BTOOOM Was Pretty Fuckin Rad Because It Was Just Like The Hunger Games

That’s right cuz, I’m usin’ 90’s slang like “rad,” just because I’m so fly. Or old. I must be old, since I was actually alive during the time period when 90’s slang was used (the 90’s). Anyway, I watch BTOOOM in two sittings a few weeks back. Guess what?

It was…..explosive?

Okay, all puns aside, BTOOOM really was the bomb. Shit wait.

Okay, NO MORE puns I PROMISE. BTOOOM was a dynamite show that you shou- SHIT.

. . . . .

BTOOOM = IS LIKE A HOMING MISSILE

Wow that one didn’t even make sense.

BTOOOM!

Island

Oh by the way, extremely minor spoilers of Catching Fire (2nd book of the Hunger Games series).

At first, I thought that BTOOOM was going to be similar to shit like hack//sign or Sword Art Online (which I only watched one episode of so I can’t really judge). In other words, I expected some sort of “Oh! We’re playing an online game!” type of thing. I’m not a fan of those types of shows.

However, it was closer to Hunger Games than it was to any online shit. In fact, it was almost exactly like Hunger Games. I guess I should now compare it to Hunger Games huh?

Comparisons to Hunger Games I Guess…

  • A bunch of people in an isolated environment where they have to kill each other in order to survive.
  • Some people make alliances at first.
  • People are sort of watching/controlling the whole spectacle

I’m sure I could find more, but what really married all of these points together was the fact that they were on an island, just like in the second Hunger Games book, and that above all else is why it reminded me of Hunger Games.

The second book of the Hunger Games Trilogy, Catching Fire, is my favorite. Therefore, when I say that BTOOOM reminds me of it, what I’m basically saying is that BTOOOM was awesome, ya diggin’ at what I’m sayin? Werd.

What really made BTOOOM awesome (besides the backstabbing and murdering that comes with being stuck in a fight to the death situation), was the relationships that pre-exist between some of the characters, as well as the back stories that they share. I don’t want to give too much away, but actually yes I do, so SPOILER ALERT:

btooom

If you get married in a video game, that’s kind of weird. Nevertheless, our main character, Sakamoto, does just that. Sakamoto is already a badass in the game world of BTOOOM, so he could get any bitch he wants really, and he happens to marry this girl, Himiko. They never met in real life, so it’s clear that this marriage is about as real as the marriage between kluxorious and I. Well, maybe more so because they somehow had a ceremony.

That’s one thing that really irked me. How can you have a ceremony and all that? Like, when they showed Sakamoto in the game, he would sometimes get reactions from Himiko based on grabbing her hand or something, but it’s not like she could feel him grabbing her hand, so what the fuck is that all about?

It’s an anime, chill out.

True story bro, True story. (90’s slang!)

Anyway, what are the odds that the first time they see each other is on this island of fighting to the death? As it turns out, the odds are 100%. CRAZY. Then there’s Himiko’s rape story and all that other shit….. Can I just talk about my favorite character now?

Go for it.

Good.

The Krazy Killing Kid

Best Character

Name: Kousuke Kira
Age: 14
Blood Type: AB
Works: None
Home: Tokyo
Bim Type: Implosion type

In real life, psychotic killers are not cool. They’re should be locked up forever hitting rocks with a big hammer for no reason. Death penalty is the easy way out.

However, in anime, psychotic killers are awesome and crazy, and you can’t help but love to watch them kill everything around them. Kills people. He laughs about it. Why? Because he had a shit father. Let that be a lesson to all potential dads out there.

BE A GOOD DAD OR YOUR SON WILL MURDER EVERYONE!

Unless you’re in an anime, then it’s fine because your son will be interesting to watch.

FINAL GRADE = 5

Grading Scale

BTOOOM the Bill Kicker

Bill should have ran. That timed mine kicked his ass.

12 thoughts on “BTOOOM Was Pretty Fuckin Rad Because It Was Just Like The Hunger Games

    • Either or…I haven’t seen/read Battle Royale so I can only really compare it to Hunger Games, which is basically the same thing. I guess technically it would be closer to Battle Royale.

  1. Oh, somebody already beat me to the Battle Royale reference. Well, it’s coming from the internet and if I’m not mistaken…most of your readers, including myself, are male.

    Anyway, I’ll give this one a try. It looks interesting. I recommended it to a friend of mine who is more into action anime than I am. Hope he’ll like it. It shouldn’t be a problem picking up intense shows once in a while. I’ll see which homicidal youth is the best at being dickish and support them till they get mutilated.

  2. Granted…I’m not finished with the series, but almost am, but bro, you’re so wrong. This definitely is not a 5 >_>….like its interesting, and has the whole dire real life/video game situation…but in hindsight…it’s ok. Maybe a 3.8/4, but not 5. And hunger games was a terrible fucking movie oh my Gawd. Idk why people were so hype about a chick who took forever to take care of those hoes they call opponents. I mean its cool they FINALLY took the free-4-all concept anime’s been doing forever and adapted it into a movie.

    The imagery was wonderful and applaud it for that, but the plot was just irritating because I felt like even ough she was obviously strong, she was a little bitch (and I don’t mean that in a female way…I mean in a cry-from-getting-hit-by-a-pillow-and-cry-more bitch — how Mclovin is a little bitch in Superbad. Like that. Wow this is a long parenthetical statement…meh let’s just roll with it. So yeah, not a bad movie by any means even though I said its “terrible” it’s really not. I mean overrated. I’d give it a B+ with the + from production value).

    But back to BTOOOM!! I still have to finish so I guess I’ll reserve my judgement, but at the moment it’s a 7/10. Something to watch, certainly, but nothing that really contributes to anime.

    P.S. fuck grammar and parentheses.

    P.P.S. oh and don’t hate me & I still love you bro

    • 5 is not a perfect score. I graded out of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5*, and 5^^, which is the highest. It’s the strangest grading thing ever, but makes sense to me.

      Hunger Games movie was okay, but the books were fucking awesome (didn’t like the 3rd book though). I’d give it a B actually because they skipped good parts from the book and didn’t explain shit (If you read the book it made the movie better because you knew what the fuck was going on).

      Long parenthetical statements are my specialty. Plaudits to you good sir.

      P.S. I agree about fucking grammar. It’s always a good lay.

      • oh no i know your grading scale, and actually completely agreed about Bakemonogatari…on a side-note i think everyone thinks since it has so much “bullshit philosophy,” that it’s really deep…when really it’s just shit that happens to make plausible sense. But anyways, back on track….

        unfortunately, I don’t have patience to read books these days. In fact im supposed to be studying for a midterm this very moment and im just reading it cuz i have to (btw, iPad ePub format books FTW, OMFG MAKES STUDYING SO EASY). And yeah from experience I’ve learned experiencing both forms of media for things usually is a NOT very good idea, but it sounds like it made the movie even cooler. If i had patience, I’d read it for sure.

        But I guess to finish this piece of shit comment, i liked BTOOM or rather…what I have seen so far. I guess I’m just lame because I feel like there’s something missing. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I still don’t feel there’s been an anime that succintly nails an exciting “video-game-turned-real-life” problem.

        OH WAIT, SUMMER WARS.

        Summer Wars was a show I slept on for the longest because (im ashamed to say) the thumbnail for it on the preview chart was fucking stupid and generic. I should be shot with a katekyo bullet for that, but still, they could have used any other illustration…-_-” *Dos Eckes voice* I rarely watch movies…but when I do, it’s shit like Summer Wars.

        Really though, it was nearly perfect. And though i love anime, I LOATHE anime movies. Fitting entire plots and shit in one block. bleah. Or worse, movies requiring you to know half the story, or shit thats a prequel, or a prequel TO a prequel, or maybe it’s in an alternate reality from a different publisher. It’s all fucking bullshit. And I think that’s why people like Ghibli movies so much aside from the animation, history, and pedigree.

        I know people are gonna hate me for this, but I think 50% of Ghibli is overrated, but that’s from a cynical 23yo PoV and a bunch of Ghibli movies I was fucking bored of. Where’s the Spirited Aways…???? Maybe it’s a genre issue(?) I’ve noticed the other movies aren’t so “cryptic.” Some deal with simple spells, or whatever, but Sprited Away has SOOOO many mysterious stories, characters, and places all in one movie. I mean the tension is huge too. Just a wonderfully done work of art.

        OHHHH….DAYAM…I WAS RAMBLING ‘GAIN. SHUCKS.

        What was I saying now…*scrolls up* oh yeah…video game-adapted shows. Yeah bro, I just dont know of any show that doesn’t drag the FUCK on which gets it right. I mean i guess BTOOOM didn’t drag on right? 12 or 16 episodes I’m assuming? Well all the other ones do. And don’t even get me started on SAO ugh.

        Anyways, I think I kilt your comment box.
        .
        .
        .
        Like the skirt

        Holla

      • Longest comment in years. I feel like I’m becoming relevant again.

        Summer Wars was pretty awesome I’d agree. I mean, who DOESN’T like Summer Wars? Ghibli is Still probably my favorite studio, but only really for Hayao Miyazaki, who’s movies are better than everyone else. Still, I think Tokyo Godfathers might be better than most Ghibli movies (I forgot what my top ten movies are). I don’t know….lately I’ve wanted to watch Spirited Away (which is the only anime movie I’ve actually went out and bought).

        I’ll agree with you on most “video game to real life” shows though. I refuse to watch Sword Art Online because I saw one episode and was reminded of hack sign, a show that I hate beyond all shows because it was a boring piece of shit.

        I’d say BTOOOM is an 8/10 on that ratings scale….maybe 8.3.

Leave a Reply

