, but it was still raining, and Nobunaga still kiled him. This show kicks ass.