Manga Tuesday: Yankee-kun to Megane-chan

I’ve already wrote one post praising this manga series, and I’m sure this won’t be my last, but seriously, Yankee-kun to Megane-chan kicks FUCKING ASS.

yankee-kun-to-megane-chan-900224

REASONS:

The characters are just too fun to not like. I’m sure, just like with every series, some douchebag will complain that the characters are cliche or something, but don’t worry, as I stated, they’re all douchebags, and should be treated as such. The characters are awesome.

RUNDOWN:

Adachi Hana

Adachi

The class rep. She’s got glasses and is pretty much a retard. She lacks all forms of common sense, but she tries really hard to be a good class rep (though she sucks at school and shit). Unbeknownst to all, she used to be one of the most feared delinquents in the fucking world (so it seems to me), and sometimes she’ll display some of this violence.

Shinagawa Daichi

Shinagawa

Just your average delinquent who somehow got roped into hanging out with Adachi against his will ever since Adachi starting visiting him in the bathroom stall when he took a shit. Yup. Funny as fuck.

Rinka Himeji

Rinka

She just got introduced into the manga (I’m only up to chapter 22 or something), and I already love her. She’s kind of a tsundere except instead of getting embarrassed about her real feelings, she masks them with blatant forwardness/no common sense. Either way, she never gets embarrassed, so she’s not really a tsundere character. That’s how I see it anyway, and I love it.

Seiya Chiba

Chiba

A tall freak of nature. Good at math and antisocial.

That’s all of the characters I’ve been introduced to, but how bout the AWESOME INTRODUCTIONS THAT THE MANGA HAS!?

An introduction to Adachi Hana to a couple of bad guys:

yankee-kun-to-megane-chan-899944

yankee-kun-to-megane-chan-899945

The classic smoke-clearing-to-show-bad-ass-character introduction? ALWAYS awesome. Especially when the smoke was cause by the character in question, after kicking everyone’s ass.

Rinko Himeji’s first introduction, being introduced as a transfer student on her first day:

a

b

d

Kicking down a door on her first day in a new school and not thinking twice about it? AWESOME. Not to mention that there was even some smoke clearing action going on toward the end (she DID kick down a door with a sick ass spinning kick). Even that Albert Einstein wannabe fucker couldn’t finish the introduction, because he shit his pants (theoretically).

At this point, I’d have to say that Rinko Himeji is my favorite character, simply because of her tsundere-like character. The best is that she hates Shinagawa right off the bat (which means she likes him right off the bat). And she’s a bad-ass. And she argues with cats for no reason. She rules. (but all the characters do, really).

I could talk for hours about why this manga kicks ass, but instead, I’m going to read the fuckin thing. BYE.

18 thoughts on “Manga Tuesday: Yankee-kun to Megane-chan

  1. I really should get back into this manga. I put it on hold I while ago, and since then I haven’t gotten nearly enough people getting kicked in the face for my liking.

  2. I really should also be getting back to this manga, and you haven’t yet met the last member of their team, he is also super cool! MAYBE EVEN THE BEST KIND OF COOL!

  3. I would simply like to announce I finally got a WordPress account, and that I am Synapse. I will not announce any other alter-egos. That is all.

  4. This manga is brilliant, and you are brilliant for recommending it. My favorite part so far has to be the Student Council speeches in chapter 29 (I think).

Leave a Reply

