The Best Thing About Manga Scans

Reading manga is great, and if possible, I like to spring for the volumes sold in stores. Personally, I feel like holding the manga in your hand and having it there to read is just a lot better than clicking a mouse to view the next page. I mean, sure, manga as viewed online is usually much bigger, and easier to read the words (unless the quality really sucks), but manga in hand is worth 2 in the bush I always say.

That actually makes no sense at all.

Nope. Anyway, there’s one thing that fan scanlations have that official releases don’t, and personally, I love it. I’m talking of course about the one page at the end of a chapter that has fake subs. For example:

I found this funny, because I'm half emo, and think that Batman is pretty cool.

Now, we all view Ulquiorrra as a character as emo as they come. He never smiles, never shows emotion, and has facepaint that resembles tears or something. That’s pretty fucking emo. So this is funny for that reason. Kind of. Honestly, I don’t know why I found this funny. It wasn’t that funny. Bad example. Let me now show you my funniest “Scan-Fan Page” from Bleach:

WAAAHAHAHA! I’m still grabbing my sides they hurt so good! Not really, but still, this is hilarious. If you know One Piece, than you know that Brook is the greatest character in the entire show, on the count that all he does is make stupid, yet incredibly awesome puns. I love puns. All awesome people love puns. It’s a fact of life. I love this shit. I also love things that degrade women:

You tell that ho! Get back in the kitchen and make some chicken noodle soup (with a soda on the side)!

I was going to say something about the picture, but instead I’ll tell you a story that will make you either laugh, or consider me for 1st place in “World’s Biggest Asshole.” I’d be fine with either to be honest.

One time, me and my roommate might or might not have been doing some fun activities which might or might not have been considered “illegal” in front of our dorm that might or might not have rhymed with tarijuana, and across the street, we saw a guy get pulled over. Instead of being bitches and running inside. We stood there and heckled the cop, who was a woman. We told her to do things like “Get back in the kitchen” and it was pretty funny. Anyone reading this probably thinks that I’m the biggest asshole on the planet, but realize that I was really high. I actually went back into my dorm and just laughed for about 2 hours. It was a great time. Of course, weed has since lost it’s luster and I find no need to touch the stuff again.  The comments of course, were all in jest, and it was probably good that nothing happened, because smoking weed in front of a cop in Willimantic (where cops are assholes and will arrest people just for standing there on some bogus charge that was complete bullshit) and heckling a cop while using prejudice comments is probably one of the dumbest ideas one could have. Anyway, I don’t really find degrading women to be good, and I love women because they’re awesome. In fact, if I ever get married, my wife ain’t cooking. Mainly because I like to cook, and let’s face it, I’m a man, I’m probably better at it than she is. I should probably just not talk.

Anyway, The “Scan-Fan Pages” are fucking awesome and they rule.

Extra Shit

First of all, I’ve been watching jack shit for anime lately. I did recently force myself to watch some HOTD, and completed 3 episodes. They were good. I like them. At night, the cat can disguise itself as a puddle.

Anyway, I’ve been on a manga SPREE. I’ve been clicking random manga and just reading. In fact, currently, I have about 40 manga that I’m “reading”.

EDIT: After counting, it’s actually 53. Although, to be fair, “currently reading” only means that I have read at least one chapter, and have either caught up, or not looked at it since. So in reality, I’m probably close to about 28, which is still a lot.

ANOTHER EDIT: After reading a comment, I forced myself to read Koharu no Hibi (or what’s out there so far), and it’s not only hilarious, but I couldn’t control my Kool Aid smile when I saw this at the end of the first chapter:

For my take on the manga, see my response to said comment.

6 thoughts on “The Best Thing About Manga Scans

  1. I think the Batman joke is funny. It kinda a double edge sword. He’s emo and his ressurection is that of a bat.

    God I miss him.

    And yes, the end credit usually gave me something to smile about. One of the most memorable end credit is that of Zettai Karen Children where seemingly Hyoubu might lost his manhood.

Leave a Reply

