Love Hina: Manga Review of Anger and a Bunch of Other Shit

Love Hina the anime was great. I loved it. For a time, I had it in my top ten (this was wayyy back in the day). Then, months back, I decided that I was going to read the manga. It was something that I always wanted to do, but always kept putting off or forgetting to do until I picked up Mahou Sensei Negima (manga), which threw me directly into Ken Akamatsu mode. Now, I have finally finished the arduous task of completing said manga. Compared to something like InuYasha or Gantz, which I breezed through in about a week for each despite their long lengths of 500+ and at the time 200+ chapters respectively, Love Hina was only 123 chapters. I read about 10 chapters a day, if any, and it took me a lot longer to complete than I originally thought (I had started off the manga by reading a shitload of chapters, and loved it).

Best Character

So what? Did I hate Love Hina? Not at all. In fact, overall, I thought it was great. Ken Akamatsu adds some great plot changes and story arcs, and what’s more, he knows how to mix comedy and characters into a story to keep it engaging. But the last 20 or so chapters were complete bullshit.

If I were Keitarou, I probably would have killed every fucking bitch at Hinata Inn. I mean, what a bunch of selfish whores. Seriously. They all tried to capture him, and then Naru and then him and it just turned into a huge clusterfuck of shit. Everyone was fighting each other for no fucking reason, and then out of no where they decided that they have to save Naru (whom they captured in the first place) and help Keitarou. MAKE UP YOUR MINDS YOU WHORES!!!

Then he throws in some shit from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, and expects me to forgive him (seriously, he puts them in a crazy out of control cart in the middle of some ruins and they even have to stop it with their feet). I may love that fucking movie, but I’m sorry Ken, the last 20 chapters of this manga were pointless, stupid, and COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY AS HE AND NARU HAVE ALREADY HOOKED UP AND CONFESSED TO EACH OTHER.

To use an analogy, let me compare Love Hina to the life cycle of a waterfall:

Love Hina was like a cascading waterfall. As it matriculated, a rainbow was cast across the land of readers. This rainbow echoed the heart and soul of the manga. The colors themselves were not unlike the chapters of the manga. The reds, the blues, the greens. They all were different, but they all made the rainbow whole, and beautiful. And then, at the very end, where the cascading water and the rainbow meet the earth, was a BUNCH OF FUCKING SHIT!!!!

Yes, I just watched some Lewis Black standup.

Chapter 114 was especially shitty. As the rest of the girls from the Inn, who were previously battling each other to the death to literally capture Keitarou’s cock and claim it as their own, suddenly appear for no reason and tell Keitarou to choose one of them (mind you he and Naru love each other and have made this clear). They then forcefully close Naru’s eyes, and then tell him to choose Naru. He does, and then he and Naru go on their marry way. Tell me, because I am confused….WHAT THE FUCK WAS THE FUCKING POINT OF THAT!!!??????

Ken Akamatsu is great, but FUCK. He LOVES TO REPEAT HIMSELF OVER AND OVER AND OVER in a given story, which seems to be a common danger in long running manga and or maybe also simliar anime.

Still, I thought it was a very good manga so I give it a

FINAL GRADE = 5*

based on enjoyability alone. It occupied my time and I always was anticipating reading it.

For the record, I was really harsh in this “review”. Honestly the last few chapters were pretty good I guess. Not really though.

10 thoughts on “Love Hina: Manga Review of Anger and a Bunch of Other Shit

  1. Love Hina was like a cascading waterfall. As it matriculated, a rainbow was cast across the land of readers. This rainbow echoed the heart and soul of the manga. The colors themselves were not unlike the chapters of the manga. The reds, the blues, the greens. They all were different, but they all made the rainbow whole, and beautiful. And then, at the very end, where the cascading water and the rainbow meet the earth, was a BUNCH OF FUCKING SHIT!!!!

    Lol loved where you went with that hahaha. Love Hina was an enjoyable manga, but not super great. It was more about the comedy than the romance, so it was lacking impact.

    • Yea, I don’t really know how I feel even now. I definitely enjoyed reading it day after day, but looking back, the content could have been a bit better. I think a few things could have been shorten and cut, and that would have made it stronger.

  2. This is why I like Asu no Yoichi better. But nooooooooo, Love Hina is the gold standard for Harem anime and suggesting anything to the contrary gets you burned at the stake.

  3. I’ve tried a couple of chapter. Dropped it. Then I thought I gave the anime a try. Not working out either. I realized then that I can never be a fan of Ken.

  4. Agreed with kluxorious. I haven’t read the manga though; only tried the anime. It was my first exposure to harem, and since then, the genre has always sucked for me.

    • I thought the anime might have actually been better than the manga, mainly because they just stopped Love Hina Again at the clock tower, where as in the manga, they did the whole clock tower arc, and then went on to do a bunch of random, pointless bullshit arcs with only some interesting content.

  5. Pingback: Love Hina: Manga Review of Anger and a Bunch of Other Shit « Eye Sedso | Mahou Sensei Negima!

  6. Pingback: Love Hina: Manga Review of Anger and a Bunch of Other Shit « Eye Sedso | Love Hina

Leave a Reply

