Suzumiya Haruhi – Gimmie Some More

I never realized it, but the opening to Haruhi was awesome. The best part is when the title words come up. Great OP. I will be creating a top 25-30 OP’s of all time during the next few days (could turn into weeks, because I am lazy).

Lately, I have been on a binge of Haruhi everything. The show is simply awesome. As far as the alleged new season is concerned, I don’t want it at this point….I need it. Did I ever do a review of it? I can’t remember. I think I’m going to re-watch Haruhi (they’re re-airing it in Japan, so I guess it’s an appropriate time to do so). Last time I made the unfortunate mistake of watching them in the correct time line, not in the way that they were released. Looking back, I believe it was a folly on my part. This time, I will watch them correctly, and since I forgot a lot of shit, it shouldn’t be a problem.

Anyway, let’s figure out what I think about it:

Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu

Damn kids, and their music.

Let’s jump right into the mix. Haruhi is a girl, seen with the yellow ribbon on her head……..why am I bothering to explain. Everyone has seen this show, and if you haven’t, well, you’re an anime anomaly. For God sakes, this anime has one of the biggest fan bases around. people fuckin worshipped this show. Although for every worshipper, there were skeptics. I sat neutral.

I like this show. It was entertaining and good. But I always felt that people kind of over-estimated it’s greatness. “This show was a tad over-rated”, I thought. However, as I have found since starting this revolutionary ISSS, when you analyze anime, you tend to realize things about it that maybe you didn’t see so clearly before hand. The same is true with Haruhi. Let’s do this:

As Cool as an Esper:

  • The characters in this series ruled. Let’s get a break-down. First, we have Haruhi, the eccentric character who is voiced by the famous Aya Hirano, (Konata – Lucky Star….as well as Haruhi….and herself. Yup, she rules). As stated, she is eccentric, and later it is revealed that she is also God (pretty much), although she doesn’t know it. She has the ability to change things, depending on how she feels at the moment. Then we have Kyon, voiced by Tomokazu Sugita (Gintoki – Gintama). Kyon is basically a normal dude, and he gets involved with Haruhi, who forced him to join the SOS Brigade, which is dedicated to finding aliens, espers, everything else weird in the world. After, we have Nagato, who is awesome. She doesn’t talk much, and likes to read. Oh, and it’s her job to monitor Haruhi, because of something that happened 3 years prior to the current time. She’s voiced by Minori Chihara (Minami – Lucky Star (and herself as well). After, we have Mikuru, who is a constantly embarrassed girl from the future, whom Haruhi loves to dress (and undress) in different costumes. Yes. She is really from the future. She is voiced by Yuko Goto (Abiru, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei). The last member of the SOS Brigade is Itsuki, who is an Esper (yea). He is voiced by Daisuke Ono (Kazuma – Kaze no Stigma). That’s all I hav to say on that. I wrote too much. These characters rule because really how much more unique attributes can a cast have. Everyone has something different about them! I love it! There hasn’t been a cast this great since Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei (of which a third season has been announced).
  • As stated, a bangin OP as well as a bangin ED, which earned FUCKING AWARDS.

It was good……but awards? Really? I don’t know about that.

  • The episodes were released out of order. I really missed out on this. No one’s done that before. I’m still kicking myself for missing this unique release-ness of episodes.

The Boring Normalcy:

  • What was not good about this show? Well, to tell you the truth, I can’t recall a single God damn thing that I didn’t like. Thinking back, I ate up these episodes in about a day, which, for me back then was a master feat (now it’s just a good feat).

So? What was the point of this review which was stupid, unorganized, and an excuse to put up something anime-related? Not much, except to say I WANT SOME MORE HARUHI! Stop teasing us all and deliver an actual second season!

FINAL GRADE = 5^^ (8/8)

6 thoughts on “Suzumiya Haruhi – Gimmie Some More

    • I’m not that late…a few days….give or take a couple years.

      As for that post, quite impressive. A lot of songs are top ten in my book. Although I doubt I’ll list the full songs as well…..that’s so much time. If it was adding one song every once in a while then that’s fine. But I’m just going to embed it all. I first have to watch every OP to every anime I’ve watched, which could take some time.

  1. I have never read nor watched Haruhi because it looks gay. By that I mean its fans were gay. Actually I just never got around to it.

    It’s funny because all of the follow-ups to Haruhi were shit. That’s what you get for being a shitty anime that was too full of yourself and gay.

    • By that I mean it’s funny because people (like you, in this post) were looking forward to it and then were disappointed. I laugh at their tears ha ha.

Leave a Reply

