El Cazador de la Bruja – First Impressions

So I decided that I had to pick this up, due to several facts:

  • Bounty Hunters
  • Girl with mysterious past/power who is pretty much retarded
  • Mexico

Mexican bounty hunters rule. In fact, this show inspired me to create a great premise for a movie, which I’m not going to get into much, and instead I’ll just say that a Japanese girl with a samurai sword goes through Mexico can kicks everyone’s ass. Anyway, I’ve seen 3 episodes so far, and I like what I see.

First of all, I was really intriqued by the setting of Mexico. However, I also realized that it was done by the same studio that did Phantom. Now, I originally gave Phantom pretty good marks, but as more and more days go by, I feel like the show is getting shittier and shittier in my mind. Honestly, everything about Phantom now seems corny, stupid, and even annoying. But I’m not talking about that, I’m talking about El Cazador de la Bruja. So what do I like about it?

1. The Setting

I believe I already stated that I love the setting of Mexico. When I think of bounty hunters, I think of two things, Boba Fett (kicks ass) and Mexico. Why Mexico? Probably movies like Desperado, Once Apon a Time in Mexico, The Mexican, From Dusk Till Dawn….movies like that (which all happen to kick a lot of ass). Now, there aren’t really any bounty hunters in any of these movies, but there’s a lot of guns, shootings, and general awewsomeness. Another such movie would be Machete:

Machete looks fucking awesome, and I’ve been looking forward to it ever since it was announced that it would be made into a movie. Danny Trejo kicks ASS. Robert Rodriguez is also planning on making two sequels, “Machete Kills”, and “Machete Kills Again”. This is probably the most I’ve looked forward to a movie since Inglorious Basterds was announced (which also kicked ass). I should mention that I am very bias toward anything done by Quentin Tarantino. Anyway, I digress.

2. The Characters

I am talking only about the two main characters, whom, so far, I absolutely love. Ellie is essentially brainless, speaks with what she believes to be enthusiasm (but clearly isn’t). It sounds like she says everything half heartily, or lazily, but not on purpose. It’s really quite hard to explain, but I love it.

The other main character is Nadie, a bounty hunter who is awesome, but also carries around a pretty happy attitude along with her two pistols. She has an awesome Mexican poncho, and generally kicks ass.

There are several other interesting looking characters, like this other bounty hunter with the small child. It remains to be seen what happens to them.

3. The Plot

As far as I can tell, Nadie was about to take in Ellie for a bounty (because Ellie apparently killed a professor, but there also appears to be much more to it than that), but somehow, she ends up traveling with Ellie, and helping her, while protecting her from other bounty hunters and would be child rapists (well, at least bounty hunters). This seems kind of simple, but it looks like there’s a lot more going on behind the scenes.

So far, I like it, let’s just hope it doesn’t get stupid.

11 thoughts on “El Cazador de la Bruja – First Impressions

  1. Why are those girls so skinny? No veggies!!! And the taller one is kinda ugly! BAM NO! Hey, this anime reminds me of Michiko to Hatchin, but that was set in Brazil. Curious how I forgot to watch it. Ill get back to it 😀 Michiko uhaha! Baka-Raptor said at cons ”too many little kids”. SHIT! I hate little kids in anime. In Fallout 2 I was killing kids with the minigun. They have stolen some ammo from my pockets! And that time when I played skandenberg with that mutant and because I lost he took me to his house and I woke up with a pain in my butt… Ouch! Fallout 2, what a game ❤ What I was saying?

  2. I might try this one, too. Girls with guns are always interesting (at least at the beginning, though). Umm, Mexico is a popular setting for action flicks but Mexico doesn’t make me think of bounty hunters, though. It makes me think of…well…gangster, assassins. Stuff like that.

  3. Wait wait, when did this air o.o? (too stupid to look it up on google)

    And now now gentlemen, let’s not over-analyze. Here’s the real pros.

    Pros:
    -Mexico
    -Mexicans
    -Mexican poncho

    There better be tacos involved though D:<

  4. @ Baka-Raptor: Filler? ughhhhhhh. I hope they’re at least not the annoying filler.

    @ klux: Good show!

    @ Andrei: hahahah you’ve been going off on random tangents a lot lately and I love it.

    @ Canne: Mexico reminds us both of gunfights at least (sort of).

    @ bluedrakon: Never seen Burst Angel. I guess it must be good though.

  5. Psst, its ‘Ellis’ not ‘Ellie’.

    This was the only of the three Bee Train girls with guns shows I made it through. The Mexican setting is pure win.

  6. Pingback: Machete: “Shoot Em Up” With Some Chipotle « Eye Sedso

Leave a comment