Manga Monday: Yakuza Girl

Two words that go perfectly together. Yakuza and Girl. You just know there’s going to be a bad ass girl in this. Needless to say, after seeing the title page of a girl wielding a samurai sword, I knew I was going to like this manga.

Yakuza Girl

First of all, here is some background of what the story is. I could write my own thing, but I’m too lazy, so I’ll copy and paste it from somewhere:

Senguu Fumihiro is a young boy that made a promise to his dying grandmother to find a good wife for himself. With this intention he enrolls in a prestigious school but on the first day his world turns upside down when all the students begin to kill each other and one of them even turns into a monster. He is saved by a girl named “Akari”, sent to protect him by one of the factions that rule the school.

Wow, that was much easier than writing it all out. Anyway, here is my review (spoilers, obviously [hence, “review”])

Review

This was a good manga (good enough to write about anyway), but honestly, I was kind of confused by the whole airplane shit. Apparently someone froze the Enola Gay before it dropped the bomb or something, and had to keep it frozen, or else the world would be destroyed. I honestly still am not sure what the fuck it was all about. But the story started out pretty awesome. Bloody, death, some comedy……it was pretty good. Then we get powers, and all sort of Enola Gay shit, and everything got jumbled. But still. I was able to stay with it enough to enjoy it. You wanna know what I didn’t like (but actually kind of did like)? The final frame:

Honestly, how can you end a story like this? Who is this person? Reiko? Just a random slut? WHAT THE HELL!? Did Senguu and Akari go back in time (I still don’t know how they went from modern Japan to WWII Japan)? Could this be Senguu’s grandmother? WHAT……THE…….FUCK!?

FINAL GRADE = 5

With this, I have finally completed 10 manga. Whoopie-dee-doo.

UPDATE: 11 now. Also, XBlade chapter 23 came out….time to read it.

22 thoughts on “Manga Monday: Yakuza Girl

  1. This actually looks really interesting. Thanks for the review. I am off to find this now.
    And Yakuza and girl are definitely awesome together.

  2. Aw, I remember reading this many moons past. It was so BS, but I still liked the ending. Especially the part where they said they hated one another but their zits/pores-thing was speaking their true feelings. Liked it up until that last page, anyways.

    And srsly, I just remember them having some pore like thing that spoke :/ I basically turned my brain off while reading it after he started sucking boobs and such. Oh, and their giant space cruiser thing had several boobs too, if I remember correctly? Good stuff.

    • hahahahhaa yea the space thing had tits! i just ignored that completely, and treated it as if it never existed. i kind of did the same thing with the talking mole thing on the dudes face. just ignored it. the more i think about it, the crappier this was, but in kind of a good way.

  3. I read this and got the same reaction to the ending.

    11! You’re almost caught up to me who’s currently reading a hundred or two.
    I like manga more than anime.

    • That’s why i read it, it was completed. a completed series is all i read from now on. I mean, I hate having to wait for new chapters. Example: Mysterious Girlfriend X. Awesome manga. Caught up in about 1 day. Don’t like waiting.

  4. I will have to check it out as it sounds interesting (minus Enola Gay – WTF). Want something more humorous, check out Ninja Girls. I need to do a review on this one myself.

Leave a Reply

