Avatar: The Last Airbender is the Epitome of FUCKING AWESOME

Throughout my incredibly torrid watching of Avatar: The Last Airbender, I became increasingly antsy to write this post. There’s so much good that can be said about Avatar: The Last Airbender. To sum it up, here’s short story that’s actually more like a medium story in length.

I’ve watched more than 20 episodes of any given show in one sitting/day on only two occasions. The first occasion was an extremely ambitious watching of the first FMA series. At days end I found that I had watched 34 episodes straight, with little to no breaks. Yeah thats right. 34 fucking episodes. Considering that each episode is about 20 minutes in length if you cut out the credits, that’s around 680 minutes, or 11 hours. Yeah. 11 hours. That’s an entire fucking day. It’s safe to say that I’ll never break that record, but there was one other time where I watched 21 episodes in one day, but I haven’t a clue what show it was….I’m pretty sure it was the first season of Higurashi but I’m not sure. It might have been Inuyasha. Shit I have no idea. I bet it was the latter.

Today (Jan. 30), I watched 23 episodes of Avatar: The Last Airbender, and at no point during my duration of watching this series did I watch less than 10 episodes a day. Needless to say, it took less than half a week to finish this 61 episode blast.

So to recap, how good is this show? It’s only the third show to force me to watch over 20 episodes in a day.

I hate the word epic. I feel like people have lost the meaning of the word, and therefore I only use it when it deserves to be used. Epic fail is stupid. It can’t exist, unless you have a failure that is years in the making. Avatar is EPIC. One could compare it to the Jericho, a bomb from the first Ironman, in that this show had everything you could ask for. It’s got little explosions, huge BAM moments, and a fucking huge blast that finishes the job. Here’s a list:

  • This show had FANTASTIC characters.
  • This show had VERY HIGH QUALITY WRITING, including several BAM moments.
  • This show had some BAD ASS FIGHT SCENES.
  • This show had PERFECT HUMOR.
  • This show had touching moments I guess…..no caps lock for that one though.

But wait, is Avatar really an anime? I mean, sure it was HEAVILY influenced by anime (the creators indicated Cowboy Bebop, FLCL, Studio Ghibli were among listed influences), but it’s an American show from Nickelodeon. Well I say it’s close enough. It’s an anime. The end.

From now on, there will be intense SPOILERS.

Characters


The worst character in this show could have been the best in a LOT of other shows. I have no clue who this character would or could be though, because they’re all so fucking great, and that’s just another testement to how good the characters were.

I could talk about how awesome Toph is, and how she uses her feet to “see” because she’s blind in the face (and makes a shitload of jokes about her blindness).

I could talk about Iroh’s awesomeness, and how he’s an all knowing lazy guy who is actually also fucking bad ass.

I could talk about Suki’s fucking awesome facepaint and general bad ass demeanor which goes along with her girly-ness, a combo that is fantastical indeed.

But no.

Instead I’m talking about the show’s brown child. The pissed off, back against the world Zuko, who is my favorite character in this show.

Take a look at Zuko’s family. They’re a fucking mess. His dad is a tyrant who really doesn’t give a shit about any of is children, or even his wife. Apparently the family was at one time normal, but we don’t get to see any of that. Zuko’s father, Fire Lord Ozai, perferred his sister, who is a CRAZY FUCKING BITCH due to the fact that she felt like her mother didn’t like her. However, her father liked her because she had good firebending skills, which kind of pushed Zuko from his father’s sight. For this reason, perhaps, Zuko was kind of a mama’s boy growing up, and this of course, helped make Azula crazy as fuck, because she felt like she was never accepted or loved by her mother. Every problem in this family was a vicious cycle. This family is so fucked up that I don’t even know if I’m explaining this right, but seeing Azula literally lose her mind in the last few episodes was pretty fucking awesome to watch. I mean, some people lose it, and then some people REALLY FUCKING LOSE IT. She lost her sanity it was great.

Why is Zuko so awesome? Change. He goes through a very realistic back-and-forth-up-and-down-good-and-bad battle with himself and with the world around him. From the beginning he was a brown child through and through.

Oh what’s that? You haven’t heard of this term before? Allow me to explain:

Brown Child (n)

1. A child with 1 or more siblings who is labeled least important/not as good/favored less than his or her siblings

Ex: Jeff’s sister Lauren seems to get everything while Jeff gets the short end of the stick. He’s clearly a brown child.

Zuko is the clear brown child. His sister is better at fighting and clearly favored by his father. Meanwhile, Zuko gets banished by his father (not to mention scarred in the face) and is forced to live his days desperately trying to somehow regain his father’s respect; and through this constant inner and outer struggle he perseveres and eventually becomes the leader of his country. It was an awesome thing to see.

Oh and I loved how he had another persona/alias as the blue mask. Bad ass shit right there.

Of course, awesome characters can’t be awesome if the person voicing them doesn’t do a good job. I heard a l0t of familiar voices throughout this anime. I know for a fact that James Hong (Balls of Fury) had a couple small roles, and get this: Mark Hammill played Fire Lord Ozai. I didn’t even realize that until I looked it up. That’s just fucking awesome.

High Quality Writing

Azula completely in the process of completely losing her mind.

There’s only a few reasons why I’m calling the writing here “high quality.” Besides the fact that every single show entertained me greatly, anything I questioned early on in the show got answered later. For example: I always wondered why Earth benders weren’t able to bend metal. Metal is just Earth melted down and refined, so shouldn’t they be able to control it too? Well, not to be disappointed, Toph, being the fucking awesome runaway she is, thought this very same thing, and then promptly bent the metal.

Again I thought, “If water benders can control water, and the human body is made up mostly of water, then wouldn’t they be able to control humans? And even suck all of the water from their bodies? This too was answered later on, much to my happiness.

These are the only actual examples I can remember, but this happened a LOT. There’s also the whole unfolding the plot, which was amazing and fantastic, but that’s too much to write, so I’m moving on.

And lest we not forget: BAM moments.

Bad Ass Fight Scenes

I’m pretty much just talking about the last fight between Aang and Fire Lord Ozai. AWESOME. It was pretty even matched, and then Aang got into the Avatar state and proceeded to RAPE THE SHIT OUT OF OZAI, NO BIG DEAL. UGH I need to buy this show.

Perfect Humor


I love puns. Love love love love. Puns are my favorite. Sokka too, enjoys puns. He uses them all the time, and I always laugh. For example, when Paki declares that he has finally married Sokka’s grandmother, Sokka asks him if they could call him “Grampaki.” Fucking hilarious (to me). Or how about King Bumi? When he sees Aang, he asks him where he’s traveled from and Aang tell him that he cam from Kangaroo Island. King Bumi replies:

“Kangaroo Island eh? I hear that place is HOPPIN!”

Any show that uses puns already gets approval in my book, but this show doesn’t stop there. No sir.

We have blind jokes, courtesy of Toph. I found those very amusing. For example, making fun of Toph for not being able to read what’s on a paper. Or when they’re flying, and Toph will point and shout “Wow look at that!” and then everyone will turn and look, and Toph will just laugh at them. The fact that everyone always forgets that Toph is blind just makes everything better. Fantastic character.

And then, we have the cabbage seller. The recurring joke that runs throughout the series. Where ever Aang and the gang went, they would always somehow destroy this guy’s wagon of cabbages. It got funnnier every time he showed up, and my favorite reference came at the end, where Aang and everyone went to see a play that was made about them (the episode served as a recap episode, but it was done in an awesome way). Since the play is based on the lives of Aang, Sokka, etc, the information had to have been collected from somewhere, and Sokka reads from the poster,

“Sources include singing nomads, pirates, prisoners of war and a surprisingly well informed cabbage merchant.”

Avatar is filled with these small, funny comments, and they give the show life and energy that makes it such a wild ride.

Conclusion

If you haven’t watched this show, drop what you’re doing and watch it NOW. As for what type of bending I would most like to have….I’d have to go with water bending, because there’s just so much you can do with it. You wouldn’t be resigned to just one state, you could control solids, liquids, and gases, seeing as water can be all three.

FINAL GRADE = 5^^

Time to  update my Top Ten

Bill got his ass water bent to shit by this anime.

The Aftermath

After loving the series so much, I’m very tempted to watch the crappy movie that I’m positive will suck. Hopefully I won’t. Ugh it would be so bad.

 

43 thoughts on “Avatar: The Last Airbender is the Epitome of FUCKING AWESOME

  1. I love this show. I only wish that there was more animated shit of this quality in the West. THIS SHIT WAS REAL.

    P.S. Fuck you, M. Night Shylaman. Yeah, I don’t even fucking remember if that’s how his name is spelt. FUCK YOU WHATEVER YOU HAVEN’T DONE ANYTHING GOOD SINCE THE VILLAGE YOU BITCH

    • M. Night is an embarrassment. If his name is attached to anything I make it a point not to watch. I didn’t even think that Sixth Sense was that good really. The Village was decent though.

      • The series was awesome, but the movie was absolute garbage!!!!! I watched thirty minutes of it and I coulden’t stand it. M. Night totally butchered the entire story line. I was hoping that it would have stayed true to the series itself, but it just wasen’t worth it.

        And I totally feel ya with Azula, she is on crazy messed up B DOUBLE ITCH!!!!!!!

      • Me and Oballer are going to watch the movie and do a joint review. It’s a done deal. I’ve seen the first 20 minutes so I already know that I’m going to rip it to hell. It sucks really really bad. The special effects are really good though.

  2. I actually was planning on watching this well before M. Night Shyamalan decided that he wanted to make another shitty ass movie AND defecate all over a beloved kids show.

    I think I may watch this soon….. Also I have a shit load of anime movies in my instant queue on netflix… so lets get this shit in motion.

  3. I found it better than average, but felt that it aimed disappointingly low for something that’s so hyped by everyone. There were a number of moments that I felt it could have tried a little harder and made it a generation-defining show, but they seemed to err on the side of watering it down with odd action scenes and sloppy deus-ex machina writing. Fine if you are only trying to appeal to kids and spare their parents total boredom, but only really worthy of praise in terms of it’s relative uniqueness as a cross between a good Disney TV cartoon and solid anime shounen.

    I don’t hate it or anything.. I just wish they didn’t squander so much of it’s potential just to achieve base episodic entertainment. But then my standards are way too high for this kind of show. It generally has it’s heart in the right place, but didn’t sweep me off my feet like everyone else. It was saved by not being entirely like every other show, and having a good cast of characters that didn’t feel overly cliched for a change.

    So, it was good, maybe even bordering on great, but certainly not “cream my pants awesome”. I guess I’m just officially too jaded for a simple show like this to affect me like that anymore. It has to try harder than just to introduce great characters, and then have them fart around until the writers think of something interesting that isn’t just another childish Aesop.

    • Aimed low? I felt like the quality was actually really high when compared to…..well…..almost everything. The animation was smooth and well done, the characters were well rounded and dynamic, and the story was exciting and had me on the edge of my seat for a lot toward the end. Sure it had some episodic elements, but every episode had value toward the continuous plot too.

      It doesn’t matter if a show is simple, as long as it’s enjoyable. In fact, I’ve found that a lot of simple shows can be most enjoyable.

      • Oh, the production values were excellent, I won’t contest that.

        I just meant that story-wise it didn’t really aim for much. It turned into the same “there’s this horrible evil in a dystopian world” concept I’ve seen so many times before, and took a pretty straightforward route to the end (especially nearer the end).

        And you’re right, it’s fine for a show to be straightforward and “simple” (especially if it’s aiming to be a kid’s show). It still carries itself well, and deserves much of the praise it gets for it’s more creative elements.

        I’m just not as blown away by it.. I was hoping for something truly memorable that I’d wax nostalgic over some day (others clearly got that effect, I didn’t). I’ll remember it for it’s interesting concepts and perhaps it’s character designs, not it’s execution or any particular scenes.

        When all’s said and done though, I still watched the show through to the end and am looking forward to the sequel coming out in November. Coming from me, that’s high praise 🙂

  4. Aren’t you glad now that you’ve seen it? Ah, I love sharing the joy. I was high on Zuko for several months after the show ends. I want to fucking fuck him and because of him, I think that the final battle between Azula and him was the fight that I remembered the most. Probably because Agni-Kai was fucking awesome. I decided then that I preferred fire bending. Agni-Kai is the shit, man.

    As for the spin-off, I already said what I need to say in my blog. Knowing that it’s about Aang and Katara’s child didn’t excite me much though. I think they are boring.

    • Aang and Katara were indeed the two most boring characters out of the main ones, but Aang got pretty bad-ass in the last episode, and even Katara stepped it up. She was awesome at water bending. God I wish I could bend something. Water clearly is my favorite, but I’d say that Earth is a close second. Fire was my least favorite, because all you can do is burn shit. Even with air you can fly or cut or whatever. And Earth you can trap people, hit people with shit, give yourself armor etc.

      I want to see what happens with Zuko’s mom? And wtf did Jet die or what? I don’t really care about Jet, but I want to know what happened!

      • He died.

        Fire’s ability is pretty limited but do not underestimate it otherwise they won’t be able to conquer all those places. Agreed with earth though. Toph just made it so fucking amazing. Toph and Sokka shared the second place for my fav character. It would be hilarious if they have babies together. Speaking of Sokka, he stepped it up big time! When he started using the sword properly, I had a motherfucking b0nar. Perseverance is an ability too I guess…

      • The only reason they were able to conquer those places was because of that comet. That’s just like cheating. If a water comet came by then I’m sure the water nation could have taken everything over. I mean, most of the time the Fire Nation was getting they’re ass kicked by a few kids!

        Toph was my second favorite character hands down. I knew a little about her before watching the show, and so I was pretty much waiting every episode for her to show up. When she bent the metal I was happy, when she decided to completely master metal bending (like when she made the door her armor) I actually came in my pants…I had to watch the rest of the show with no pants, because otherwise I’d have a lot of laundry to do.

        Sokka was also clearly a favorite because of the puns and jokes. “Hey Aang, would you describe your relationship with Toph to be ‘rocky’?” NICEEE. The sword was so bad ass. It was fucking black. I was kind of mad to see it fall off the airship at the end.

        GAH I want MOREEEE.

  5. Nice timing on the post! A group (me and friends of mine) just decided we’re doing an Avatar cosplay group, most likely for Ohayocon 2012. Because Avatar is the shit.

    I’ll be present as Princess Yue, we have a Zuko, a Toph, an Azula and a Ty Lee, and probably a Jet. Not sure who else is participating quite yet, but I expect it to be amazing.

    • Who would choose Jet over Sokka? I’d do it just to cut my hair like that. Whoever is Azula should be the crazy Azula from the last episode when she loses her mind and cuts her hair and then bawls her eyes out in a crazy rage. That’s the coolest looking Azula, and it gives you the right to act like a crazy bitch and have it be acceptable. I want to see pictures so put up a post with them so that I can stalk your whole group legally. Oh shit….2012? That’s so far away. Remember this comment.

      • Yes, we plan our cosplays far in advance. So there’s a very long time until pictures of this will be available, but they WILL be available. And I shall make a note of this comment, haha.

  6. Another A+ rated show for me as well. I would choose water-bending as well. Who does not love blood-bending? The only drawback I found in this show is the lack of badass OP and ED. My favorite character is Appa the flying bison, with Zuko coming second 🙂

    • Appa was a beast. Both figuratively and literally. And the first thing I thought of when I heard water bending was a show called Volcano High. It was like a movie thing on MTV and the voices were dubbed by guys like Methodman. It was an awesome show.

  7. Agreed that the series is actually pretty good. I’ve caught episodes and arcs here and there; maybe it’s time I sit down and watch the whole thing… Whenever I get enough time to do so.

    Don’t bother with the movie though. It’s terrible.

    • If you don’t watch the whole thing then it’s pointless. The plot unfolded beautifully and unless you watch it in the right order you won’t get the full force of the development.

  8. I’ve been meaning to watch this show for quite some time now and seeing your super positive title for this post I hopefully will make it sooner than later so I will remember to come back and read the whole of your post that seems to be awesome!

    • Oooooo WATCH IT! I’ll be breaking down and watching the shitty movie shortly, which will make me cringe, cry, and most likely stop watching it after 10 minutes. It must be done though.

      • Well I once tried to watch that Dragonball one and instead watched only random scene, then I threw up.

        Today I watched ALMOST 20 minute of the Avatar movie before quitting. The acting was horrendous. Like……really really reallyr relalarlaelrlaelrlaerlaelrlae bad.

    • Well he changed his shit now. He’s ditched anime and gone to movie reviews…..he kind of became your rival. He tried to be my rival, but shit Eye Sedso is so good it HAS no rivals.

  9. The question i have after 1 season is… after Aang dies how can there be another Avatar? I mean ok, if theres a waterbending one, then an earthbending one, then a firebending one, then what? If there are no more airbenders it has to stop right?

    Of course I’m sure they explain this during the series so dont ruin it for me. I just finished season one… and its fuckign awesome so far

    • It goes through a cycle, so it would go back to water.

      That ruins nothing. Originally my answer was a lot longer, but instead I gave you the bare jist of it, since I’m not even sure they really cover it that well in the anime. They say it once I think in passing.

      Season 2 and 3 especially really puts it DOWN. Season 3 is so indescribably awesome that I just shit my pants thinking about it. And I came.

  10. The best part of this show has to be the million references to old movies. They are all over the place. They even had an entire “Footloose” episode. I’m betting they did this so that the parents watching the show with their kids get a kick out of… but I’ve caught like 1000 of them and they are all AWESOME.

    Also… I think you have to choose water:

    • I’ve never seen Footloose. It has Kevin Bacon in it but that’s all I know. The best thing that I liked was when Sokka totally ripped on the hippies. God I hate hippies. I’m glad Sokka hated them too.

      My mind is still trying to get over the season. It was so fucking good. I’m still on a high from watching it.

  11. What a great review. Literally everything I was thinking about the characters etc. When mentioned, you wrote. Fucking awesome show, haven’t seen character transformation done anywhere near as well as Zuko in this, was fantastic to watch.

Leave a Reply

