I’m Calling It: Ushiro no Shindere-san Will Get an Anime

Good manga comes and goes, but great manga is a bit tougher to find. However, sometimes, you can tell something is gold right when you read it. Ushiro no Shindere-san kicks fucking ass.

Should I end this post right here? Honestly, I’ve said all that really needs to be said. There’s only 5 chapter or so out right now, but after that sentence, you should be opening a new tab on your browser, typing in “Ushiro no Shindere-san” or something in google. Find a site that has the translated manga (I used mangacity because I’m fucking awesome), and reading the shit out of this manga.

What? My words of fucking wisdom aren’t enough for you? Fine. I’ll take the time to write a whole fucking post about this manga. Thanks a lot.

First of all, would you LOOK AT THAT CAR!?

That things got some bad ass decaling. This brings me to my first point, which is the comedy and the art (okay, two points, whatever), but first I should explain wtf is going on in this manga.

It’s got kind of an odd premise. Personally, I’m not very blown away by the whole plot. It seems kind of meh, but then again, I’ve only read 3 chapters as I write this.

Basically, boy meets girl, kick kicks boy’s ass, girl breaks it to boy that if boy doesn’t admit to liking her and vise versa, they’re both gonna go to hell.

Kind of dumb. Still, a plot could be as dumb as Sarah Palin and I’d still like it if did everything successfully, which Ushiro no Shindere-san does do.

Let’s go back to exhibit A (those two pictures). To me, these two pages show off everything that is great about this manga. First of all the at is crisp and very well drawn. Not to mention the comedy. Comedy is good when you expect one thing, and then get thrown the other way. For example, You ASSUME that Miki (the girl with apparent white hair) has saved the small child who is stupid enough to play in a busy street (clearly her parents have not beaten her enough). However, rather abruptly, we find that she’s saved the child from a car only to be unknowingly standing in front of a speeding truck. And what completes this comedic scene is Miki’s facial expression. She wears a look of accomplishment, even though she’s about to get hit by a truck. What happens next? I’m not telling you.

If that shit doesn’t force you to go read FIVE FUCKING CHAPTERS, then let me tell you that awesome characters become involved, and kick ass. We sort of get a split personality disorder, except it really emphasizes the “split” in split personality (I made it seem cooler than it is, but it’s still pretty awesome).

Back to my title. I’m making the guarantee that this manga eventually becomes an anime. I’ll even go so far as to name the studio: J.C. Staff. It’s their kind of anime. I’m calling this now. Please hold me to it. (I could also totally see Rie Kugimiya as Miki, though I would rather not see her in this role [I would LOVE to see her voice Shiro-tama]).

Until then, read this shit (you’ll actually probably not even like it, but don’t worry, that just means you suck as a person and probably don’t deserve to live.

 

12 thoughts on “I’m Calling It: Ushiro no Shindere-san Will Get an Anime

  1. If that’s how you’re going to sell it, then I’ll just save myself the time and say that I suck and probably don’t deserve to live. But those decals *are* pretty badass 🙂

    • I’m pretty sure I’m the only person on the planet who likes J.C. Staff.

      Don’t let my assumptions of studio throw you off. This manga is good….I could also see Studio Deen putting this guy into action.

      • Actually, I think everybody thinks J.C. Staff’s art is top-notch, and maybe pre-2010 J.C. Staff was better, but I only started watching anime in 2010, and with shows like Ookami-san, Bakuman, Yumekui Merry, and Kamimemo…

        C’mon, admit it, even you were disappointed with Ookami-san’s end, no matter what you thought of the heroine.

      • I actually liked Ookami-san all the way through…..Kanimemo however might have been one of the worst pieces of trash ever created, which is too bad because it featured not only Rie Kugimiya (arguably the only good character), but also blatant lesbians. I LOVE LESBIANS THIS ANIME WAS TRASH.

        Have no ambition to watch Bakuman or the other, but I was happy with Ookami-san and would relish another season.

Leave a Reply

