The Rie Quest: Dragon Crisis

As you know, Rie Kugimiya is my favorite seiyuu ever, and she never has a bad role ever. She does, however, have some roles that are…..well……that is to say……not as good as some others. The character of Rose could be considered on of these roles, because she FUCKING SUCKS.

Dragon Crisis!

Best character in the show.

The first thing I want to mention is that completing this anime marks a milestone for me. Dragon Crisis, as it turns out, is the 2ooth anime series that I’ve completed, which I consider to be awesome as fuck. I wanted to have some actual good series be my 200th, you know, something decent like Dirty Pair or Yu Yu Hakusho or something classic. However, this is how it turned out, and I’m fine with it, mainly because at least Rie Kugimiya was in it.

And yes, the series as a whole was pretty generic, cliche, corny. BUT, I still had a pretty good time watching it. I found it enjoyable, and not hard to watch.

That being said, there was a lot that I thought was wrong with the show. But here’s some stuff that I liked:

The music used in the show was really good. It had a pretty wide range of styles too. There was piano, hip hop, and generic anime styles, and the music always seemed new and fitting for the situations. I liked it.

The characters were okay too. And by okay, I mean that they all kinda sucked except for Ai, who was the clear best character, and even then, she still  wasn’t that great. So yeah, the characters could have been a bit better, but at the same time, I didn’t really hate any of them.

On to Rie Kugimiya’s role: Rose. Here’s some pictures to help establish how I feel about this character:

Ahh Rose. You take and you take. You ask and you want. But what do you give, besides headaches?

 

The most common reaction to anything Rose says.

See? I told you it was a common reaction.

I thought that Rie did a good job with the role, the only problem was the role itself sucked. Give her some lines that weren’t the SAME GOD DAMN THING OVER AND OVER. RYUJI RYUJI RYUJI SHUT THE FUCK UP YOU’RE GOD DAMN ANNOYING AND YOU LOOK FUCKING STUPID TOO. That’s all I have to say on that.

Look at those eyes. Blech.

One thing that really bothered me was the animation. Well…..not so much the animation. I thought the animation was pretty good. I should say the art. Specifically, the characters’ eyes. They looked saggy, and baggy…..really not aesthetically pleasing at all. The eyes really varied from character to character and from scene to scene. For the most part, I found that the eyes were drawn too thick on the bottom. Everything in this anime was just too square, and lacked so much detail it was amazing. However, everything was consistent, and I didn’t really notice any mistakes, so the animation and art can’t really be considered botched. I mean, they animators accomplished what was expected of them, it’s just that I didn’t like these expectations.

Wow this review seems negative, but despite literally everything I just said, I still would have been willing to give the anime a 5, because I found that I really did enjoy watching this series. It wasn’t hard to watch, and was entertaining to me.

But then then we got this really shitty completely cliche and incredibly corny as fuck last episode filled with love and all other sorts of bullshit. Rose changed to an adult right? She looked NO different. The only difference was that she acted a bit more shy for ONE DAY. And in that ONE DAY, Ryuji suddenly falls deeply in love with her? BULLSHIT. THAT EPISODE NEEDED TO GO FUCK ITSELF. I wish everyone died in the end. I mean, the last episode was so dumb that I almost feel like stopping this review right he-

FINAL GRADE = 4

17 thoughts on “The Rie Quest: Dragon Crisis

  1. I don’t think it’s a matter of your post so much as that it’s about Dragon Crisis. Pretty much nobody watched it, and those who did want to forget about it. Heck, I didn’t even watch it, and my standards are low as hell.

    It’s just harder to comment on shows you didn’t like/watch rather than shows you did like/watch, that’s all.

    I guess I can mention one thing, though. I really like the way they did Rose’s eyes. Then again I have a weakness for shiny things.

      • I practically have a fetish for shiny things though. Anything even remotely bright and glowing is awesome in my book.

        I don’t think it was bad so much as people wanted it to be good and were disappointed. At least that’s the impression I’m getting.

Leave a comment