Umineko no Naku Koro ni: Guess What? It Kicked Ass

Okay, I wasn’t going to write a post on this, since this series ended a while ago, but dear God, when I get my teeth knocked in, I really can’t stay silent.

Umineko no Naku Koro ni

I’m not going to bother getting into explaining or reviewing this show in detail. That would take just under 4 years to completely type up. On a quick side note, why is it that I always write the title twice in my reviews? I mean, I have the actual title, which is the main big one at the very top of the page, and then I always write another one, and then put a picture under it? Am I retarded? Probably, but I’m really starting to ramble, so back to this awesomeness that I just watched.

Umineko no Naku Koro ni is pretty much about a family. This family is loaded, because the grandfather is loaded. This family goes to see said old dude on an island, and eventually gets stuck there with no communication to the outside world, due to a typhoon. People start dying in very bloody ways (boo-yah!). A witch appears. Gold is  involved somehow.

That was a very vague overview. If you’re fine with that, then skip through this post until I tell you that there are no more spoilers (I’ll make it obvious. If you want more insight, keep reading this post, which will have SPOILERS.

So basically, everything is the doing of this witch, Beatrice, who needs to sacrifice x amount of people in order to be revived. So she goes about sacrificing these people, and somehow, in the end, Battler (one of the family members) decides that she isn’t a witch. Thus begins a game, and the whole series of events (everybody dying) will keep repeating itself in different ways, until Battler accepts Beatrice to be a witch. Beatrice will kill the people in different situations, and Battler tries to explain them all with logic. It’s fucking awesome, but here are a few things that pissed me off (very slightly, and they are in order starting with the most offensive):

  • The more bloody scenes (exposed stomachs, holes in bodies, etc) were FUCKING CENSORED. WHAT THE FUCK!? I NEED THE BLOOD IT KEEPS ME SANE! (I don’t sound too crazy saying that do I?)
  • Battler effectively quit about 3 times, and then “regained his will to fight”. I thought it was, “once you quit, you’ve quit”………This isn’t Mario, Battler….you can’t just come back after you die. And you don’t have flower power either…..asshole.
  • THE BLOOD WAS FUCKING CENS- Oh wait I already covered this.
  • I have to WAIT for another season for all of the riddles to be solved…….SON OF A CUNT!
  • I have no more fingernails, because I bit them all off. That’s not good for your enamel.

Okay, so it's not like it's the studio's fault for the censorship. It's just like in America, some things have to be censored.....therefore, I blame Japan for being pussies.

Those are the only 3.14 things that pissed me off. Here are some things that I liked about it:

  • It did have blood….and very cruel deaths. AWESOME!
  • SUSPENSE. I couldn’t stop. Honestly marathoned the hole thing (besides the first 5 episodes)  in one sitting. It’s 26 episodes long. Give me a medal.
  • The characters were great and awesome. Jessica carries brass knuckles around…..that’s just one example.
  • Beatrice’s tricks and treats! Not to mention her rack! (whistles, cat calls in background, mist comes, slave dies in corner)
  • Awesome ideas of logic.
  • The addition of characters throughout the show was never at any point too great or too little. They added the characters steadily and as needed, and they were all awesome.
  • The great way that everything became revealed, and the huge cliffhanger at the end (I hate it now but I guarantee I’ll love it when a new season comes out, which it will, or else I’ll pull an Umineko on Japan (without the magic, witches, typhoon…..well let’s be honest, I’m not going to do shit but whine for a day or two…..to myself).
  • Dude, ummm psychoticness?
  • Last but not least, several examples of, The BAM.

SPOILERS HAVE ENDED! SO…..yea.

By this point, if you can’t tell, I really fucking liked this show. It was fucking awesome and everything I knew it could be. Personally, I’m glad I waited before I WATCHED nearly the ENTIRE SERIES IN ONE SITTING, because it just made it all that much better. Was it as good as Higurashi? Personally, I think it’s unfair to compare the two. As B-R said, nothing really stands up to Higurashi (people actually went crazy in that one and killed each other, this one was just a witch killing everyone). But still, I give it a

FINAL GRADE = 5^^

Bill was a sacrifice by the first twilight.

SUGGESTION: Wait for the DVD release so that you can watch it uncensored…..it might already be out, although I don’t think it is….but it might be (google it or something).

If you’ve been following my twitter, I’ll let you know that this is not the post that I was talking about when I said that I wrote a post that I felt proud of. Chances are, you will all hate it, but never the less, I will put it up tomorrow probably.

23 thoughts on “Umineko no Naku Koro ni: Guess What? It Kicked Ass

  1. I wish I marathoned Umineko. A lot of the murder details weren’t fresh in my mind when they were referenced later in the show.

    Umineko was awesome. To everyone who complained that it didn’t make sense: fuck you, it’s a mystery, it’s not supposed to be handed to you on a silver platter. To everyone who complains it’s not as good as the visual novel: fuck you, you’re probably right, but even a poorly made Umineko is still a thousand times better than your average anime.

  2. Baka-R said I should wait for the second season and complete Umineko in one sitting. But after reading yours, I don’t think I should listen to Baka-R and get the DVD for this.

    • @klux: I guess it’s fine to watch Season 1 now, but you’ll probably want to watch it again before watching Season 2. I know I will.

      @Glo: On an unrelated note, I don’t see Berserk on your list. Give it a watch. I recommended it to OBALLER as well.

    • i would wait for season two. I kind of wish I did, because now I’m giddy as a schoolgirl for the next season. I probably will end up rewatching it before the second season as well (this time, uncensored).

      @ Baka-Raptor: Yes to everything you said, and I have had it in my mind that I need to watch Berserk, but before i start it, I want to finish all of my straggler anime that I’m almost done with but not quite done with. There’s about 4 of them….two of which will most likely be done tonight.

  3. I wondered if Umineko would be one of those shows that would be better marathoned, just because there’s so many details.

    lol @ Beatrice’s rack. Beatrice was the best character of 2009 as far as I’m concerned.

    • Beatrice was awesome, and I still think that she’s got feelings for Battler, I’ve thought that the whole time….either that, or Battler is like….her son or some shit like that…..there’s something going on there though.

    • It is, there’s going to be another season, they explained maybe half of the shit…..well…they explained all of the shit, but ended it with a cliffhanger sort of. I can’t fucking wait.

  4. It’s good to see people who think that Umineko wasn’t bad. I’m not saying it was perfect. DEEN pulled a bunch of crap but nevertheless it was great. It was a very enjoyable and gripping show. A great number of people are just complaining because they didn’t understand a show about mysteries. Oh, I still fucking hated the censorship though.

    @ On the next arcs revealing things. The creator said that unlike Higurashi KAI he wasn’t planning on giving clear answers to the first 4 questions arcs. When they Cry 4 (Umineko Chiru) is going to provide more hints and some truths to past arcs but the mysteries will not be solved. So we won’t know who is behind the killings even then.

    EP6 of the sound novel, the game, just came out about a few weeks and something ago. They need to at least release two more EPs for a studio to even think of making another season so it’ll take a while until we get another season.

    “Bill was a sacrifice by the first twilight.”
    Bill. Nooooooooooo!

  5. I hated whenever Battler winded up quitting. >_>

    That’s the only thing i didn’t like about the guy. Sure, i can understand why, but 3 freakin’ times? Shessh.

    Other than that, Battler is one of my favorite characters along with Beatrice. And no, I don’t think Beato is Battler’s mom. 😐
    For one, the human version of her died in 1967 as stated in red By Ronove. Battler’s 18 years old in 1986. TIME PARADOX.

    Also, Ronove was also Awesome.

    and OMG KYRIE. She’s mah favorite of the Milfs. Ya know, since this show seems to have a thing for MILFs.

    • I highly doubt that Beatrice is Battler’s mom, but you never know….I mean….magic.

      Milfs all over the place. I like the one with the short, silver hair most. I don’t know what her name was though (I think that might be Kyrie but I’m not sure).

  6. Sup Glo 🙂 Been a while. Been super busy, and haven’t really been able to comment on anyone’s site these days. I haven’t really seen Umineko yet…was gonnnna get the boxset from amazon for my girlfriend’s sister, but didn’t 😦 I’ll have to see it soon.

  7. @ Ari: Well he obviously becomes a wizard. I think they might end up doing OVAs or something like that, which might end up being the best. They’re not not going to animate the rest of it.

    @ FaS: Get it. That way it will be nice and uncensored and bloody, which is how it should be.

  8. i love umineko. plus i have the visual novels (4 out of 8 episodes, that is this first season entirely). but dindtn played then beyong capter 1 coz they are fuking long. (so there is no wonder is fucking dificult to adapt it to anime without shreding it completly) the fate/stay nigth visual novel vs anime suffers from this also.

      • the novel by the way, is marketed by the creator as a ‘sound novel’ becoz of the backtracs in there, and i suppose the fact than the draws are really shity to be even taken in consideration. the PS3 version does have anime-grade draws.

        also make a google serch of ‘umineko motion graphics’ youtube videos with fan-made (by some doujinshi japanesse team) supreme quality draws will pot out.

Leave a Reply

