Yu Yu Hakusho – First Impressions……Again

I’ve seen the beginning of this show (first 3 episodes) about 5 times. I watched about 15 other episodes at random, but that was really long ago, so I need to get in gear and watch the whole thing. Here are my first impressions…although they aren’t really first impressions, just first impressions…..again. This will cover the first 3 episodes and my spoil one or two things.

Yu Yu Hakusho

XD

The anime starts off with the main character, Yusuke, doing what I have always wanted to do: Die, but then come back to life in a triumphant return that catches everyone by surprise.

Yusuke is a delinquent, and an ass kicker, who dies saving a kid from a car. Of course, later, when the grim reaper (a “pretty girl” on a flying broomstick) appears, she mentions that the boy he “saved” would have had less cuts had he not interferred, and that his death was an utter and complete waste. He then goes to his wake and watches everyones reactions, and sees some surprising reactions to his demise. After seeing this, he decides to take Grim Reaper Lady up on the offer that she gave him: The option to return to life, but first they must go to the spirit world.

I know for a fact that this series gets good. I am excited because not only did this episode come with a shit load of noastagia, but it looks even better than I remember, despite being dubbed (the dubbing isn’t bad for once). I’ve been taking it back to the old school lately (80’s & 90’s):

  • Touch
  • Yu Yu Hakusho
  • GTO
  • DBZ Kai (as far as I’m concerned, it’s just re watching DBZ…but without the bull-shit)

EDIT: After 5 episodes of dubbed Yu Yu Hakusho, I wouldn’t mind seeing a few subbed episodes.

3 thoughts on “Yu Yu Hakusho – First Impressions……Again

  1. YYH is one of those series I saw dubbed in its entirety (minus the movie, which I saw subbed), but I never really minded it. Sure, Keiko’s voice gets irritating, but I don’t delude myself into thinking that it’s any less annoying Japanese. 😛

    • i don’t really mind it, but a few characters AT TIMES, can get on my nerves. What I can say, however, is that Yusuke’s voice is really well done. I also don’t really mind Keiko.

      Boton annoys me, as does Kuwabara, but after a few more episodes, I’ll be so used to it that it doesn’t matter.

      Truthfully, it doesn’t matter how bad the voice acting is, once you get used to it, you aren’t really bothered by it……I’d like to think that anyway.

  2. “come with a shit load of noastagia”
    o wat is this??

    “EDIT: After 5 episodes of dubbed Yu Yu Hakusho, I wouldn’t mind seeing a few subbed episodes.”
    FUCKING OWNED LMAO!!

Leave a Reply

