Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! is FUCKING AWESOME

FINALLY started watching it. First and foremost, a Super Smash Brothers reference:

Super...SMAAAAAAASH BROTHERS

Just in case you had any doubts about how awesome this show is.

I’ve been getting back into anime of late, working on clearing out my backlog, which of course means starting new shows because I’m an idiot. On the bright side of that, I fortunately decided that Chuuni was the anime that I picked up (I shortened the name because there’s no way in the Ethereal Horizon that I’m gonna even try to say that title, much less write it out).

There’s a lot to like, so let me first tell…wait…SHOW you what I like most [arguably].

That’s right, what I like most is not the fake fight scenes (which I like), or the eye-patch (which I like), or the Nap Club Girl (which I like because I like naps oh wait no I don’t except now I do), or the fact that Rikka is using fantasy as an escape and is so caught up in it that she manages to stay in character in a retardedly stubborn way (which I like). No, what I like most [arguably] about Chuuni is those tender moments when Yuuta beats the shit out of Rikka with no remorse.

That’s mean…woman beater.

Now hold off right there. You know as well as I do that I despise anyone who would hit a woman (in real life). But watching Rikka get hit is awesome for whatever reason. I mean, here’s a kid Yuuta who just moves in, and within a day of meeting a weird girl who he can associate with heavily, he’s comfortable enough to beat her down with karate chops or height measuring tools found in the local school nurse’s office. The situation coupled with Rikka’s short cries and the fact that no one else finds it even mildly disturbing that Yuuta is beating up on a smaller, clearly mentally unstable girl makes it funny.

Totally acceptable in this anime’s society.

Then  of course there’s the whole Eye-Patch thing, but I already talked about that, so I’m gonna skip it.

The plot is deep. You may not think so at first glance, assuming that this is just a typical slice of life genre anime, and while it sort of is there is a lot of depth there when it comes to Yuuta, a character who has gone through and gotten over the 8th Grade Syndrome, and Rikka, who appears to be fully enveloped in said syndrome.

The comparison of these two characters is pretty awesome, because each one is generally the same while being uniquely different.

Yuuta decided to pretend to be a warlock of some kind in school. What a retard. Say what you want about the reasons, but when it comes down to it, he just thought he looked cool. When he realized that he was the biggest loser in the world, and actually looked like a big stupid fuck, he started over, and is now totally embarrassed of the way he was. So in essence, he was just trying to be cool.

Rikka is similar in that she is totally enveloped with her own fantasies, but unlike Yuuta, I don’t think she’s using her fantasies so much to appear cool, but instead as an escape to reality. I get this notion because occasionally she’ll give a look that says a lot about how she totally knows what she’s doing isn’t real. So she wants to change, but can’t because her self confidence as a normal person is totally shot to hell.

Moments of genuine emotion.

Moments of genuine emotion.

Personally I feel very strongly that the only way for her to relinquish her fantasy persona is to bite the bullet and rail the shit out of Yuuta.

That’s right, Yuuta and Rikka really really REALLY need to bang. I think that the only way for Rikka to break her shell of weirdness is to have it fucked out of her by the persistent pounding of Yuuta’s One-Eyed Patrick Stewart.

What else? Well how about the girl who serves no purpose at all in this anime other than to sleep?

Literally does nothing but sleep. It's funny.

God you’re like a fucking cat. Do something meaningful.

As a character in this show, her role is to sleep. It’s such an absurdly ridiculous character type that I can’t help but laugh at the simple existence of such a pointless character. It’s almost as if the writers said:

“We need another character so that the group can be a club…but we’re too lazy to actually create a personality…what do we do?”

“Just have her sleep all the time.”

It’s funny. Just like everything else in this show. It can’t ever get corny, or weird, because it’s whole purpose is to highlight people and things that are corny and weird. It took the vicious circle theory and applied it to itself in an opposite way. I actually find myself laughing out-loud at every episode. For the record, it’s tough to make me laugh….I can watch a movie and think it’s really funny despite not laughing at all…… I’m weird 😦

I could go on forever about this show. I’m a little less than halfway through as I type this, but I already know a winner when I see one, and this show is a gem. Watch it or die.

Extra

A terrible tragedy happened in my state of Connecticut when a disturbed young adult took the lives of over 20 people, many of which being kindergarten students; children who are completely innocent and just beginning to start their lives.  I am not angry at anyone for this, but instead am deeply saddened. I obviously feel sad for the families who lost their children at such a young age, for the children who lost parents, for the students who lost friends, and even though most people are quick to give curse him to hell, I even feel sorry for the shooter, who clearly needed help and never got it. As an educator myself who works with elementary school students every day, this incident tears me apart inside, and just imagining being a teacher, student or parent involved in this tragedy brings tears to my eyes just from thinking about it (for example, writing this paragraph). I don’t know what this world is coming to anymore. This is terrible beyond my thinking. Truly unimaginable. My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone who needs them.

6 thoughts on “Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! is FUCKING AWESOME

  1. ADHD: The anime, Beating your waifu: The Anime, etc. etc. The anime with many names.

    Truly, watch this or die!

    You know, the best part about Kumin is that she supposedly wasn’t in the source material. Her very existence seems to be an allegory to anime-original characters and their tendency to not do anything of importance. And I LOVE it.

    Also, that bit of news is definitely a mood changer. My heart goes out to the families and friends of those children and the children themselves, and may the souls of those poor children rest in peace.

    • I’ve totally caught up and that latest episode is just a frustration. It’s like GAHHH…which is how it was intended to be I guess but I REALLY need to see ep 12 quick. SHE WILL RETURN!!!

  2. One-eyed Patrick Stewart is the part that absolutely killed me. I got back into anime too, surprisingly. Back into Fairy Tail and watching a new show called Jormungand. It’s short but it’s pretty sweet so far~.

    • I forget where I first heard One Eyed Patrick Stewart but I’ve wanted to use it in a post ever since. I hope it wasn’t cracked because then I’d just feel like an asshole.

      UGH Jormungand. Dropped that heap.

Leave a Reply

