Avatar.

NOTE: GO SEE THIS MOVIE IN THEATERS NOW. IT DOESN’T MATTER HOW MUCH YOU PAY, IT’S WORTH IT.

One could say that Avatar was amazing. One could say it was brilliant. One could say that Avatar was phenomenal. One could say these things, but if they did, then they would be undervaluing, under-appreciating, and underestimating this movie entirely. Here is the trailer, which pales in comparison in every way possible to the movie.

The fact is, you absolutely MUST see Avatar in theaters at LEAST once. It’s worth the money to go out and get the cinema experience, especially 3-D. Avatar, aside from being one of the greatest cinema feats ever, was on such a different level of other movies and films, that I don’t see anything better coming along within the rest of my lifetime, not just in movies, but in music, picture, anime, anything. This movie is jolted to the top of my list, and is the most astounding thing I have ever witnessed.

Whoa, hold on there. I shouldn’t jump the gun on this. Am I really saying that this movie, which I was blown away by only about 30 minutes ago, is better than Pulp Fiction? Hmm, I’m going to need a few days to think about that, but I will say this:

Remember that movie called The Dark Knight? It was pretty damn good, right? I mean, Heath Ledger as the Joker? All around a great movie. I know, because I saw it in theaters three times. Well Avatar makes me want to throw out my DVD copy of the Dark Knight, because Avatar makes The Dark Knight look like a piece of shit movie. Here’s a graph between the two:

You know what? Why am I picking on The Dark Knight? (that’s because both films were long, as Avatar is 2.7 hours long) but neither actually seemed long….if I could, I would’ve had Avatar be 12 hours long). Let’s take a look at my whole list of top ten movies:


Pulp Fiction
Fight Club
The Matrix
Kill Bill Vol 1 + 2
Caddyshack
Snatch
The Dark Knight
Wall-E
Lucky Number Slevin
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

.      .      .      .      .      .      .

Really? That’s my list? Seems kind of shitty to me. In fact every single movie seems like crap, after what I just witnessed. Wall-E? A great movie, definitely deserving of the list, but honestly Avatar kills it. Fight Club? It was pretty awesome, but there is more bad-ass-ness, and more greatness in Avatar. Pulp Fiction? The only one I’m on the fence about. I’ve got to be honest though, I’m thinking of making Avatar my entire top ten list. It’s in a different league. and here’s why:

Special Effects

Really? That’s your first topic? So it looks flashy, that doesn’t mean it’s story is necessarily any good.

Umm, yes it does. The special effects are INSANE and UN-REAL. If you watch the HBO preview, you can get a good idea of just how much work, effort, research, planning, and technological…..well…genius went into making this film. They created a new species, and I’m not just talking about character design, they created a culture, a social structure, fuck, they even created a new language for this species. It was amazing. Oh wait, I was talking about special effects. Well, I have never seen a 3-D movie, and I honestly felt like I was going to throw up during the previews, but about a minute into the movie, you adjust, and suddenly everything is really really really really really really awesome. At one point I thought that there were flies in front of me (the moron next to me was swatting at them). At one point, when a character jumped off a cliff, I held my breath, because I felt like I was jumping off a cliff. I felt IN THE MOVIE. And from an argumentative perspective, allowing one to be in the movie gives them a better connection with the characters, mainly that of the Na’vi (tall blue natives), and their planet, which is ten million times better than Earth, because of it’s incredible species (which looked outstanding) and it’s incredible wild life (especially at night, I was literally in awe). Ughhh, I want to live there.

The Cast

Probably one of the better casts. It had no weaknesses. Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Sigourney Weaver, Stephan Lang…..even Joel Moore (JP from Grandma’s Boy) managed to pull in great performances. I was particularly impressed with Sigourney Weaver, who proved that she’s still got it. The acting was just phenomenal all around.

Anyway…

I could talk about Avatar more. I could talk about is incredible development of character (especially the main character), the intense scenes, the epic (literally EPIC) battle scene at the end. The similarities to anime (such as was done by Canne, personally, I see it more as Princess Mononoke). I could talk about the plot, which even though wasn’t the most imaginative plot, was still a FANTASTIC story, and was written very, very well. Most of all, I could talk about the absolutely AMAZING and BRILLIANT directing by James Cameron, who, in my opinion, made his greatest film ever in this aspect. I could talk about these things 16 times each and it wouldn’t be enough. Bottomline is, it was worth 14 dollars, heck, it would be worth 25 dollars, and I want to see this again right now. Literally, I’m going to go every chance I get. I am DEFINITELY going to see it again. The movie experience for this film is a MUST.

You know what, the more I think about it, the closer Avatar becomes to Princess Mononoke. Both have a sacred forest (or deal with the sacredness of the forest, and life in general). Both have a guardian, or God spirit. Both have a common enemy trying to destroy or cultivate the forest. Both have a character that sees both sides of the argument. They’re both awesome movies, although Avatar is ten million times better, and I’m pretty much one of the biggest Miyazaki fans out there.