One Manga……None Manga

Well, manga companies apparently don’t want me reading their shit. I mean, only a few manga are liscenced in the US, and none of them are any good. All of the good manga stay in Japan, untranslated except by those select fans with great abilities. So how the fuck am I supposed to go about reading these manga? Eh? HOW? WHAT THE FUCK EH???? FUCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This sucks. God damn sucks. If they’re finally cracking down on sites like One Manga, then what am I supposed to do? The only real option is to stop reading manga altogether. I mean, I can buy what is availible, but that’s not much besides what I see at Borders Books, which in my case would be shit like Bleach, Naruto, and Fruits Fucking Basket of shit. Not knocking Bleach or Naruto (am knocking Fruits Basket), but there’s a shitload of other manga that I want to read that they don’t have anywhere I can find. I mean, I suppose I could order manga online, which would give me a much broader selection, but that’s just gay. Here’s a list of current manga I am currently reading or an currently about to start reading currently in a current kind of current way:

+Anima – 12
Abara – 10
Addicted to Curry –
Akumetsu –
Apple – 26
Ayu Mayu – 10
B Reaction –
Baka and Boing – 22
Basilisk –
Candy Boy –
Choku! – 5
Claymore – 88
Dogs –
DMC – 81
Dragon Ball – vol 5 ch 7 (70)
Franken Fran – 36
Fullmetal Alchemist – 48
Gantz – 304
Girls Saurus Manga DX – 1
Hajimete no Aku – 12
Happy World –
Hellsing – 19
Iono the Fanatics – 1
Inu Neko Jump – 4
Katte ni Kaizou – 27
KissxSis – 38
Koe de Oshigoto! – 3
Kokaku Detective Story (Red Hot Chilie Samurai) –
Kyokai no RINNE – 16 > 19 46
Let’s Lagoon – 9
LIMIT –
Lovely Banchou –
The Lucifer And Biscuit Hammer – 21
Lucu Lucu – 26
Mahou Sensei Negima! – volume 18
Maken X –
Mysterious Girlfriend X – 44
Otaku no Musume – 6
Psyren – 10
Sankarea – 7
Shaman King Kang-Zeng-Bang – 2
SWWEEET – 9
The World God Only Knows – 16
to-LOVE-ru – 17
Ultimate!! Hentai Kamen – 28
Urusei Yatsura – 126
Until Death Do Us Part – 16
The World God Only Knows – 17
XBlade – 27
Yuri Hime Wildrose – 4-3
Future Diary –
Shoujo Sect. –
B Gata H Kei –
GODEATH – Megami no Ketsumyaku
Alive ~Evolutionary Boy~
Lament of the Lamb (Hitsuji no Uta) –
Angel Sactuary –

Where the fuck can I find all of that shit? Mysterious Girlfriend X? I haven’t read that shit in a while to be honest, and now I probably never will again. Not at Borders…and anyway, that’s a shit-ton of money I’d have to spend. I’m a broke asshole who needs money for more important things (like skydiving and a new XBox). And what if this is just the start? What if other providers of online manga viewing pleasure follow suit and close down? I’ll be completely cut off from manga entirely! And then what if the same thing happens to streaming anime sites? I’m fucked. No more anime, no more manga, no more Eye Sedso. I’d pretty much have to actually get a life, and ladies and gentlemen, I don’t want that, and neither do you.

Honestly, I would be fine if they could make One Manga a pay site or something….you know, something like 10$ a month? I would gladly do that. Maybe even 20$ a month (probably not). But shit…

I do still have a glimer of seemingly hopeless hope from the above statement which says:

“So what next? We’re no really sure at this point, but we have some ideas…

Ideas you say? I don’t have a clue what those could be, but for now, I wish the best to the creators of One Manga, which has always been my personal favorite site for manga, and will probably never be replaced by anything ever. Thanks for the manga, and good luck with whatever you’re ideas turn out to be.

Extra-Extra

What about 1000 Manga? Is that going to be shot down too?

41 thoughts on “One Manga……None Manga

  1. “So what next? We’re no really sure at this point, but we have some ideas…“

    I am pretty sure what they are going to do next…one manga = own manga!

    They could get doujinshi artists and post their stuff in there…I could do it as I like to draw my own manga… 🙂

  2. I feel you. It feels like I have to rush reading all these manga before they disappear. Problem is, I don’t have the fucking time!

    Gah, I wish all the best for onemanga. But I don’t want to see the last of them yet. Hopefully 1000manga will not be affected.

    Now what am I supposed to do? Depends on mangafox?

  3. I see someone’s been racking up quite a few series. Even if you’re behind on most of them.

    Anyway, when the site does go down, you can use MangaToshokan or (groan) Mangafox. Preferably the former.

  4. You can just buy:

    Angel Sanctuary
    Claymore
    Dogs
    DMC
    Future Diary
    Gantz
    Hellsing
    Negima

    and probably others on Amazon or rightstuf.

    • Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

      Translators sites are fine, but the size is always too small to read when I download them, and I have to scroll in to read every single page! Not to mention, I will almost never find new manga now. One Manga led me from one manga to the next.

  5. Sad to see this since I started my manga-reading habit at OneManga. They went down because they are the biggest target, but hopefully there’ll be alternatives.

  6. I’ve never really used any of the online manga reader sites like onemanga since I prefer to download from the scanlators themselves. Tis still sad to see it going this way though.

    There definitely needs to be a manga version of Crunchyroll – I’d pay a subscribtion fee if it meant getting things legally. I do but a lot of manga (importing the majority from the US due to fuck all getting licensed in the UK & Ireland) but not nearly enough series are licensed!

    • I think Open Manga is going to be that, although I’m not sure.

      I could download I guess, Franky House and some other scan group do a lot of things I like to read, so I’m set for a fair amount of manga.

  7. Yeah…mangahelpers took all of their manga down, now this…mangafox is doomed. I’ve started subscribing to translators’ blogs, but who knows if they’ll even live indefinitely either…saaa.

    • That’s what I’ve been doing. I created a folder in my bookmarks storing every scanlator that does anything I read. I’m prepared at least, I’ve found several other manga reader sites though, that are not bad at all.

  8. Just use mangatraders.com. You need to make an account but it has almost all manga that’s available in English.

    You’ve said you don’t ‘download’ anime because you’ve gotten in trouble, right? I assume that was due to torrents? There’s really no difference between a direct download (file host sites, irc, ftp, etc) and streaming.

    Even if you stream something your computer is downloading the video file in the exact same way, it just deletes it afterwards. Your ISP sees the same download happening either way. Torrents are more ‘dangerous’ because anyone can see who’s downloading what and companies can make complaints/threats directly to you/your ISP.

    Use animetake.com for keeping up with the latest anime (and people upload on the forums). hsbsitez.com also has a lot older stuff, usually on megaupload.

    JDownloader (.com for the site) is a free program that lets you queue up as many MU.com, rapidshare, hotfile, mediafire, etc links as you want and it deals with all the waiting times, CAPTCHA codes and anything else by itself.

    • Really? I did not know that about streaming….I mean, I kinda did, but….

      I’ll direct download, but honestly, I prefer streaming anime now. the quality is actually pretty good, which makes it faster than waiting for a download.

      Very helpful comment. Excuse me…comments.

  9. “I mean, I suppose I could order manga online, which would give me a much broader selection, but that’s just gay.”

    Uh… what? You save shit loads of money getting manga online considering the rrp (or close) prices in book-stores. And they never stock any of the good stuff.

    “I mean, only a few manga are liscenced in the US, and none of them are any good.”

    Actually, there’s tons. I own around 300 volumes myself and if I had the money I’d have much more than that. If you want the best of the best look at the Viz Signature line which contains amazing manga like 20th Century Boys, Monster, Pluto, Vagabond, Real, Children of the Sea, Biomega, Ooku, Dogs: Bullets and Carnage, Ikigami, Saturn Apartments, Solanin and What a Wonderful World.

    Others that highly deserve to be bought include Phoenix, Eden, Twin Spica, Moyasimon, Zaregoto, Boogiepop, Skip Beat, Black Jack, Buddha, Yotsuba&!, Azumanga Daioh, Rurouni Kenshin, Akira, Megatokyo, Berserk, Eyeshield 21, Claymore, Chobits, Saikano, Mushishi, Andromeda Stories, Hikaru no Go, Genshiken, Hana Kimi and… I’m going to stop myself here. Thinking about it, your manga list kinda sucks.

  10. Yeah, I was pretty distraught too. But then I figured that there’d be plenty of other ways afterward. Like flipping burgers for a summer or two… Sigh.

  11. At least they’re not shutting down scanlation sites. You could always find where each scanlation group distribute their scanlated works and dl from there.

    It’s still kind of annoying though. Shutting those sites down doesn’t mean that we’ll start buying manga. It just means we won’t read manga.

  12. Mangafox, Mangareaders and Mangastream could also go down with One Manga.

    Hell, Mangatoshokan is already dead as far as i know… sooooooo…. >__>

  13. You can try cloudmanga.com. It’s a pretty new site so it doesn’t have as many series as onemanga did, but the number’s increasing pretty quickly. Also it has a lot of series that got axed in Mangafox, like Dengeki Daisy, Count Cain, and B gata h kei.

Leave a Reply

