Manga Monday: Girl Friends

It’s been a lonnnggggg time. Manga Mondays are back (sporadically).

I was having a small chat on twitter the other day about yuri manga. I used to read a bit of it (not like……a ton, but a fair amount). Recently, I started reading it again, but realized that one of the more popular yuri manga, Girl Friends, had remained completely unread by yours truly.

Thus, I began reading it, and now I’m going to talk about how awesome it is.

aa

Some yuri is good. A lot of it is kinda stupid and shoujo-ish. I’m not a fan of shoujo-ish anything (though there are a few exceptions……probably).

I feel like a lot of lesbian manga are one-shots. They’re okay, but not really all that interesting most of the time. The main reason is because they lack character progression.

I like character progression. That’s because I like characters. Characters are what make a story interesting. Likewise, Girl Friends had some of the best character and story progression I’ve ever seen in any type of manga/anime/story/dream. Here’s a premise that I copied and pasted from manga fox (where I read this awesome lesbian shit):

At first glance, Mari Kumakura is a rather plain, ordinary looking girl who’s grades are at the top of her class. She has very few friends, is normally rather shy, and eats lunch by herself. One day, she is approached by the super cute, super popular Akko Oohashi, who claims she wants to be friends. Mari is at first very suspicious of her true intentions, but eventually comes to realize she’s not a bad person. After a hair cut and some fashion tips, Akko quickly transforms Mari into one of the cutest girls in the school. In no time, Mari and Akko are best friends, but unbeknownst to Akko, Mari starts to develop feelings that are more than just "friends."

Looks pretty dumb and generic right? WRONG.

Girl Friends gets nuts and awesome in a way that I can’t explain, lest I ruin every single BAM moment involved, and believe me, THERE ARE A LOT OF THEM.

tmakimaki_girl_friends_ch23_jpeg.gf23_002

That picture serves no real purpose. I just thought it was a funny scene for some reason. I’m going to leave you with this though:

Mari is fucking awesome. Akko is the best character ever. I like Mari because she’s level headed, but she does gradually separate from her incredibly shy personality to a level headed, slghtly sarcastic, still slightly shy personality that is……really fun to watch when she’s contrasted to Akko, who is kind of nuts sometimes, and has the ability to get flustered at times and jump to random conclusions.

The pair of them is just perfect to watch.

We need an anime adaptation NOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW.

FINAL GRADE = 5^^^^^^^^^^^^^

(See what I did with the ^s? It’s like in A Christmas Story when the teacher gives Ralphe an A+++++++++++ in his dream. This manga is that good.)

hmakimaki_girl_friends_vol5omake.gfom5_001 (1)

I want to see an ANIMEEEEEEE!!!!

28 thoughts on “Manga Monday: Girl Friends

  1. If you want good yuri manga you should check out Ultramarine (Gunjo in moonspeak). It’s not just yuri, it’s also a really smart drama. Definitely one of the best manga I’ve ever read. It was scanlated by Kotonoha, so you can check their website if you’re interested.

      • I gave it a 5 so it wasn’t bad. It was a solid manga, but it could have been better. I mean, I wanted the glasses bitch to end up getting with the rich bitch or something. I feel like the glasses bitch just hated the rich bitch though. I feel like they should have committed a double suicide I would have liked that more. I did like the battery between the two though. They beat the shit out of each other.

        I just felt like the end was a bit lacking, I mean it wasn’t a bad end, but it was slightly open ended.

        Who the fuck is Ken Tome?

      • Well, the manga hasn’t been fully scanlated yet, so that might be why you found the ending dissatisfying. There are still two chapters left in volume one, and it will be three volumes total once completed. I think it’s pretty much guaranteed that the story is going to end with a suicide/life sentence/death row execution for both of them, though.

        Ken Tome is a guy who writes manga that are, without fail, totally awesome until the last chapter, in which a cop-out happy ending that fucking ruins the story is implemented (tell me that you can read the last chapter of Lament of the Lamb without raging). Think the last fifth of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and you’ll know what I mean.

      • Wasn’t the last chapter where they decided to go turn themselves in, and then a cop stops them and it kind of ends after that. If there’s more then that’s great, I assumed it was completed though.

      • Well, fuck, the anime is a different story entirely. The guys who did the anime changed the ending up a bit and made it totally badass. Enjoy the shit out of the anime. Only the manga will make you rage.

  2. I would love a Girl Friends anime, although I have my doubts as to it ever happening.

    You may like some of Milk Morinaga’s other yuri works, although Girl Friends was her first long series.

  3. ‘FINAL GRADE = 5^^^^^^^^^^^^^’

    that’s like
    5 ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^^s, which is like ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^ ^^^ which is like a bunch of creepy smiling people and one cyclops guy, or a lot of spikes that you have to jump over.

    😦

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Female Manga Characters « Eye Sedso

  5. If you don’t read it, then that’s fine, it’s YOUR LOSS. I love this manga so much, I’ve only finished reading it 3 weeks ago I think, not so sure because I’ve been reading it over and over and getting obsessed with it. I can connect to it so much and I love how it’s so real and I love every character! Most Yuri manga just don’t satisfy my taste simply because they’re so quick to kiss or have sex…esp one-shot types… I love a pure love story between girls like the one this manga has! So far I’ve liked Chikane and Himeko, and now I came to love Akko and Mari!! I’m kind of like Mari in this story, shy and introverted and I’ve fallen in love with a girl who’s popular, pretty and kind like Akko… I’m glad how things worked out in this story. Btw, very nice review of this manga!! I actually considered reading this manga through the brief description and BOOM! I knew where this story was heading to and I want to find the answer to my problem lol (it’s too late however)

    • Yeah I liked how the story and the relationship progresses realistically and at a slow pace. I might re-read this bangout.

      The mangaka, Milk Morinaga, is awesome. All of her stories are great. Though all of her characters look kind of the same (which is fine her art is amazing). She probably one of the very very few shoujoy type artists that I actually like. I hate anything that looks shoujo (usually).

Leave a Reply

