K-ON! 5 : Enter The Best Character

This episode was easily the best. At first I thought that they were starting to go overboard on the whole “Mio getting scared and huddling in a corner” kind of thing (which they are), but one scene made it all worth it:

This is the best scene in the show.

This is the best scene in the show.

That scene was set up great. I even laughed. Now, on to what I wanted to say:

THEY PICKED THE BEST ADVISOR EVER!

Don't be fooled by the pure appearance. She's a wild one, she is.

After about 5 seconds, I came to realize that the adviser, Yamanaka Sawako, is the best character in the show. After her entrance, the comedy of the show went way up for me. Before, everything was kind of loose, but she holds everything in place. Let’s look at the facts:

  • She’s pretty much a skitso, sometimes she’s a nice, “pure image” teacher, but then when she sees a guitar or something, she becomes a wild, crazy bitch! Awesome!

That’s it really. When she learns that pictures of her from high school (when she was in the band of the previous music club) are in the music room, she sprints to the room:

How many random obstacles can coincidentaly get in the way in one hallway?

How many random obstacles can coincidentaly get in the way in one hallway?

Eventually, they thrust a guitar into her hands and…

Awesome.

Also, we discover that Mugi is a huge lesbian rug-muncher, and has a thing for Sawako Sensei, the best adviser ever:

I'm not going to show all the screenshots that back it up, but trust me, she's a lesbo.

I'm not going to show all the screenshots that back it up, but trust me, she's a lesbo.

It’s unbelievable how much better this show got after just this one episode. We got an awesome character, they actually did stuff related to their band, and now Mugi is a lesbian, which just makes everything better (Mugi was so boring before….she’s an obvious lesbian).

12 thoughts on “K-ON! 5 : Enter The Best Character

  1. I don’t really think that Mugi is a lesbian but it gives me the feeling that she does swing that way. However, I think Mugi is starting to go into THAT direction. Mugi looks innocent anyway.

    And Mio does not look too MOE this episode.

  2. I still haven’t jumped on the whole Mio Bus. She’s what I call a “fake” character. By that I mean, she has no real personality, and is instead made to do what the writers think the people want to see her do. I don’t know if that makes too much sense, it’s hard to put into words.

    That being said, hopefully Mugi starts going hardcore for Sawa-Sensei, because that’ll just make this anime awesome (IMO).

    And yea, it wasn’t as moe this episode, which may be why I liked it more.

  3. I watched this episode (skipping the ones between this and the first), and I actually liked it. I guess this moeshit not as shitty as I thought.

    • This episode actually wasn’t as moe as the others, and that’s why it was ten times better than the others. If the rest of the episodes mirror this one then it will be a pretty damn good series if you ask me.

  4. I think one of the biggest draws towards Mio — at least at the beginning — was that awesome ED performance. If you start out liking a character from the get-go, it’s easier to come to like all their personality quirks later on in the show.

    But yes, Sawako-sensei is a huge blast of funny injected into the show. I always thought the series was funny, but this was the best episode yet, and I think we all know the reason.

  5. Pingback: rose_darkangel Can Suck It « Eye Sedso

  6. I don’t really have anything to say here.
    So…………………………………………………….
    ok.

Leave a comment