Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru – First Impressions

Wanna know my first impression? That title is a fucking mouthful. I’m going to refer to this comedy as YahaOre, because fuck all that long nonsense. I don’t even understand Japanese, so half these words mean nothing to me anyway.

I still can't believe My Chemical Romance broke up... THEY SAID THEIR 5TH ALBUM WAS COMING OUT AWESOME WHY WOULD YOU SUDDENLY BREAK UP!?!?!?

I still can’t believe My Chemical Romance broke up… THEY SAID THEIR 5TH ALBUM WAS COMING OUT AWESOME WHY WOULD YOU SUDDENLY BREAK UP!?!?!?

As I listen to the opening play (a pretty good one too), I will state that so far it looks like your run of the mill, “Guy with no friends pissed off at the world will soon have a harem of girls despite having no qualities himself aside from insane jealousy for people who have friends.”

For some reason, “It’s Not My Fault I’m Not Popular” just popped into my head, and now I’m depressed.

Okay so what sets YahaOre apart from other harem anime or whatever (I’m not even sure YahaOre will become a harem), is that YahaOre is expertly done.

Mark a point next to Brains Base for this one, because it looks niceeeeee.

What I really love about this show, you know besides the clean art and animation, which is always a plus, is the dialogue.

The dialogue is so… enthralling. That’s probably the best way to describe it. I LOVE to hear the characters argue with each other, because Yukinoshita’s “I’m awesome and I know it” attitude is a great balance to Hikigaya’s “I’m not even going to try and make friends but I still think I have good qualities and I’ll argue with you about stuff and probably lose badly” attitude. Similar to Spice and Wolf’s arguments, but less apples and economics.

There’s also the music that plays in the background. I’m a big believer that music can make or break a show. Case in point: Date a Live. That fucking stupid music in the first scene made me hate the show. Too late to turn back, I already hate it. At the same time, I really like the manga, so I’ll enjoy that while I bash the anime (which has already almost caught up to the manga, so I don’t know where they’re going with the show exactly).

The music in this one is perfectly matched, and I noticed this especially from 8:17 to 9:22. The short string and piano notes add gusto to a bubbly conversational debate.

God damn I’m totally on today with my wordings. That sentence was so good that I’m adding it to the “tags.”

Fact One: Is hair this long even possible?

Long 1

Long 2

Seriously how much shampoo do you go through in a day?

The first two girls I see have hair down past their waists. You know how many girls I’ve seen in my life with hair down to even just their hips?

None.

Not one.

Not a single fucking one.

Just thought it was interesting.

Fact Two: All girls are jealous assholes

Because she was pretty

Because she was pretty?

She’s pretty, so naturally she’s bullied by every girl who knows that they aren’t as pretty as her. So a girl has looks, you’re going to ruin her life? Makes perfect sense I guess if you live in an anime.

Does this shit happen in real life? If so, women are fucked up.

Yeah we get it already.

Yeah we get it already.

For the record, if a pretty girl thinks she’s getting picked on because she’s pretty, it usually just means she’s a stuck up bitch and deserves it.

Fact Three: This show is awesome.

Is there a single show out there this season that sucks? I haven’t found one yet (though Date A Live could be one).

Also, I guess people are calling this show OreGairu? Whatever I’ll jump on that bandwagon. Sounds cooler than YahaOre….probably makes more sense in Japanese too…..I wouldn’t know really.

7 thoughts on “Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru – First Impressions

  1. I liked episode one well enough, but two kinda lost me. I’m still trying to find out if it’s trying too hard to be ToraDora+Haganai or just being reasonable and being its own thing.

  2. Girls do bully girls based on being pretty, but only in Japan. A pretty girl has all the guys fawning over her, so she needs to be taken down a peg.

    Japan has a hive mind mentality, and if you’re not a part of the hive, you’re filthy protoss scum zergrushkekekekeke

    That said, Japanese girls are seriously fucked up, and the ones who do the most of the bullying — and it’s always psychological (obviously, since the Japanese are not direct). It’s not surprising that most of their horror stories feature women, or that “youkai” contains the “woman” radical.

Leave a comment