Jigoku Shoujo: Futakomori: Yay! I’m Finally Done!

Holy mother of God! It may have took a year or so to actually complete this anime, but I did it!

Jigoku Shoujo: Futakomori

Will Enma Ai be in my coolest character countdown? Probably, but where?

So by now, you should know that Jigoku Shoujo is basically about a website where you can type in someone’s name, and then send that person to hell. Of course, in return, you also agree to go to hell after your life ends.

Each episode tells a different tale of revenge, and usually incorporates a new twist on how this revenge is carried out. I’ll be honest, after a while I got a bit bored. then today, about a year after my last episode (which was episode 15) I decided to watch another episode, and then consequently finished the series. I breezed through it. The last 6 or so episodes were especially awesome. So awesome, in fact, that I have decided that I want to watch the next season, and will do so as soon as the torrent finishes downloading.

so what made the end so good? Well, first of all, the story always get’s better at the end, because it becomes more continuous. I thought that the continuous plot in this season was better than in the first, especially when everyone in the town kind of went mad. That was just pure awesomeness. Let’s see, what else can I say?

Officially the coolest characters ever voiced by Mamiko Noto.

Enma Ai is one of the coolest characters ever. I mean, she doesn’t have much to say, but….well……she sends people to hell and has red eyes. She’s fucking cool. I don’t have much to say, other then the 2nd season, despite taking so long for me to finish, gets a

FINAL GRADE = 5*

Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea: 5^^

5^^ = My Highest Grade

So the other day (yesterday) I saw a trailer for Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea. I guess it’s coming out in America soon, which is the only reason why I haven’t seen it yet. Err…..hold on…let me backtrack.

I am odd with anime. Obviously I prefer the subbed versions of anime, because let’s face it, dubbed versions usually suck (there are some exceptions. One Piece is not one of these exceptions). That being said, when it comes to animated films, I almost always refuse to watch anything other than dubbed versions. Why am I like this? I don’t know. Maybe it makes the movies seem different and separate from anime series. It’s more special or something. I don’t know. But anyway, so I saw the trailer for Ponyo. at first I was like, “Oh sweet, I can see this in a few months now that it’s been dubbed.” Then I heard the voices and decided that I will never ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever watch this movie dubbed. I mean, a fuckin jonas brother was voicing the main male character. I hate the jonas brothers, and I hate anyone who likes them. If you like the jonas brother, you should find a knife and casually take a walk into said knife. The jonas brothers suck. I mean, I don’t even capitalize the “j” in their name out of spite. Fuck proper nouns. Anyway on to the movie.

That’s right, I just gave you the fuckin trailer. When I do that, you know that the movie was either really good or really bad. It was made by Hayao Miyazaki, so it obviously was really fucking outstanding.

Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea is a story about a “goldfish” named Ponyo (they call her a goldfish even though she clearly isn’t one). So one day, Ponyo runs away from her father, who lives underwater. She then is found by a little boy named Sousuke, who immediately becomes obsessed with her, and tells her that he will always protect her. He soon learns that Ponyo has certain magical qualities, like her great dick sucking skills, and likes her even more. However, Ponyo’s father, who has a dislike for humans, naturally doesn’t want Ponyo to be with them.

That’s just a brief introductory summary. I don’t suggest looking up the plot on wikipedia, because it tells the entire movie.

A Few Good Points


1. Hayao Miyazaki

If I could keep one person alive forever, then it would be Hayao Miyazaki. He’s easily my favorite director. Hands down. He’s better than Quentin Tarantino, who held this spot for years. Can somebody please tell me how all of Miyazaki’s movies are always good always? I don’t get it. Every movie he’s ever made is pure gold, despite the fact that they usually aren’t really about much. A lot of times there isn’t really a “bad guy” or any type of antagonist, yet their among the best films ever made (this isn’t my opinion, this is fact). Here’s a list of all of the Miyazaki movies that I’ve seen, and the correlating grade:

  • Spirited Away – FUCKING GOLD
  • Princess Mononoke – FUCKING GOLD
  • Howl’s Moving Castle – FUCKING GOLD
  • Kiki’s Delivery Service – DAMN GOOD
  • Castle in the Sky – DAMN GOOD
  • Narcissa of the Valley of the Wind – I didn’t like this one
  • My Neighbor Totoro -FUCKING GOLD
  • Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea – FUCKING GOLD

I realize of course that these are not all of his films, but if I watch them all, then I won’t have anymore to watch, so I go slowly (I might end up watching the rest of them this week though).

2. The Animation

You know what I really loved? No CGI. None. Not one bit. I am not a fan of CGI at all. it sucks and I hate it. The animation was absolutely stellar in this film. In fact, I’ll go as far to say that this could be the best animation that I have ever seen ever. I mean, just look at it:

Amazing.

Okay, so the movie isn’t really animated like this. The only time that it’s like this is for the opening credits. Here’s a real example of the animation:

Not impressed?

You really won’t be too impressed with the above picture until you see the scene. After this scene was over, I realized that my face was almost pressed against the screen. Someone could have busted into my room with a loaded shotgun and I wouldn’t have known, because I was so captivated by this animation. Let me further elaborate.

Miyazaki is the best. We all know this to be fact by now. But a lot of this movie was drawn in underwater scenes, and as you know, life underwater is a lot different from life above water. One good example of this is hair. Above water, your hair stays. Maybe it blows in the wind or something, but for the most part, it stays. Below water, it does not stay. It sways and moves, and Miyazaki captures this perfectly. Another thing he does well is the general movement of water, such as the fish in the above scene. The fish are made out of water, and the crash and break and form again from the water, while  Ponyo jumps from one to the other. Oh yea, I forgot to mention that Ponyo wants to be a human, that’s kind of important. This was amazing.

I could go on and on with this movie, but I’m going to stop here. Go watch it now, and be blown away. I might re-watch Spirited Away right now, because that movie is so damn good that I might crap my pants.