Serial Experiments: Lain

I can tell you clearly that this anime has made me realize one thing:

Anime from the 90’s is fucking awesome.

I love everything about it, I wish it didn’t take me so long to realize it. The animation was awesome. The plots were stellar (there’s some 90’s slang for ya). Everything was awesome. I guarantee that when I finish this show, I’m going to go on a binge of 90’s shows, so if you have any good ones, feel free to leave a comment.

On to the series.

Serial Experiments: Lain

Her name is Lain.

Sadly, I was beaten out to write a review on this show by some jackass, a person who I told to watch this series, therefore I’m going to make this short and sweet, and try not to copy too much.

This series, after one episode, seems to be about a young girl named Lain, who is in junior high. A classmate of hers killed herself, but is still emailing people in the class, who think it is a sick joke or a prank. Lain, well…..she’s……hmm….even I, with all of my literary prowess, can’t begin to properly explain the awesome which is this show so far. It reminds me heavily of Akira, which is one of the greatest anime films ever made.

This series is heavily psychological, which is something that I haven’t really seen much of, but love like the dickens (lol). I can’t get enough of this stuff (I didn’t say shit! Woo-hoo!). I can’t find one thing I don’t like about this show thus far. And I’m positive that I’ll finish it by tomorrow and write a review, so I’m just going to say:

  • 90’s anime rocks
  • Psychological anime rolls
  • Lain looks like a character that rock and rolls, and then goes straight to my Top Ten Anime Characters, which appears to need several revisions (hint, Ichigo has had his bags packed for ages), and may need a revamping soon.

Oh by the way, here’s something I thought was funny. They use these computers called “Navi’s”, and all I could think of was:

Get it? Navi =Navi? Ugh.....it's time for bad.

EDIT: The OP rules.

DOUBLE EDIT: Sometimes an anime fucks with my brain, and I can’t exactly think clearly/function correctly for a few days after watching it. I become socially withdrawn, paranoid, edgy, and pretty much lose my mind (only for a few days though so no biggy, at least that was the case with Neon Genesis Evangelion, which isn’t even that bad psychologically).

After watching the second episode of Lain, I’m almost afraid to continue because it’s already making me feel weird, especially the scene where that random dude takes that drug thing. I actually started losing it. Although that might be because it is now 3 in the morning and I am tired.

Has anime ever fucked with your mind? I have a feeling I’m probably alone on this one.

Just a little fun fact for you.

Pandora Hearts – It’s One of Those Shows

You know the ones. They start off with a bunch of confusing shit wound up together in a huge, tangled, cluster fuck of a ball, and slowly but surely it unravels, and as it does, it gets easier and easier to see what’s inside that ball (that shit was DEEP stupid). In other words, Pandora Hearts doesn’t suck as much as I initially thought it did. On the contrary, it’s getting pretty good. Why? Let me give you three reasons:

Hits:

1. Alice – Aka Blood Eyed Bunny aka B. Rabbit aka Awesomest character in the show. She basically looks cool, almost even bad-ass at times, with the chains and the bad ass smile.
Bottom line – She rocks this shit

Hell yea bitch.

Basically, she just looks cool.

2. Contracts – It seems that any shows with contracts or binding team-ups being made turn out to be good news…at least for this guy anyway. It’s almost a can’t miss. Just look at the facts:

  • Mahou Sensei Negima!
  • Akikan
  • Ah! My Goddess!
  • Inukami!
  • Shaman King (if only it had an end)
  • Zero no Tsukaima

I can tell from that list that this post is going downhill…I really thought I had more examples. Whatever. Shows with binding contracts rule. I know it. You know it. And the crowd knows it. (All Star Baseball quote slightly modified).

3.This Scene – I laughed at it. It was funny. Maybe it’s because I eat cookies the same way. Cookies rule.

Nice goin breakin out the chipmunk on that cookie's ass. Veteran move.

But where there are hits, there are

Misses:

1. Animation – It’s very boring, and almost fuzzy. Maybe I’m just watching it in shitty quality, but the color schemes and such are really dull. Give me some bright colors and sharp lines. Ho-hum.

2. Some Confusing Shit’s Going Down – This pissed me off at first, but now that the plot is becoming more developed, this “miss” is pretty much gone.

3. Alice’s Bunny Transformation – I have never seen anything stupider before in my life. And yes, I do own mirrors.

And it's wearing a skirt..........just...........no.

A crazy giant bunny dressed like a girl/wearing a skirt? That’s the best you can come up with? Crazy rabbits are dumb.

Theres been a lot of N64 references here.

There's been a lot of N64 references here.

Ok there’s maybe one cool, crazy rabbit…….JACKRABBIT! (shoots gun).

EDIT: The rabbit from Donny Darko was gay too.

DOUBLE EDIT: I am eating some bangin ass cookies.