Top OPs Ever – FINAL 10

First
Second
Third

Now on to the TOP TEN OPs EVER:

10. Gintama OP1 -TommyHeavenly6: Pray

No this isn’t a typo. I know you may have seen this on the previous installment before, but I added a Blood + OP that I missed, and that moved everything down one, which was good, because I had an extra slot somehow.

I still sing this song, despite the fact that I haven’t really watched Gintama in a long time. It’s just an awesome song with good animation (although nothing special).

9. Zoku Sayornara Zetsubou Sensei – Ohtsuki Kenji & Featured Seiyu: Kuuso Rumba

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei has awesome OPs. This Top Ten will prove that. There are three OPs with this song, but I like this one the most, even though the other 2 are still nasty. I’m not sure why I like these openings so much. If I were to hazard a guess, I would say that it’s because the music is awesome, and includes seiyu as well as Ohtsuki Kenji, the animation is nasty (and different…..I love different), and the show it delivers an awesomeness that fits the show exactly. Awesome. Shaft does it again, and as you will see, Shaft is not done yet.

8. Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu – Aya Hirano: Boken Desho Desho

This one’s obvious I woud think. But you know what really irks me? They took the full dance to the ED off Youtube….or I should say it’s not available in this country. I mean, that’s and ED, and has nothing to do with this post, but whatever. It irks me. Irk.

Anyway, yea……this OP is fucking great. Why is Aya Hirano great? Well she’s a successful seiyu, singer, she’s hot…..she pretty much does it all, including this OP. I really don’t need to say much more about this OP do I? We all get it’s pretty good? Are you all satisfied with number 8? No? Too bad. Next up is an OP for an anime that features a SHITLOAD of advertising for Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu.

7. Lucky Star – Featured Seiyu: Motteke! Sailor Fuku

Sorry, I love this fucking OP. It’s just awesome. Apparently everyone else does too, because youtube has 50.000 different videos made by varies people regarding this OP. The best parts are when they show the individual characters dancing in front of a building or something.What other OP can you find that coolness? Don’t bother looking. I’ll tell you. NONE. Not only does this song rule, but so does the animation.

6./5. Pani Poni Dash – Featured Seiyu: Kiiroi Bakansu/RurettoRuretto

The first of this second “Double-OP-Smack-Shot” is a Pani Poni Dash Duo. Both of these have awesome, unique, animation (Shaft), so the difference is in the music.

The first of these, Kiiroi Bakansu (Yellow Vacation) has a nice surfer vibe that, believe it or not, I jerk off to love. The second of these actually blows me away. It’s one of the awesomest songs ever. I had it downloaded and actually memorized the words at one point (well, I had it downloaded anyway). Other OPs can be cool and all, but  Ruretto Ruretto has attitude. It comes at you with Rebecca walking in like “Yea I’m the best.” Then she gets blindsides by her students, at which point I usually OD on awesome.

4. Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei – Ohtsuki Kenji & Featured Seiyu: All Twisted Up Inside

Here’s a few things that you don’t usually see in an OP: Lesbians and bondage. Alrighty then. On to the medal winners.

TOP THREE OPs

BRONZE: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni – Eiko Shimamiya: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

You know what. If you don’t like this OP, well then you’re just silly aren’t you? Despite the unoriginal song title, this OP almost kicks to much ass to be real. The way it starts out is just phenomenal. The music sounds all twisted and warped, with the flowers spinning (the flowers look almost psychotic to me), and then moves to random ass pictures of a moth near a light, and then a fuckin blade. The build up is awesome. And then the song comes in and kicks you in the face with a drop kick, rendering you useless against it’s utter nastiness.

SILVER: Cowboy Bebop -The Seatbelts: Tank!

It is so hard not to put this as number one. I kept debating in my head which one I wanted. In the end I just kept this OP at 2, which is still awesome.

Basically, Jazz/Swing + Cool Anime = Classic OP

GOLD WINNER – Samurai Champloo – Nujabes & Shing02: Battle Cry

I thought that this entire show had outstanding animation. I love this style anime, and I wish I could find more like it. FLCL was kind of similar. This anime contained everything I love most pretty much. They even added a baseball episode just for me, which is one of my favorite episodes of anything ever. I love when Japanese people make fun of us Americans.

Thank God a hip hop intro to anime. How many other OPs have a hip hop song? I can’t think of any. Samurai Champloo pulls it off.

Basically, Hip Hop + Outstanding Anime + Samurai Shit = BEST OP EVER

The end. These are my top ten OPs. There may be many top ten anime OPs like it, but this is mine. You stay classy.

11 thoughts on “Top OPs Ever – FINAL 10

    • I love Pani Poni Dash. I still haven’t seen the OVA because unlike a lot of people, I can’t really understand Japanese, and need subs. I can pick up some stuff, but not nearly enough.

      You’ve inspired a new header.

  1. So, can I count on your finalized list sometime by the end of the week, or are you going to keep on remembering to add more to this list later? /jk

    Anyway, SHAFT has always had great visual style. A certain playfulness and unique quality to their OPs, to say the least.

    And if I didn’t see Tank!, heads were gonna roll. Seriously.

    If you wanted lesbians in your OPs, can I point you to Revolutionary Girl Utena?

    Some other great OPs off the top of my head would be FMA OP 2 (Ready Steady GO!), Azumanga Daioh’s OP (I think the inspirational ancestor of SHAFT’s creative PPD OPs, but don’t quote me on that), Beck’s OP (Hit in USA), and Rurouni Kenshin OP 2. All classic OPs, and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend their respective animes either!

    • haha I know the worst part was, I said I wasn’t going to add anymore.

      Tank! is one of the best.

      I’ve never seen Revolutionary Girl Utena. I may check it out.

      As for Azumanga Daioh. I couldn’t decide if I should put it on or not. I like the beginning of it when they are all in the air, and it’s definitely a classic, just not really my style much. Rurouni Kenshin completely slipped my mind. I must have looked over it because I checked out every OP to every anime on my list, which I really should update, as much has changed.

    • I knew a lot of people would be saying that (you are a lot of people).

      Cowboy Bebop has like, the best music ever in anime, but I had to give it to Champloo in the end.

  2. I thought it interesting how Hito wa blah blah ended up ahead of Kuusou Rumba. Usually, people love Kuusou Rumba and put it ahead of any other Zetsubou Sensei (or SHAFT) song.

    Also, RUMBA RUMBA RUMBA RUMBA RUMBA

  3. “still sing this song, ”
    haha faggot

    “varies people”
    tell me more of the varies people

    “What other OP can you find that coolness?”
    If you find that cool, I don’t even know what to say.

    “has a nice surfer vibe that, believe it or not, I jerk off to love.”
    I believe it.

    “well then you’re just silly aren’t you?”
    Guilty as charged

    “You stay classy.”
    No

Leave a Reply

