My Take On All Those 3-Minute Shows

I don’t like fads… usually anyway… this is one of those cases.

For whatever reason, shows with really short episodes are becoming pretty popular. I mean, back in my time, when dinosaurs roamed the aniblogosphere, there were no shows with 3 minute episodes. You wanted a show with short episodes? One Piece had short episodes (like 14 minutes of  actual content. Not sure if this is still true seeing as I haven’t really been keeping up with it).

3 minutes? Are you kidding me?

What the hell can you put in an episode that’s 3 minutes long that’s going to be any good? One joke? Or maybe a series of shitty, 4-koma like jokes that have no substance and aren’t funny. Case in point: Ai-Mai-Mi.

Wait, someone died last episode? News to me, I had no fucking clue what happened the last episode. Also, this art looks like shit.

Wait, someone died last episode? News to me, I had no fucking clue what happened the last episode. Also, this art looks like shit.

Ai-Mai-Mi is a piece of shit.

Probably. To be honest, I’ve seen a few episodes, and I have no idea what’s going on in any of them. Random. Fucking. Bullshit.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE random fucking bullshit. Ever seen Hot Rod? I watched it with the girlfriend the other night (because she hadn’t seen it, which is a CRIME PUNISHABLE BY DEATH). Hot Rod has tons of random bullshit in it. I love it. It’s hilarious. But Ai-Mai-Mi’s bullshit just makes no sense.

There’s no jokes because there’s no punchlines.

There’s no punchlines because there’s no set ups.

There is nothing.

The only acceptable 3 minute show is Poyopoyopoyopoyoypoypoypoypoyypoy, and that’s because it’s so simple and easy to follow. Anime down to the bare bones. Even the animation is simple.

I clear reason why I am attracted to this show.

I clear reason why I am attracted to this show. A cat humping a dude’s head.

That’s how it should be, not this Ai-Mai-Mi crazy ass bullshit.

I guess, when it comes down to it, what I’m trying to say here is that Ai-Mai-Mi is shitty. Maybe it’s just me in my old old age where I can’t follow along with a plot anymore, except that’s not true at all.

End.

6 thoughts on “My Take On All Those 3-Minute Shows

Leave a Reply

