Fate/Zero is Everything I Hoped For And More

From the second I heard about a prequel to Fate/Stay Night, I expected awesomeness. There was no way I could dislike a show with Saber. She’s one of the best female characters of all time (I don’t think she made my top ten, but top twenty for sure).

The OP is awesome, even MORE AWESOME PLAYED IN STRAIGHT PIANO!

Then I heard that ufotable was going to be behind it. Although I never stopped to think of it, there has never been a single production by ufotable that I haven’t thought was awesome as fuck. (Kara no Kyoukai, 2×2 Shinobuden, Futakoi Alternative…I think that’s it, but still…3 for 3.)

So now Fate/Zero becomes one of the most anticipated anime I’ve looked forward to in a long time, behind Shakugan no Shana III, which I started watching again and yes, it’s fucking awesome. Similarly with Shakugan no Shana III, I only just got around to starting Fate/Zero, and I must tell, you, after just 2 episodes, I can already tell that I’m going to regret not waiting to marathon this.

I've waited.....so long........so long.

I loved the first episode. It introduced us to all the players, and not till the end did it show the who got what Heroes. Besides those who were in Fate/Stay Night or the movie, I’m not really sure who each one is. I guessed that Rider could maybe be Hercules or someone, but his origin seems to not be Greece….or was it? I don’t have a clue. The identity of Caster is really stumping me. Anyway, that’s part of the awesomeness.

I’m gonna keep this short, because I’m all about short and to the point.

If you’re not watching Fate/Zero, or haven’t watched Fate/Stay Night, then you’re a piece of shit. You should probably punch yourself in the face with a knife. Or better yet, marathon Fate/Stay Night, and then watch Fate/Zero, which is the best show of the year, and I will say this, IT IS RIVALING SHAKUGAN NO SHANA III FOR MY FAVORITE OF THE SEASON (I’d actually probably put it in front right now, and you KNOW how I feel about Shakugan no Shana!)

The ED kicks serious FUCKING ASS TOO!!! (Piano version because I love pianos)

PS: Lancer is fucking awesome. He’s just the man. So is Gilgamesh. Did I spell that right? I don’t know. Do I care? Clearly not, or else I would have looked it up and not bothered writing this sentence explaining something that might not even be a mistake.

25 thoughts on “Fate/Zero is Everything I Hoped For And More

  1. You spelled Gilgamesh right. Fate Stay/Night was shit. I don’t even care about it. Fate/Zero (or more specifically Ufotable) clearly stumped that piece of shit. But yes this show is made of pure awesomeness. Ufotable should be the only studio allowed to make any Typemoon anime from now. It is definitely rival A-1 Pictures for my favorite studios now.

  2. I’m honestly still shocked how much I love Fate Zero, especially considering F/SN was one of the worst pieces of trash I’ve forced myself to finish. No longer do we have a bad harem with cliché teenage stereotypes, but fascinating multi-layered characters and plot. The most recent ep (11) has one of the most tightly written scripts of any show I’ve seen. A Fate anime with great writing… the mind boggles! Gen Urobuchi is truly a master of his art to make me do a 360 regarding this franchise. I can’t give him enough credit.

    Oh, and words can scarcely describe the brilliance of Rider in this series. It was pretty much a given that Okabe from Steins Gate would be my favorite character of the year, but now we have a last-minute shock champion. He’s just so awesome!

    • I’m pretty sure I like every single character in this show, even Castor and his psychoticness turns me on.

      I liked Fate/Stay Night. I think I gave it a 4 originally, but over time I’ve boosted that grade up a notch or two (I don’t grade out of 5 I have an odd grading system not gonna bother explaining it it’s explained above in The List).

      Fate/Zero somehow reminds me of Steins;Gate. I don’t really know how since they’re completely different on every level, but that’s what I’ve been comparing it too the last day or so. Maybe cuz they’re both awesome shows?

    • F/SN the anime was indeed trash, but the VN is worthy of its place as one of the best friggin’ VNs of all time. The cliché teenage protagonist gets deconstructed and developed to hell and back in the other two routes, while in Fate (the route that the anime mainly follows) he’s almost static in contrast.

  3. I think the Kara no Kyoukai Movies are a horribly overrated sometimes but nevertheless, movie 5 and 7 was really good.
    But I completely agree with fathomlessblue:
    I loathed Fate/stay night for exactly the same reasons, but Fate/Zero has done everything right. Except… the long dialogues…. they could get a little boring though.

    Also, Shana III kicks ass from episode 08 (f*ck yeah )

  4. Are you a guy? Because I really find it hard to believe that a guy loves Shakugan no Shana, but I guess everyone’s opinions are different. And what about Saber do you like? I get that she’s a badass in a fight, but last week’s episode when she was talking to Rider about being a king was boring as fuck. That’s what I didn’t like about Fate/Stay Night. Who the hell cares what kind of a king she was when it’s not relevant to what’s happening in the present?

    • Umm… Well, Iskandar, the one she’s talking with, is very interested. Her idealism is one of the main reasons Gil wants her. Oh, it’s relevant to what’s happening in the present alright.

      And what’s so odd about a guy loving a show with an adorable badass loli protagonist?

    • WHERE IS ALL THIS HATE FOR SHAKUGAN NO SHANA COMING FROM!? It kicks ASSSSSSSSSSSS (except the first half of the second season, which kinda sucked).

      Yeah I’m a guy, and Saber kicks fucking ass because she’s so knightly. I love the fact that she’s never really girly at all, she’s always got angry eyes and her Kingly talks are inspiring and a bad ass form of smack talk. Oh what’s that? You were what in the past? Well I was the most badass king, AND A GIRL. NOW I’M GOING TO INFLICT WOUNDS ON YOUR NON-KINGLY BODY!

  5. If I ever get to watch, its because of the reference to ‘The Epic of Gilgamesh’ (A.K.A., the story that inspired the Odyssey, Genesis (Bible), and other later literature.

  6. If Lancer is the man, then Iskandar is the god of men, descended upon Earth to show us the true way of Manliness.

    Exhibit A: episode 11
    Exhibit B: also episode 11

    I rest my case.

  7. If by fatezero you mean FAT EAZY RO I guess you’re right.

    Not sure what I meant by that but I finally finished my season preview/second impressions, and yep, Fate/Zero tops the list just from its first three episodes (not so much its first episode, though).

Leave a Reply

