The Importance of an Anime List

I don’t know about you personally, reader, but as for me and most likely every one else. A list of anime is vital.

A List Does (for me):

Keeps Track of Completed/Watching/Interesting Looking Anime

Most people have a MAL, I do too, in fact, except it’s no where near complete, and I gave up on it a while ago, because I’d be there for hours finding all the anime I’ve watched. Instead, I just have a nice Wordpad page, which has become increasingly larger/more organized over the years:

Behold the start of my list.

117 Completed. Look how easy it is to find all of the data. It’s right there at the top! Color coordinated too! I’m so organized. Praise me.

Keeps Track of Anime I am Currently Viewing

I know I just said this, but I wish to elaborate. Unlike OBALLER (on blogroll, I’m too lazy to link it), who uses PAPER AND A PEN to keep track of what episode he’s on (which is fine if you’re AMISH), I prefer to use the computer. Here are some FAQs regarding this method:

Q: “What if you’re computer crashes?”

A: I keep the small file backed up on my flash drive, as well as email There’s also some ISSS that it’s on (this fucking site…it has it’s own page for cryin out loud).

Paper can get:

  1. Lost
  2. Burned
  3. Wet
  4. Ripped
  5. Thrown Away
  6. Smudged
  7. Crammed up an ass-hole

Q: “its easier to just write it down…..its more of a pain to go in and find the show on the list and change it then update page” (Okay so it’s not really a question)

A: OBALLER said that brilliance. First of all, everything is alphabetized, so it takes literally one second to find (I timed it literally). Second, I bet I could push the number “4″ faster than you can write it.

Ready?

GO!4

I win.

For the record, here is my currently watching list:

Not pictured: Saki, Sengoku Basara, Sora wo Kakeru Shojo, Touch, Yu Yu Hakusho.

Not pictured: Saki, Sengoku Basara, Sora wo Kakeru Shojo, Touch, Yu Yu Hakusho.

Look at how simple that is! There’s the show, and right next to it is the last completed episode. SO EASY.

It Gives Me Options

If I want to start a new show, and don’t know what to watch, it”s okay, because I have around 50 shows that I pre-scouted, and determined I might like:

Wait a minute....are these all anime?

Wait a minute....are these all anime?

I have a multi-facited list. Chances are, My list is better than yours is. I even keep track of dropped shows, shows that I need to restart when I have time, but had to drop for the moment (Injured Reserve):

Uh nothing to add?

“Wow, that’s weirdly obsessive, Jeff…..you need help.”

Not yet I don’t:

I need to calm down.

Okay NOW I do. What can I say, what started out as a small, normal list, only used to keep track of episodes because I forget a lot, evolved in to a great filing system that works perfect for me. If you look at the scroller thingy on the side of the screen shots, you’ll notice it only went half way down. That’s because underneath are a shit load of top tens and stuff. I’ll give you a sample:

Lot's of top tens

Those are already ones I put up, because they’re in purple, the maroon ones are ones that no one knows about yet, like my Top EDs (too small a list to put up), Top Funny Anime, Top Normal Movies, Top Musical Artists etc.

So what say you? Is my list totally off the wall, out of control, and unhealthily obsessive? Or am I just really organized? Or possibly, is my list incredibly un-organized, and pales in comparison to yous?

Top OPs Ever – FINAL 10

First
Second
Third

Now on to the TOP TEN OPs EVER:

10. Gintama OP1 -TommyHeavenly6: Pray

No this isn’t a typo. I know you may have seen this on the previous installment before, but I added a Blood + OP that I missed, and that moved everything down one, which was good, because I had an extra slot somehow.

I still sing this song, despite the fact that I haven’t really watched Gintama in a long time. It’s just an awesome song with good animation (although nothing special).

9. Zoku Sayornara Zetsubou Sensei – Ohtsuki Kenji & Featured Seiyu: Kuuso Rumba

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei has awesome OPs. This Top Ten will prove that. There are three OPs with this song, but I like this one the most, even though the other 2 are still nasty. I’m not sure why I like these openings so much. If I were to hazard a guess, I would say that it’s because the music is awesome, and includes seiyu as well as Ohtsuki Kenji, the animation is nasty (and different…..I love different), and the show it delivers an awesomeness that fits the show exactly. Awesome. Shaft does it again, and as you will see, Shaft is not done yet.

8. Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu – Aya Hirano: Boken Desho Desho

This one’s obvious I woud think. But you know what really irks me? They took the full dance to the ED off Youtube….or I should say it’s not available in this country. I mean, that’s and ED, and has nothing to do with this post, but whatever. It irks me. Irk.

Anyway, yea……this OP is fucking great. Why is Aya Hirano great? Well she’s a successful seiyu, singer, she’s hot…..she pretty much does it all, including this OP. I really don’t need to say much more about this OP do I? We all get it’s pretty good? Are you all satisfied with number 8? No? Too bad. Next up is an OP for an anime that features a SHITLOAD of advertising for Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu.

7. Lucky Star – Featured Seiyu: Motteke! Sailor Fuku

Sorry, I love this fucking OP. It’s just awesome. Apparently everyone else does too, because youtube has 50.000 different videos made by varies people regarding this OP. The best parts are when they show the individual characters dancing in front of a building or something.What other OP can you find that coolness? Don’t bother looking. I’ll tell you. NONE. Not only does this song rule, but so does the animation.

6./5. Pani Poni Dash – Featured Seiyu: Kiiroi Bakansu/RurettoRuretto

The first of this second “Double-OP-Smack-Shot” is a Pani Poni Dash Duo. Both of these have awesome, unique, animation (Shaft), so the difference is in the music.

The first of these, Kiiroi Bakansu (Yellow Vacation) has a nice surfer vibe that, believe it or not, I jerk off to love. The second of these actually blows me away. It’s one of the awesomest songs ever. I had it downloaded and actually memorized the words at one point (well, I had it downloaded anyway). Other OPs can be cool and all, but  Ruretto Ruretto has attitude. It comes at you with Rebecca walking in like “Yea I’m the best.” Then she gets blindsides by her students, at which point I usually OD on awesome.

4. Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei – Ohtsuki Kenji & Featured Seiyu: All Twisted Up Inside

Here’s a few things that you don’t usually see in an OP: Lesbians and bondage. Alrighty then. On to the medal winners.

TOP THREE OPs

BRONZE: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni – Eiko Shimamiya: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

You know what. If you don’t like this OP, well then you’re just silly aren’t you? Despite the unoriginal song title, this OP almost kicks to much ass to be real. The way it starts out is just phenomenal. The music sounds all twisted and warped, with the flowers spinning (the flowers look almost psychotic to me), and then moves to random ass pictures of a moth near a light, and then a fuckin blade. The build up is awesome. And then the song comes in and kicks you in the face with a drop kick, rendering you useless against it’s utter nastiness.

SILVER: Cowboy Bebop -The Seatbelts: Tank!

It is so hard not to put this as number one. I kept debating in my head which one I wanted. In the end I just kept this OP at 2, which is still awesome.

Basically, Jazz/Swing + Cool Anime = Classic OP

GOLD WINNER – Samurai Champloo – Nujabes & Shing02: Battle Cry

I thought that this entire show had outstanding animation. I love this style anime, and I wish I could find more like it. FLCL was kind of similar. This anime contained everything I love most pretty much. They even added a baseball episode just for me, which is one of my favorite episodes of anything ever. I love when Japanese people make fun of us Americans.

Thank God a hip hop intro to anime. How many other OPs have a hip hop song? I can’t think of any. Samurai Champloo pulls it off.

Basically, Hip Hop + Outstanding Anime + Samurai Shit = BEST OP EVER

The end. These are my top ten OPs. There may be many top ten anime OPs like it, but this is mine. You stay classy.