My Neighbor Totoro

Antagonists? Plot? Hayao Miyazaki doesn’t need silly things like these in order to make  an incredible anime movie. He’s that good. Throw in some girls, some creatures and a forest and you’ve got an instant classic.

My Neighbor Totoro

Totoro_big

I loved this movie, and it wasn’t even completely subbed. I’d say about 25% of the subs never showed up for entire dialogues, but I mainly understood what was being said anyway, so it’s no big deal. This was an awesome movie. Was it as good as The Girl Who Leapt Through Time? Well, I wouldn’t go that far, but damn, three great anime flicks in a row! I’m hitting the gold right now! (Cowboy Bebop, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, My Neighbor Totoro)

Premise: Two girls and their father move out to the country while their mother is in the hospital (Why she’s in the hospital I have no idea, she showed no notion of being sick at any point). In this wooded region, the girls discover Totoro, the guardian (or something like that) of the woods.

Why is Miyazaki so damn good? The plot is so simple and easy, so why is the movie so freaking great? My guess is the movement in the animation, and the all together imaginativeness of the stories. He is a master of creating unique, intriguing characters. I mean, just take a look at the Bus-cat thing:

my_neighbor_totoro[h264.vorbis][niizk].mkv_004985485

This Bus-Cat looked so fucking comfortable.

Not only are his characters brilliant, but he stories are so easy to follow, and flow so smoothly, that it’s incredibly easy to get, dare I say, spirited away into one of his movies. Although, I will admit, there was one point in the movie where I almost fell asleep:

my_neighbor_totoro[h264.vorbis][niizk].mkv_002090131

This looks 20000 times more comfortable then anything ever, except maybe the Bus-Cat.

Miyazaki is the best director ever. I can’t believe I put off seeing this movie for years because it “looked dumb.” Never doubt Miyazaki. Let me say it one more time. Miyazaki.

Here is my revised Top Ten Anime Movies:

  1. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
  2. Howl’s Moving Castle
  3. Akira
  4. Steamboy
  5. Princess Mononoke
  6. Spirited Away
  7. My Neighbor Totoro
  8. Kiki’s Delivery Service
  9. The Cat Returns
  10. Perfect Blue

That was incredibly hard, as I didn’t know whether I should put this movie above Spirited Away or below. Obviously I chose the latter, but definitely a

FINAL GRADE = 5^^

Anyone know any Miyazaki films that aren’t on that list? or any other good anime movies?

8 thoughts on “My Neighbor Totoro

  1. Anyone know any Miyazaki films that aren’t on that list? or any other good anime movies?

    Castle in the Sky? It’s pretty good.

    • I’ve seen that. It was pretty good, but something about it was off, I don’t know what. I found a couple movies I’m going to watch, but truthfully, I’m running out of films. There’s only one more Miyazaki film (Porco Rosso) that I haven’t seen (although I haven’t seen that Ponyo movie either, obviously).

      I heard Tokyo Godfathers was good, so I’ll probably check that out.

  2. While on the topic of recommending great anime films:
    1) Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind
    2) Macross: Do You Remember Love
    3) Rurouni Kenshin: Tsuiokuhen (Trust and Betrayal)
    4) End of Evangelion (kinda need to watch the TV series first)
    5) Wings of Honneamise (I actually need to see this one myself)
    6) Revolutionary Girl Utena Movie (your mileage may vary)

    • OK, so I looked at your list, and I guess I said some films you’ve already seen, but seeing Ninja Scroll and DBZ films rated higher than Nausicaa seriously makes me OTL. Really dude? Maybe you actually saw the terrible Warriors of the Wind “adaption” and you didn’t know it?

      • I didn’t like Nausicaa, I just didn’t like it for whatever reason, I can’t put my finger on it. Ninja Scroll was also good, but something about the plot seemed too generic and easy. I think it will make a good live action adaptation when they make it.

  3. Hmm, my sugestions would be Paprika(2006) and Sword of the Stranger(2007). They might not break your top 10 list, but you’ll enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

