Tenchi Muyo Saga Part 2: Tenchi Muyo! Ryo-Ohki!

Tenchi Muyo! Ryo-Ohki!

After I watched one minute of this series, I could already tell that it was going to be infinitely better than Tenchi Universe, not only was the animation great, but the characters, Tenchi in particular, were a LOT more interesting.

Premise: Kind of the same thing, a few differences here and there. It was a re-telling or something, the one thing is, it was split into three OVAs, each consisting of 6 episodes. I’m going to group the first 2 OVAs, which were pretty much similar in story and how things shaped up, and I’m going to talk about the third OVA separately, because it’s completely fucking different.

OVAs One and Two

All the bad things:

  • Mihoshi was in this anime. She still sucked, although I’ll admit she didn’t suck nearly as bad.
  • Where the fuck was Kiyone!? You put fucking Mihoshi in but don’t add Kiyone, who is 3404583 better than fucking Mi-ho-shi (ho as in a whore)!? BLASPHEMY. I was physically upset that Kiyone wasn’t involved in any of these OVA’s. I kept expecting her to make an appearance and she never did.

All the good things:

  • Remember the whole “Washu creating Ryoko” thing that I thought was missing from Tench Universe? Here it is baby. I knew I wasn’t crazy.
  • All of the characters are actually characters. There’s more life to them, they’re more animated, they’re more interesting…..30459 times better than the last series. Tenchi is actually involved in the story! Washu had a kid! There’s back-stories! I’m so happy!
  • Ryoko was awesome. God I’d marry her in a flash.
  • I wish I could float through walls…or even just float.
  • Ryo-Ohki had some crazy transformation shit going on…..she turned into a child somehow. That was kind of cool I guess, even though it doesn’t make much sense…..actually, it was kind of stupid, but whatever.

All the, small things:

  • True care, truth brings
  • I’ll take, one lift
  • Your ride, best trip

OVA Three

In case you can't read the subtitles, she's saying "Those people have become annoying."

This OVA, unlike the other two, was made in 2005, years and years after the first 2 OVAs, and you can clearly tell from the animation quality, and that’s one of the reasons why I separated it, the other being that it was a cluster fuck of fuck. Personally, I don’t…well….you’ll see.

All the bad things:

  • I felt like Ryoko’s ears were drawn a bit too big and a bit too pointy.
  • Shit got way fucking too crazy. All of a sudden sisters and grandparents start popping up out of nowhere, and fiancees and disguises and all sorts of crazy shit. I think they introduced 2 new characters every episode. It got a bit too crazy is all I’m saying.
  • The plot became a confusing cluster fuck of shit. It had something to do with Gods and shit and time and dimensions and I honestly didn’t get 70% of what was going on, nor do I give a shit.

All the good things:

  • There was a BAM moment FIRST EPISODE (although now, I already forgot what it was).
  • The animation was AWESOME. Quality and boom.
  • This:

Yeah, kick her! Take that bitch!

  • And This:

So the bottomline here was that I thought OVAs 1 & 2 were awesome, but the third OVA was a mindfuck of retardation. My favorite OVA was the first one, and over all, I still thought that this was WAYYYYYY better than the original series so

FINAL GRADE = 5

I’m trying to watch Tenchi in Tokyo right now, but I can’t find it in good enough quality anywhere. From the few episodes I’ve seen, it looks really really shitty. If you know where I can stream it subbed in decent quality, let me know.

18 thoughts on “Tenchi Muyo Saga Part 2: Tenchi Muyo! Ryo-Ohki!

  1. The Tenchi OVAs and to a milder degree, Tenchi Universe, got me into anime in the first place. I love them! Well, the first two…I wanna rewatch the third one to see if I like it any better.

    By the way, Kiyone isn’t part of the canon – not GXP Kiyone. If you notice in the third OVA, Kiyone is the name of Tenchi’s mother. For Tenchi Universe, they took her name and made a new character. But you were like me – you saw the TV series first and liked her character and were bummed that you didn’t see her in the OVAs.

    By the way – gonna watch the movies? Three of them, all way different from one another and in different continuities.

    • I plan on watching all of the movies at some point. Did the OVA’s really come first? I thought that the series was released in 94 and the OVAs in 96? I must be wrong.

      I plan on watching all of the movies, because Ryoko is in them. In fact, I’m watching every Tenchi anime, even the crappy Mihoshi spin offs and other shows that adaywithoutme says are related somehow. I’m doing it all.

  2. I have seen most of the original Tench Muyo series and I have to say that it was awesome,but if this new version is good as you say it is, I might just have to check this out!!!!!

    Great review BTW!!!!!!

      • Well it kinda seems new to me. Only reason why is that I have the original OVA box set from Pioneer\Geneon from 2000 in which only contains the first two OVA’s which consisted of thirteen episodes.

        I guess that I will assume that when Funimation obtained the rights to it, they also got the rights to the reamining seven episodes of the third OVA. I could be wrong on my assumption, but I may just have to pick this up and comapair it with the other one I have.

        This might be able to give me some answers.

  3. Universe was a re-telling of the OVA’s.

    I noticed someone in another comment mentioned Kiyone and her canonicity. In the generally accepted canon (e.g., the one that the Tenchi Muyo! creator agrees to), Kiyone is non-canonical. However, the episode director for episode four and five of the first OVA considers the Mihoshi special canon, making Kiyone herself canon. She also considers GXP to be canon, along with the first two movies; this is worth mentioning since the first movie is where Tenchi’s mum appears and carries the name ‘Achika’, not Kiyone, and the second movie has Kiyone in it. Granted, for the canon the second movie exists in, Kiyone being canon is kind of weird since it means she just kind of appeared at some point but never got introduced or anything.

    DON’T WATCH TENCHI IN TOKYO NOOOOOOOOOOO

    Also: Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari is actually fairly decent so far. I’ve only watched the first episode, though.

    • Well, after reading that without knowing what the word “canon” meant (or I should say forgot), I was thoroughly confused.

      After discovering that “canon” simply meant “genuine”, I re-read it, and was still slightly confused.

      Kiyone is canon in my book.

      I will watch Tenchi in Tokyo…if I can find it, which I can’t (it’s pretty bad, and if I watch it dubbed I might kill myself).

      • Well, Tenchi Muyo basically has a few competing sets of canon, and the fact that one canon had a character named Kiyone (e.g. the one you adore) and then a different canon decided to hijack that same name for Tenchi’s mother made it even more befuddling.

        Your determination to watch Tenchi in Tokyo baffles me and makes me wonder if we should have you star in the next season of MM!. Except that it’d just be you watching TiT (haha) the whole time, only pausing to drink lye or dance on rusty nails.

  4. Ah Tenchi, so nostalgic. I agree that the OVAs are a lot better than Universe and Tenchi in Tokyo. Back when I was Tenchi-obsessed in high school, I watched OVAs 1 and 2 a million times (read the manga too, which is based on the OVA storyline). Unfortunately, by the time the 3rd OVA came out, I had lost interest in Tenchi and never checked it out. I wouldn’t mind giving the OVAs another watching all these years later though 😉

    Washu was always my favorite but Ryoko is great too.

    • The third OVA wasn’t good. I’ll tell you to ignore it and pretend it doesn’t exist. Washu has a pretty big part…you might like it or hate it. Idk…..watch the fucking thing I guess.

  5. Ah I loved the 1st two Ryo-oki OVA’s back in the day – was always kind of pissed off that they just end with no closure so jumped all over the 3rd OVA when it came out…..only to RAEG when it turned out to be utter shite.

    Still 1st two OVAs were great – Ryouko and Washu are awesome any day of the week.

  6. Kiyone was a creation of Hasegawa-sensei, who polished the scripts for episodes 3 and 5 of OVA 1. Reportedly, she annoyed Kajishima-sensei, the man who created the Tenchi characters and story, when she made some minor modifications to the character of Aeka. After Hasegawa-sensei left the OVA team, she went on to publish a series of light novels telling her own Tenchi story and that is where the character of Kiyone came in.

    As to “Mihoshi Special,” that is NOT part of the canon. While Kajishima-sensei did do her character designs for AIC, he did not create the character and that is not his story. Pioneer/AIC saw the success of Hasegawa-sensei’s non-canon novels and wanted to test the waters on the anime front. “Mihoshi Special” allowed them to test both the “Tenchi Universe” concept and the “Pretty Sammy” concept.

    “Mihoshi Special” also established Kiyone as an anime character (even though Kajishima-sensei had already apparently determined that Kiyone was the name of Tenchi’s mother) and her popularity insured she appeared in many of the other non-canon spinoffs.

  7. So Hasegawa-sensei pretty much took an entire plot and character lineup that someone else made and said, “Here, this is the way it SHOULD be.” and then released it? That would piss me off if I were Kajishima. But to be real, I think that Hasegawa has it right, as I like that version of characters and story a lot more.

    • So you do like Kiyone Makibi as I do. Even though I don’t agree with everything that you posted, your interest in that Kiyone and low opinion of Mihoshi Kuramitsu are some things that you and I have in common.

      If you ask me, that Makibi gals’ the best one for Tenchi for these reasons:

      1. She’s the best looking gal in the Tenchi (Heaven and Earth) franchise.

      2. She’s the most well-behaved gal in the same franchise.

      3. Unlike the other gals in Tenchi’s life, she isn’t related to him.

      Now I’m well aware that Kiyone and Tenchi are more than one age apart. But I still believe that they’re perfect for one another, especially since they can relate to each other considering the kind of trouble they’re forced into.

      As for Kiyone’s being Tenchi’s mom, I’m not all right with that. And so, I like Achika as his mom better just as I’d like it if she never died. That way, she could get along with the number one Kiyone and accept her as her daughter-in-law.

Leave a Reply

