Fairy Tail: Took Me Long Enough; Boy Am I Dumb

There was a time when I first heard of Fairy Tail.

“What a dumb looking show,” I thought, ” But, Rie Kugimiya has a main role, so I will watch it…..wait a second….she’s voicing a cat? So is she just going to make ‘nyan’ noises the whole time? What a waste! What a dumb looking show.”

God, how stupid I was. Stupid as hell. As IF they would cast the great Rie Kugimiya and limit her to making Nyan sounds. how idiotic can I get? The main character looked a lot like Luffy from One Piece (in fact, all of the art did, despite the fact that both manga are written by complete different people). For some reason, this threw me off…..again.

The art in One Piece made me not want to watch One Piece. Finally, I watched it. Now it’s one of my favorite anime ever.

The art in Fairy Tail made me not want to watch Fairy Tail (though not as much as One Piece). The name “Fairy Tail” also had something to do with it. And the fact that one of the main characters was a cute cat (kind of childish). Finally, I watched it.

And so Fairy Tail is pretty good. Yeah it’s a bit childish, kind of your typical shonen, but it’s entertaining, has a good cast and good characters, and so far, (11 episodes) I like it. I’ve heard a couple people kind of poop on it, and I’ve heard other people absolutely praise the shit out of it, and for me I think it’s closer to the praise side, for one reason only:

Rie Kugimiya make me soooo Happy.

I expected to hate her performance in this anime. I did not look forward to it at all.

“She’s voicing a cat? Why did she have to be in this show I really don’t want to watch it.” – were my thoughts initially.

But once again, she shows me why she’s my favorite seiyuu. Happy is arguably her funniest character, aside from Kagura.

Why?

Here’s why: Kagura is kind of…..out there. She says things that sometimes have no relation to the subject at hand. To me, she epitomizes the humor of Gintama in her character. Her character is always serious, but still says things that completely contradict her general mood.

Happy is similar. Happy is…for lack of a better word….completely spontaneous, unfocused (like has ADD), forgetful, and fucking retarded in such a great way that whenever he’s got lines, it’s the best part of the show. For example (not the best of examples though):

One second, Happy is all in, not gonna give up, then, two seconds later, happy gives up. As I said, not a good example, but trust me, Happy makes this show awesome. I feel like even kluxorious, who doesn’t really like Rie Kugimiya cuz she’s not smart like that, would like Rie Kugimiya in this role. Of course, her life is far too crazy right now…

Fairy Tail = I like it!

Extra Shit:

As you may have seen, my post count has gone down again, that’s because I’ve been spending all my time watching anime too many shows.

mORE SUTFF: I finnaly startded watching arrested developnment and it’s awesome. im’m aslo a litle drunk and at home alone woweo I’m  a loser or what ehwnever.

19 thoughts on “Fairy Tail: Took Me Long Enough; Boy Am I Dumb

  1. I only watched a little bit of the anime before I stopped and started reading the manga. I don’t really remember much about Happy’s voice actor, but I think the voice was good….Can not recall anything though 😦

    Anyway, as for Fairy Tail itself, well, it has its good points and its bad points.

    Good:

    Humor-It is occasionally touching(in the emotional sense, not the physical one).

    Decent cast of characters, and the relationships between characters are pretty cool.

    The World is interesting with its magic and stuff.

    Some good arcs in terms of plot, like Erza’s arc for example.

    Erza

    Bad:

    Fanservice-I normally like fanservice, but in Fairy Tail, ehh….it does not appease me, though I get the impression that it is just meant to be part of the art, but at the same time, it is mean to be fanservice to. I don’t know, Fairy Tail confuses me.

    Sometimes it can get too cheesy.-Especially in later chapters, the characters are often like” HEY EVERYONE IF WE STICK TOGETHER AND USE THE POWER OF FRIENDSHIP, WE WILL BE ABLE TO HAXOR OUR WAY THROUGH ANYTHING. HAXORZ ON!

    So yeah, I still read it ever week, and enjoy it to, but it is no masterpiece.

    Also, if you no longer want to be lonely, you should stop drinking. That way, everyone will want to be friends with you, and everyone will invite you over to their party, if only because they need a designated driver.

    • Ah, darn, I left quite a few typos there. I apologize. I was eating food, and grubby fingers + typing = ugly comment.

      If this second comment has typos, it’s because of the chocolate milk I am drinking right now.

      Have a good day/night/week/month/year/life~!

    • Sometimes it can get too cheesy.-Especially in later chapters, the characters are often like” HEY EVERYONE IF WE STICK TOGETHER AND USE THE POWER OF FRIENDSHIP, WE WILL BE ABLE TO HAXOR OUR WAY THROUGH ANYTHING. HAXORZ ON!

      – HATE shit like that oh dear!

      Also, if you no longer want to be lonely, you should stop drinking. That way, everyone will want to be friends with you, and everyone will invite you over to their party, if only because they need a designated driver.

      – lol I almost never drink. This is the first time in over 2 months already sobered up I’m a huge pussy I guess used to be able to drink 15 beers and smoke joint and be fine back in the day now I do NOT smoke at ALL and can drink 6 beers and be shithoused. I’m different than I was but I rarely drink. Talking to my girl at least makes me feel like less of a loser. The Nuggets fucking suck right now GRRR.

      hahaha at the designated driver.

      – who cares abotu typos I don’t….also…

      “I don’t really remember much about Happy’s voice actor”

      FUCK YOU. RIE KUGIMIYA IS THE BEST.

  2. Fairy Tail has one of the best cast of the long running Shonen out there atm. Gintama has it beat but then Gintama has every anime beat in one way or another.

    But still I quite think most of the cast nails the hell out of their roles.

    As for me I really like Fairy Tail for the characters and I also think they do a fairly decent job of juggling multiple fights at once. None of the fights drag on interminably either. Though lately (115 eps) I’ve been wishing they were a tad bit longer. It’s interesting that you were able to get into this so quickly. I think I really started liking it about 20 eps in and thought it was just sort of okay through the first two arcs. Now in terms of longish shonen’s I watch (cause I keep a tally) it goes Gintama>Fairy Tail>Toriko>Hunter x Hunter>Beelzebub>Sket Dance

    • Gintama has it beat because let’s face it: Gintama has every show and their mom beat.

      I loved Sket Dance at first, but I’ve begun to tire of it after only a few episodes. Perhaps Hunter X Hunter is a show I should watch?

  3. You llllllllike it.

    For some reason I never grew as attached to Happy as you. I guess it’s because he doesn’t do very much during the more dramatic moments, which is weird because I always considered the comedic moments to be the best part of the series.

  4. The art is similar to that of One Piece because both Mashima-sensei and Oda-sensei are Dragonball fans. Their styles were largely inspired by Toriyama-sensei’s art.

  5. I still need to watch Fairy Tail. All I really know about it was that Mashima (the artist) worked for Eiichiro Oda, inking and colouring and generally assisting with the One Piece manga, before starting his own series.

    But Arrested Development is amazing so hooray to you watching that! I love the sense of humour it has. 🙂

  6. Consistently sub-par animation quality pushed me away from the anime.
    I had been reading the manga since it started, and I just went back to that. Hiro’s (the author) humor comes through a lot clearer in the manga.

Leave a Reply

