Tenchi Muyo: Second Impressions

I first saw Tenchi Muyo way back in middle school. I saw a few random episodes, but I had no clue what was going on. All I knew was that one of the characters was awesome as all hell:

Ryoko Rules

Ryoko is probably one of the coolest characters ever in history. I don’t know why, that’s just how it is. So now I find myself debating whether to watch this series dubbed or subbed. I like Ryoko’s voice dubbed but everyone else’s voices (especially Tenchi’s) are incredibly annoying. So why do I think that Ryoko is awesome?

  • She looks cool (and will be seen on a certain list that I am still making)
  • She has a personality that I can’t really define. I mean, she’s not a tsundere, but she is kind of a bitch. She’s like a sarcastic bitch that doesn’t give a shit and just does whatever. Sort of. She’s a unique character.
  • She likes beer.
  • She;s a pirate. You know who else is a pirate? Revy from Black Lagoon. She is also awesome. Pirates rule.

Well, that’s about all I have to say. As far as the anime, it seems like it’s going to be a typical harem with a bunch of girls living with one dude. I haven’t really watched a harem in a long ass time (Asu no Yoichi was fucking awesome).

Ryoko is awesome

3 thoughts on “Tenchi Muyo: Second Impressions

  1. Tenchi is one of those series that will always be special for me, though I prefer Tenchi TV/Tenchi Universe to the Muyo! OAVs. And yes, Ryoko is kind of awesome. I do enjoy her dub voice a lot and would consider it one of the best for its time — the rest of the cast was pretty good too, honestly. I mean, Ayeka was annoying as fuck, but it suits her. Sasami was cute? Kiyone and Mihoshi were appropriate enough as well. Tenchi was kind of lame, but his role in the OAV and first TV series aren’t terribly interesting anyway, and his VA’s acting in Tenchi in Tokyo was actually fairly impressive. The sub Ryoko is fun too though, but that could just be because I’m a fan of Ai Orikasa. :3

  2. @ TJ: I’m glad to see that I’m not alone.

    @ Kiri: I’m currently watching the Tenchi Universe series. Is that the right one to start with? I’m watching mainly subbed, although occasionally I will throw on an episode dubbed.

Leave a Reply

