K-ON! 4 – “Mio” and “Moe” Are Only One Letter Apart

Let me first just say, that I love the characters in K-ON, including Mio, but she’s a little off. I like the fact that her personality goes two ways, but in K-ON, it’s kind of exaggerated:

Here, she kind of looks like someone who doesn't take shit, isn't afraid of anything.

Here, she kind of looks like someone who doesn't take shit, isn't afraid of anything.

and other times she’ll be like this:

Scared? Why not crouch down and act moe?

Scared? Why not crouch down and act moe?

Ok, so she’s for the most part a girl that is horrible at handling pressure situations. Awesome. I love this type of character. But the one thing is:

  1. She gets scared at things that aren’t really scary.
  2. Instead of running, like a normal person would do, she crouches down and cries.

Due to this, I have come to the conclusion that Mio just wants attention. Why else would she crouch down right in the middle of everyone (drawing attention to herself), and start acting a damn fool? No one I’ve ever met gets physically scared (crying, down on their knees) from something scary. The fact is, she’s not really scared of the barnacles. When it comes down to it, she doesn’t even see barnacles, but just chances to draw attention to herself, as well as a reason to act moe:

Complete Demitri Martin Rip-Off

Complete Demitri Martin Rip-Off

Don’t get me wrong, I love Mio, she’s a great character, and I love the fact that she’s someone you can bully. All I’m saying is, maybe make the situations where she gets scared grabs attention a little more believable. This attention grabbing whore just can’t wait to kick you in the teeth with her moe, which, for the most part, she is very successful at doing:

Honto ni honto.

Honto ni honto.

You’ll never get me, Mio. I’m up to your shenanigans. You just want attention, and use moe as your method to achieve said attention. Well guess what? IT AIN’T WORKING! There is literally nothing you can throw at me that will make me fall into your traps. I am steadfast in my beliefs. I am a rock. I am-

Fucked.

Trapped.

P.S. -Let me just say that Mio kicks extreme ass at the end, where she actually gets scary:

It's the voice that does it.

It's the voice that does it.

That’s awesome, and K-ON! rules.

7 thoughts on “K-ON! 4 – “Mio” and “Moe” Are Only One Letter Apart

  1. Mio’s personality is all over the map. It’s as if the writers were saying “I wonder what’ll be the most convenient personality for this particular scene? Restrained enthusiasm? General cheerfulness? Grossly exaggerated fear? Responsibility with a tinge of optimism? Yeah, let’s go with that!”

  2. Mio’s personality is all over the map. It’s as if the writers were saying “I wonder what’ll be the most convenient personality for this particular scene? Restrained enthusiasm? General cheerfulness? Grossly exaggerated fear? Responsibility with a tinge of optimism? Yeah, let’s go with that!”

    Or, better yet, “I wonder what’ll please the fans most? Restrained enthusiasm? General cheerfulness? Grossly exaggerated fear? Responsibility with a tinge of optimism? I think we have our bases covered now.”

    Eat your heart out, KyoAnifags.

  3. re @Baka-raptor and @lolikitsune: The main factor is obviously “how moe can we make Mio at the time”. Consistency and rationality be damned.

    The constant changes in Mio were pretty annoying though. :/

Leave a Reply

