2010 in Review

A bunch of shit happened. I watched some anime, I did some school, I read some manga, I got sick a few times, I painted a bit….not much to say really…..I guess I’ll list some stuff, since everyone seems to like that sort of thing. I’m honestly really tired and want to go to sleep. In fact, the only reason I’m not sleeping is because it’s only 7 oclock at night (as I write this). Before I get into this, I decided not to include Fullmetal Alchemist in this review because it largely ran during 2009. Had I decided to include it, then it would have won best show without question. Also, I probably forgot a bunch of shows that I watched, so the titles are probably only 80% accurate. Here we go:

Best Show I Watched in 2010

High School of the Dead


HOTD was one of the most balls-to-the-wall-action-packed-edge-of-my-seat-thrilling-bad-ass-piece-of-awesomeness that I saw in 2010. It kicked ass. It had blood, boobs, and a girl with a samurai sword who got off  from killing. I literally found nothing wrong with this show, and would love to see 20 more seasons of the exact same thing. I did not get sick of this show at all, and I don’t think I ever could get sick of it.

Runners Up:

  • Kuragehime
  • Durarara
  • Seitokoi Yakuindomo

Worst Show I Watched in 2010

Tokko


You know the saying, “There’s no such thing as bad publicity?”

Tokko sucks.

Tokko was a show that had so much promise. If done correctly, it would have contained a lot of blood, great, interesting characters, and semi-decent animation. Instead, it had horrible animation, boring, flat, stupid characters, and a slow moving, uninteresting plot. It did have tons of blood, but that couldn’t save it from being a huge piece of shit. One of the worst shows I’ve seen.

Runners Up:

  • Kaichou wa Maid-sama
  • K-On!! (I didn’t even need to watch it to know that it belongs here)

Best Character I Observed in 2010

Caska


It’s no surprise that I went with Caska. I’m not obsessed with her to the same point that I am with the greatest seiyu ever, but I do like her character a lot. Caska had it all: Bad-assery, fighting skills, boobs, and a very dynamic personality. She would have reminded me of a character from Claymore, except that I can’t remember any of the characters from Claymore since I’ve pretty much forgotten about the manga for the past year and a half. Either way, she kicks ass, even if she was at first attracted to one of the biggest pussies ever (Griffith).

Runners Up:

  • Saeko Busujima (HOTD)
  • Yui Kotegawa (Motte to LOVE-ru)
  • Guts (Berserk)

Worst Character I Observed in 2010

Someone from Tokko

Dude in the white was kinda cool. Just cuz he yelled at everyone.

Pick any single person. They all suck. Except for the police dude in charge who is always pissed off. He was kinda cool.

Runners Up:

  • Griffith (Berserk)
  • Kiririririririn (Ome no Imouto…I think I stuttered when I typed out her name oh well)

Best Op

Kuragehime


This OP is SO AWESOME. Is it because the song is done by Chatmonchy, or is it because the whole sequence is fucking awesome?

Yes.

This OP alone makes this show more re-watchable than very very very many other shows. We’ve got characters doing scenes and stuff from all sorts of movies (Star Wars, James Bond, Bruce Lee, etc). And then we have this fucking AWESOME song placed on top of it…..this might be the best OP since….since…..Baccano? Durarara? Oh hey it’s the same director. Coincidence? NO. TAKAHIRO OMORI IS BRILLIANT. Kuragehime was a gem of a show.

Runner Ups:

  • The World God Only Knows had a pretty sweet OP. Reminded me of a mix of two DDR songs.

Worst Op

Kaichou was Maid-sama


I fucking HATED this shit. After the opening lines I wanted to tear the skin off of my skull.

Runner Ups:

  • B Gata H Kei. Kinda surpised I didn’t end up picking that one, considering I bashed it for a whole post. In the end, Kaichou wa Maid-sama’s OP registered more hate within my soul

Well, there you have it. 2010 in review. In fairly short review at that. It’s likely that I forgot half of the shows that I watched, but whatever. See you in 2011 bitches.

