Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – First Impressions

I’ve been reading the manga. I’m up to date in fact. After watching the 1st episode of the anime, I can tell you that, in comparison to the manga, it does some things good, but it’s just not the same. The manga is better by a fair amount (that’s usually the case, isn’t it?)

Three Opinions:

They say people who talk to themselves are geniuses. Though, technically she's talking to an air friend, soooo.......

1.) The seiyu are pretty much perfect. Spot on. I LOVE Yozora’s seiyu, Marina Inoue. She’s well known, but I’ve only heard her in a few roles (and liked them. Her most famous probably being Yoko from TTGL). She’s awesome as Yozora. The show as a whole has a really good cast. I DO want to see more fighting between Sena and Yozora. One of my favorite parts of the manga is them butting heads on every issue. They need to actually hate each other (until they inevitably become friends at the very end [which, btw, is just a prediction that I have based on nothing, since the manga isn’t too far along yet]).

2.) Animation is good……but personally, I prefer the sketchiness that the manga provides. Unlike some bloggers, I actually like Kodaka’s hair color blending.

Bitches be trippin.

3.) Too much fanservive. I mean, there wasn’t an overload in the first episode, but judging by the OP, I get a sinking feeling that we could be due for some heavily laden fanservice in the future. Bleh. I mean, a little fanservice I can overlook. In fact, it doesn’t really bother me at all, unless it takes over the plot. A plot saturated with fanservice almost sucks, unless it’s Queen’s Blade.

That’s all I’m going to say for the moment on BwTgS. I still enjoyed the episode as a whole. But something about it just seemed….off. Can’t wait for the bomb to be dropped regarding Kodaka’s past later on (not really a bomb, but I enjoyed the little plot twist, especially Yozora’s reaction).

20 thoughts on “Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – First Impressions

  1. The manga is quite good but the novel is much better as it describes certain aspects of the characters that are lost in the manga. The anime seems to be trying to follow the novel as the fanservice shown there is akin to how the author writes Kodaka vividly describing the attributes of the characters, which happens a lot in the novel.

  2. Sorry dude but queens blade is good…but still drawn out and predictable. I hate how the main character has an invincible “dragon punch” attack that always wins. Lame. But besides that…you kind of never really recommended if we should watch it or not…is it worth a look?

    • Queen’s Blade was better than good, and that’s because of the characters. All of them had their stories and their reasons for fighting. All of them had their own unique traits. All of them had big boobs (except two who no one cared about).

      Reina was the only one who I hated with a passion. God I wished that she would die at least ONE of the times she fell off a cliff (she fell off like….3 cliffs the clumsy bitch).

  3. The first two episodes got me hooked. I still think the OVA sucks though.

    Anyway, I believe that the manga for this show is better, just like the case of Maken-ki! I dropped that anime 2 minutes in and will pick up the manga again (eventually)

Leave a Reply

