School Days – An Actual First Impressions

I had to rewrite this and make is somewhat respectable. I’m sure by now everyone has seen this, but I haven’t and so I finally picked it up today. Basically from the first two episodes, I can tell that this proves theory #7693-A, which states that

Relationships in Anime are Always Awkward

Is that a book on relationships you're reading? Who brings that ON A DATE???

When you go out with someone...don't you usually TALK TO EACH OTHER?

Are you that dumb? You don't know how to kiss? Why don't you ask your book. It will tell you that she won't kiss you anyway, because you're awkward.

Whoever designed Itou’s character succeeded in making him the most hopeless guy with women (understanding them/talking to them/doing anything what-so-ever with them). Actually, they didn’t just make him awkward with women, they made him a huge horny moron. He doesn’t have the first clue what to do with a girl. But he isn’t the only one who makes this relationship awkward. It takes two to tango, and Katsura can dance with the stars.

I don't know what I'm doing! Holy jeez I have huge tits!

And just to make things more awkward, after helping Itou  actually go out with Katsura, Sekai decides to fuck with everyone’s head and pull this shit:

Alright Itou, I just helped you go out with Katsura, now, I'm going to show you I like you.

Sekai could have just told Itou from the start: I like you. Instead she decides to help him go out with someone else. That makes sense. If I wanted to go out with girl x, then the best way to do so would be to help girl x go out with guy y. Right? Sigh…

Of course, Itou and Katsura are both new to the dating game, so I guess most of the awkward moments that happen (like the long silences, awkward kiss attempts…really, Itou and Katsura do not belong together at all) are acceptable, but my point is that in every single anime, the relationship between the two characters who like each is always wierd. School Days, however, is taking it to the next level. It’s still a good show though, so as long as no one gets there head chopped off or something (that would definitely never happen though), then this could be pretty enjoyable.

To be honest, Sekai is the only one with sense so far as far as dating goes, except when it comes to her feelings.

Minami-ke – Finally Done

There’s a lot of shows that have been hanging around on my list, that I picked up a while ago. Minami-ke is no objection. Finally I’m done. And basically, it’s an action/thriller anime about girls that like to run:

They are running from explosions and thrilling aspects.

In case you have never seen Minami-ke, everything I just said is complete bullshit. The show is actually a slice of life show, with slices of lives from the three Minami sisters. There’s really not much to say in terms of plot, so I’ll explain the three main characters, and you can decide on your own if you like it:

Haruka

Haruka is the oldest sister, and acts almost like a mother to her two younger sisters. She is very kind, cooks, cleans, etc, and kind of reminds me of a less lame Belldandy, who I think is one of the lamest characters in the history of characters being lame.

Kana

Minami Kana

She’s the eccentric one. She’s pretty much an idiot, and Chiaki lets her know this more than once. She can’t cook for shit, and most problems are caused by her crazy antics.

Chiaki

Minami Chiaki

She is, for the most part, always serious. She is the youngest of the three, and loves (or is obliged) to call Kana an idiot at least 12 times an episode. She talks/looks/seems very dull, and she is smart, and pretty much looks down on everyone except her sister Haruka, who I believe she has an incestuous, lesbian crush on.

These three characters all live alone together (there’s an oxymoron) in a small apartment, and go to separate-schools (based on grade level). There you go. That’s about everything. Oh I almost forgot, it has awesome close ups:

chi~~~~~

At first, I thought it was kind of dumb/slow/boring, as I do with all slice of life shows, but also as usual, once you get to know the characters, it becomes hard not to like the show. I thought the humor could have maybe been a little more/better, but it was good enough for me to watch the next season….in fact, it picked up toward the end of the season, when they discover three brothers who area also named Minami and are pretty much mirror images of the girls (sometimes once), except that they’re guys, and have one sibling more (a girl who looks/acts like a guy). Wait! Stop! Omit the previous! The funniest parts of the show are when they watch tv, specifically, “Sensei & Ninomiya-kun”:

If this was a real show, I'd watch it.

They just go back and forth to each other, saying each other’s names:

Ninomiya-kun: Sensei!

Sensei: Ninomiya-kun!

Ninomiya-kun: Sensei!

Sensei: Ninomiya-kun!

Then they get hit by a car, with dramatic violin music playing throughout.

Overall, I would give it Minami-ke a:

FINAL GRADE = 5

Doesn’t Hayame remind you of Mitsune from Love Hina? They’re both sluts who love to get bombed. Not to mention neither one seems to open their eyes.

Separated at birth?

Hayame made the last episode good though. I love when characters get drunk in anime, it always makes things better.